We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for one night”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Minshuku Tampopo

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Minshuku Tampopo
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Nagasaki
San Lorenzo de El Escorial, Spain
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good option for one night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I was in Nagasaki for two nights and one of them I spent at this minshuku. It is a small place, with the basic. It is within a walking distance from the Urakami Station (about 10 min). There are two convenience stores close by and the Atomic Bomb Park is really close. If you don't freak out easily, this place won't be any problem at all. The people were quite friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick28200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I visited Nagasaki in a group of 4 in February 2012. We stayed at Minshuku Tanpopo, which was an absolutely HORRIFIC experience.

The "good": The website advertised pick-up service from the train station. Why? There is NO convenient way to get there. You cannot walk there, at best you can lug your luggage onto a tram and tram there, and even then it's a 10 min walk from the tram. When I arrived at the train station I called the hotel from the pay phone and requested pick-up. The owner sounded surprised, almost like they'd forgotten we had a booking. 20 mins later they did come to pick us up in a sedan, which is the 'good'.

The "bad": The website advertised it accepts credit card. When I tried to pay with credit card, they refused to accept it, and wanted only cash. Having to pay for 4 persons' accomodation in cash is no joke. We were left with about 100USD worth of yen after paying and it was a weekend so we could not change money anywhere despite searching the entire city.

The "ugly": They had decided to accomodate a group of FORTY kindergarten children at the same time. So, the entire second floor was filled with 4 yr old kids. They kept as quiet as quiet could be, but the noise was still TERRIBLE, and you could never ask the staff for anything because they were busy with the forty children.

Granted, the children were a one-off. But the WORST part was: The rooms were smoking rooms, and filled with rancid smoke. They had more adult guests on the third floor, and they constantly smoked, which seeped through into our room.

The washbasins have NO HOT WATER. The two bathrooms on the second floor are filthy and old.

We paid for a room for four people. Possibly due to their overbooked status, although I had booked five months in advance, they cramped us into a TINY room that would have fitted two people at most. At night our futons overlapped each other.

UNACCEPTABLE. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsubaki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nagasaki hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

But I couldn't find any other place on my budget at short notice. Here are the Pros: cheap, relatively clean, the owner is nice - picked me up at the train station, got a 50% off discount card to some of the main attractions. Here are the Cons: other than the Atomic Bomb site / Museum it's far from all the attractions, you better not mind the toilet down the hall and the bath down one floor thing, the slight smell of mildew in the room, the noise of your neighbours, the free WiFi that works only sometimes.
If you're backpacking and need a place to crash - great. If you want anything more - go somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollywog333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We made a three weeks trip around Japan and Tanpopo was the only bad experience we had! 1)We wanted to use the "free pick-up service" written on their description but when we called the Minshuku at 6 pm from the station they answered us : buy a taxi!
2)Then we walked during more than half an hour to find them since there is no explanations and since it is far from Urakami.
3)Wireless was not working.
4)The room, sheets and towels were smelling awfully (mix of fried food, cabbage and sweating)
5)Toilets and bathroom were very very dirty. 7000yens for this room is just a shame! All the hotels we booked via booking.com were good except this one!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClementineDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

This is a typical Japanese family-run ryoken. The rooms are tatami rooms with a TV, air conditioning unit and small table. The beds are futons which are unrolled before bed. Overall this ryoken was clean. The washrooms and showers were communal but pleasant. In the summer months air conditioning is necessary and we were pleased that the rooms had air conditioners that we could adjust to our preference. There wasn't a lot of privacy here but I think this is to be expected in a Ryoken. It was, however, in close proximity to the A-bomb museum and memorial park. There was also a no frills restaurant where we ate breakfast on two occasions called "Joyful restaurant". The staff of the ryoken will give you directions. The internet was broken at the time of our visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronald11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagasaki hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
#5 of 74 in Nagasaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
#1 of 74 in Nagasaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
#3 of 74 in Nagasaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Richmond Hotel Nagasaki Shianbashi
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Nagasaki
The Hotel Nagasaki
#7 of 74 in Nagasaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel New Nagasaki
Hotel New Nagasaki
#10 of 74 in Nagasaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minshuku Tampopo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minshuku Tampopo

Property: Minshuku Tampopo
Address: 21-7 Hoeicho, Nagasaki 852-8016, Nagasaki Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Nagasaki Prefecture > Nagasaki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Nagasaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Rakuten so you can book your Minshuku Tampopo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing