We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagasaki
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Nice hotel, the courtyard would have been a nice place to spend time but it was raining a lot. One issue though, on the website it said if you booked through the website you got breakfast for free, so I did. Despite having a confirmation email from a hotel employee, I was told the booking wasn't made through the hotel website? If not, then how come the confirmation from the hotel itself and not a booking agency? Breakfast cost 3000 Yen for two. Slightly annoying.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinGher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 623 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

I found out about this hotel from the Gunkanjima (Battleship Island) Concierge website map. I was looking for a hotel near the boat dock since we were on the morning cruise, and this one is the closest one -- literally across the street from the boat check-in office. On their English map, the hotel is actually listed as the "Montley Nagasaki," a distortion of the Japanese pronunciation of "Monterey". For those doing the Gunkanjima trip, the hotel couldn't be in a more convenient location. The front desk staff spoke limited but passable English. Very friendly and easy check-in and check-out. The hotel is located in the south of city right next to one of the tram stops, but it's only a 1,000 yen taxi trip from Nagasaki station if you don't want to wait for the trams. The Peace Park and Atom Bomb stuff is located in the north of the city not far away. Easy 10 - 15 minute cab ride or else you can take the tram with one transfer. TV just had Japanese stations, but the Internet was fast and reliable. The hotel's restaurant gets rave reviews, but there are also plenty of other eateries in the area so no worries about food. We ate at the Gusto Restaurant across the street and the food was great. 24-hour convenience store is located right next door.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveAH6HY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed in Nagasaki two days on our trip to Japan. We liked Nagasaki. IT is a very pleasant city with quite a few interesting things to do and see. We stayed at the Monterey hotel, which we liked. The hotel is very nicely decorated in Portuguese/Spanish style and is a few hundred Meters from the street car stop and near several attractions.
The rooms are a bit small, but that is fine, and the beds are very firm. Bathroom had a bathtub and a shower to wash the Western way and Japanese way. Amenities were standard and good.
Breakfast was ok, there was a choice of Japanese dishes and Western like croissants, scrambled eggs, yogurt.
We did not eat at the restaurants any of the nights.
It was a good experience.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank travelbugAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel is charming and the room was comfortable, a good size, conveniently furnished (with fridge) and quiet. We had enough room to unpack and settle down which was nice as we stayed 4 nights and wanted to rest.
We especially appreciated the staff who were very helpful (booked restaurants, etc)

Room Tip: The rooms have inside shutters which is very useful when the sun rises at 5am
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

In a quiet area but central to a lot of the places we were interested in and to the tram. For us it was within walking distance of central Nagasaki if we didn't want to use the tram. Great breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Loved the ambience of the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on a trip though Kyushu. We didn't use the hotel facilities so can't comment on those but the rooms whilst obviously small were nicely appointed and comfortable.

The staff were wonderful and spoke excellent English. We were able to buy the daily tram pass from them and they were very helpful in guiding us around the area.

The location is excellent for walking around, it is close to Chinatown and a tram ride away from the many attractions. If I was to return to Nagasaki (and I hope I do) then I'd definitely consider returning if the rate was right, if you get a good price then this place is a very decent option

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taff777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This a super little hotel with pleasantly finished rooms, great staff, good breakfast and in a good location. I really would recommend this hotel it offers great value for money. I can only reiterate was previous reviewers have said. Definitely one of the best hotels we stayed in in Kyushu. The staff spoke good English and were able to give advice and make recommendations they even made a reservation for us by telephone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalzellst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagasaki hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
#1 of 74 in Nagasaki
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
#3 of 74 in Nagasaki
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Richmond Hotel Nagasaki Shianbashi
1.4 mi away
The Hotel Nagasaki BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Hotel JAL City Nagasaki
Hotel JAL City Nagasaki
#13 of 74 in Nagasaki
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Nagasaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Nagasaki

Address: 1-22 Ouramachi, Nagasaki 850-0918, Nagasaki Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Nagasaki Prefecture > Nagasaki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagasaki
Price Range: $52 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Nagasaki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki, located close to the sea, emulates the atmosphere and decor reminiscent of the time when the sea-faring voyagers arrived from Portugal, in an ongoing connection with Nagasaki that dates back to 1543. We promise to deliver a cozy experience where guests can feel part of the story and history of Nagasaki, imagining they are part of a scene from many years ago where the alleyways were illuminated by the rays of the sun and chance encounters with foreign traders were commonplace. The walls are adorned with blue tiles, expertly painted by Portuguese craftsmen, providing a colorful atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Agoda, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Monterey Nagasaki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Nagasaki
Nagasaki Monterey Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing