We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, good breakfast spread, Japanese-speaking staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagasaki
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable, good breakfast spread, Japanese-speaking staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Outside of the hotel looks quaint and interesting, next to a route leading up to Glover Garden. However staff was not able to speak much English, so thanks to our guide we managed to check in effortlessly. Room is quite comfortable for 3 pax and there is even bath amenities such as eye mask and bath salt to enjoy a good bath in the room. Breakfast spread was not bad with international spread as well such as egg and salad stations

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eelayel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    210
    55
    13
    2
See reviews for
109
85
73
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
203 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

At the bottom of Glover Hill is the very good standard hotel in the Crowne Plaza ANA chain. Efficient albeit rather perfunctory reception in a very spacious lobby. The entire hotel does need a make-over; it's fraying at the edges.
Very good size room with all the amenities one might desire. Good bathroom,too; and a pleasant balcony. Comfortable beds.
Room service fine.
The hotel has several restaurants to cater to every need and taste. We enjoyed a final meal in Nagasaki in Pavé. Excellent food and efficient service.
The hotels has no 'onsen' or spa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ichinomiya, Japan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The estimation of this hotel writting by guests on the website made me worrisome. However, such worries proved to be groundless. The staffs devoted all their time to own performance in each situation. You can go to the many historical places or archtectures on foot or by street car from this hotel in a short period of time. We encountered the gorgeous cruiser Cristal Symphony which comes alongside the pier nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Masahiro_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halden, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great hotel.
Perfect location both for business and holiday.
small rooms but very clean.
nice breakfast, but slightly overpriced. (western style)
excellent service and help from the front deck.
in room wifi for free. Good connection and speed.
large variation in price depending on how you book. (direct booking was half price in my case.)

Room Tip: ask for a room towards Glover gardens, with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuxoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kauai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I decided to visit Nagasaki and wanted my stay to be a little respite during an otherwise rather hectic three week vacation through Japan. I also wanted to see the Nagasaki peace museum and spend time in a city which is inextricably linked to Sakamoto Ryoma. We spent two nights at this hotel last month. Since most hotel rooms in Japan are quite small by western standards, I really look forward to checking into any Crowne Plaza hotel in Japan. As is normal for a Crowne Plaza hotel, Glover Hill's accommodations were extremely tasteful and very comfortable. At check in, we were offerred accommodations (at a higher price) on the completely renovated floors; the clerk was very nice and did not "push" the upgrade but simply explained what our choices were. We opted to pay for the upgrade and got a great room. I can't comment on what the older, unrenovated rooms are like. Moreover, this hotel actually had an air conditioning temperature control that lets you really cool down the room (this is rare in Japan, believe me... I have spent numerous nights sweating in not inexpensive hotel rooms on this and prior trips to Japan). We ate the buffet breakfast here one morning (typical Western and Japanese offerings) and although it was satisfactory, it was not memorable by any means. Buffet breakfasts at the Shinagawa Prince and the Dai Ichi Annex Tokyo were far better. There is a tram stop conveniently located nearby which can take you to the more "active" areas of the city, such as near the station environs. The hotel is a stone's throw from Glover House and the stroll up the winding roadway takes you past some pleasant and small shops where you can buy beautiful glassware, souvenirs and local food products. There are also a number of stores that offer free samples of Nagasaki specialties such as the delicious pork buns (yum) and truly excellent Nagasaki castella (don't be fooled by cheap castella, the "real" thing is a quality confection that is truly scrumptious). The hotel is located right next to the port so you can get beautiful sunrise and sunset photos if that suits your interests. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful although English is a bit challenging for them. All in all, we had a relaxing few days at the hotel and had no complaints. However, if you are someone who is looking for more active nightlife, this location leaves much to be desired.....you would probably be better off staying elsewhere in this great city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huladancer40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
128 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stay a night here after 2 nights at the neighbouring Majestic Hotel. See my review on the latter. We extended our stay in Nagasaki and only stay here because Majestic were full. We expected a large impersonal and bland hotel. We were quoted a rack rate of Yen20000 for a king sized deluxe room. That was a big savings from Majestic. For the neighbourhood please read Majestic comments as they are the same.
But we were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It appears quite new or recently renovated. Loved the room we got. Very comfortable, great bathroom, minimalist design but done nicely and with good taste. There is free wi-fi in lobby area. Service is polite and prompt. We certainly did not have the feeling of being in a large crowded and impersonal hotel. Downside is you do not get a view. Interestingly the cheaper standard rooms face the Glover gardens and the few suites have bay view. Ours "city view" is a few annoymous block of buildings, even though we were on high floor. Still for that price we paid and the level of service and hardware - I think it is a small price to pay. And did I mention parking was free ?

Highly recommend it for location, quality of rooms, price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Navigator22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed here during the Lantern Festival, Kunchi Matsuri and it was handy for the festival, as well as walking up Glover Hill and enjoying the beautiful view of the port from there. The hotel served the purpose for the two nights we were there, although it seemed a bit dated. The breakfast buffet was adequate, with a nice selection. We would recommend it. It's a short public tram ride from the main area, with shopping and the main train and bus terminals.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akinsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagasaki hotels
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
#5 of 74 in Nagasaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
The Hotel Nagasaki
#7 of 74 in Nagasaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
#1 of 74 in Nagasaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Nagasaki Station
JR Kyushu Hotel Nagasaki
JR Kyushu Hotel Nagasaki
#4 of 74 in Nagasaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
#3 of 74 in Nagasaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill

Property: Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill
Address: 1-18 Minamiyamate-machi, Nagasaki 850-0931, Nagasaki Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Nagasaki Prefecture > Nagasaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nagasaki
#3 Family Hotel in Nagasaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a mountainside in Nagasaki-Minamiyamate, the southern part of Nagasaki City, ANA Hotel Nagasaki adds to the areas cosmopolitan feel. Providing guests with unwavering first class hospitality and refined services, the hotel is a popular choice amongst travelers to the city. A beautiful view of the harbor and surrounding township greets guests from each of the 217 rooms. Elegantly furnished and comfortably spacious, the guest rooms are a great getaway for the busy traveler to chase away fatigue and refresh them for the day ahead. Savor classic French cuisine in a perfect setting of gentle breezes and fading sunsets at the western restaurant Pavac. Delight in a unique fusion of Chinese and Japanese tastes at the Sino-Japanese Junkei where fresh produce makes for quality fare. Whatever your preference, each restaurant will entice and satisfy your every gastronomical craving. Banquet rooms of varying sizes are available in both Western and Japanese styles to cater to any event from formal gatherings to casual parties. Meals can also be catered for according to purpose and budget. This combined with top class service will ensure a memorable function for both host and guests alike. The ANA Hotel Nagasaki Gloverhill is a 70 minute bus ride from the Nagasaki Airport or a 7 minute drive by car from the JR Nagasaki Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Hotel Nagasaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing