We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable”

Morrow Mountain State Park
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Albemarle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
78 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Just a nice place to enjoy a quite moment. I enjoy driving up on a hot summer day for time to relax, fresh air, wonderful view of the surrounding area. A nice place to visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dillard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    46
    8
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
178 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Cool cabins, uninterested rangers, many dead trees”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed at this park for 2 nights last weekend. Arrived on Sat. at 5pm at the front gate. It was about 5:10 when we arrived at the park office only to find it closed and locked. There was a wedding going on in the room next door but no rangers to be found. No note was left for us as to where we could obtain a key to the cabin we reserved. Check in starts at 4pm and the park gate is locked at 8pm so arriving just after 5pm should be a perfect time to get a key. Cell phones do not work at the office. I was able to find a location in the park to try to call, hoping to get a ranger since there should be someone on duty until 8pm, but no luck. We drove to the cabin to see if there was a note/key left there. Nothing. We drove around the park until we found the gentleman who is the campground host. He was super friendly and extremely nice and apologetic. He did not know why we could not find a ranger or get checked in. He tried for over an hour to help us. He called the ranger who was suppose to be on duty via his radio. No answer. He finally drove by the rangers house to find him. Sounded like the ranger was taking a nap?? We did not get the key until 6:45. We had been in the park over 90mins. This ruined our plans for a quick hike this eve. The cabin was very nice. It was clean and we loved not only the screened in back porch but the fireplace. The next day we went to the office to see if there was any paperwork we needed to sign and what we needed to do for checkout the next day. Also, we wanted the rangers opinion on sights/hikes in the park. We have stayed at state parks from Puerto Rico to Colorado to New Jersey and more and we have found that typically the rangers are very excited to tell you about their park. Not this ranger! She was aloof and unfriendly and made comments under her breath. She was not helpful at all. We did hike a few trails in the park. Unfortunately it seems as thought the storm last year left many trees down and much of the park was involved with a controlled burn. Basically, it looks like a dead, burned out forest. It was sad really. The view at the top is pretty. We did see many deer throughout the park. On our arrival we saw the lake, which was covered with fog, and it was really a pretty sight. Overall, while we loved the cabin, our interactions with the rangers and the lack of growth in the park will keep us from returning.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank NC5Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Locked out”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The second night camping at Morrow Mountain we returned from a day at the zoo in Asheboro to find that we were locked out,, even though we had reservations. Turns out this camp ground, and all North Carolina state campgrounds, lock you out, or even scarier, lock you in after 6:00 pm. There was no cell phone coverage at the gate so after driving down the road to find coverage we learned on their web site that in case of emergency after 6:00 pm you are supposed to call the sheriff's office, except THERE IS NO CELL PHONE COVERAGE AT THE PARK! So, if you have a medical emergency after that time I guess you are just out of luck. I resent being treated like a teenager that must be home on time, or else, and will avoid N.C state parks from now on.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Wesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love the park”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The views from the top of the mountain are spectacular! One of the many great outdoor places in N.C. to visit. Lots of many things to do while there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank haiwaiinbreezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to enjoy the outdoors!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Morrow Mountain is a great place to go hiking, have a picnic, or go camping.They also have some historic houses you can tour, a pool, fishing, and boating. Great place to have a party or celebrate a special occasion!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mspeight58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morrow Mountain State Park also viewed

 

Been to Morrow Mountain State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing