We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't understand...”

Whispering Pines BBQ
Ranked #27 of 63 Restaurants in Albemarle
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
New London, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I don't understand...”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

No complaints on the food, or the drive in service. My "beef" with this older and well established BBQ place, is if you don't have cash, you can't pay for a meal. You have to go(in my case across the street) to an ATM. Someone there needs to realize this is the 21st century, and many people don't carry cash. Their equal, in my opinion, competitor right up the road, DOES take a debit card, so I've just started going there to avoid a trip to the bank before stopping by Whispering Pines. Too much hassle in this day and age.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arejaye24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“a long time old favorite”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

BBQ is tops, they have been around for a long time doing the same thing all this time and is still good food. have made up grades to the resturant to keep up a good atmosphere. a long time hang out for a lot of people

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bigdog650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the BBQ just felt like the place really needed a good cleaning”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our family has eaten at WP for a number of years as we occasionally pass through Albemarle. We have always enjoyed their style of NC BBQ, but our most recent visit left all of us wondering if the cleaning crew had called in sick the previous shift. The place could do for a little corner cleaning. Also wish they accepted debit/credit cards, that is the world we live in now, we found ouselfs having to send out for cash. Hope they clean up so next time we are in the area we will enjoy their food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“north carolina bbq NOT what you expect”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

the food might be good if youre accustomed to north carolina style bbq...it is VINEGAR based and i find the pork to be stringy...texas and memphis bbq is more my taste

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank pilot_808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albemarle, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“some things never change”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

As a resident of Albemarle, we are just a little biased? we have tried Pork BBQ everywhere from the Mountains to the coast but never found their equal much less any better. I will go out on a limb here to declare their's the best anywhere! It's that good. They use the slow cooked method with Hickory wood firing the smokers, every morning they build a new fire with 100% Hickory fire wood and cook all day, the chopped plate is our favorite and contains all the meat & fix'ins you can hold.
They have critiqued their secret sauce to perfection, it is almost salty and very hot (spicy) in flavor, and they do not season the meat with it, that's your choice. With or without the sauce, it's great either way, never dried out under heat lamps, it never gets the chance as they move a lot of pig! Not to mention their Red Slaw is THE best I have had, bar none! Bottom line, no words can describe flavor or texture, but if you're looking for some good eat'n..you owe it to yourself to come here!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig427_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whispering Pines BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Whispering Pines BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing