We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional, friendly and down to earth”
Review of Nagasaki Kagamiya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nagasaki Kagamiya
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Except the relatively remote location and a little bit dark in the neighborhood at night (need to walk uphill from the carstreet station, it's ok for those w/ a small baggage/ backpack but would be challenging for those w/ bigger ones), all is good.

Friendly staff, nice decor, a well equipped guesthouse where you can experience the local life :)

Room Tip: Even if you choose a mixed dorm, you could have some privacy as the two decked beds come w/ curtain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dearmaymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 53 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We have been traveling 5 month in south east asia, and Kagamyia is definitely in the top 3 of the best places we stayed during our trip!!!
The owners are more than lovely and very helpful! The ryokan is cosy and well decorated. The beds are really comfy and clean.

The situation is good, its not downtown but its only a short ride from there. The ryokan is to a street car stop wich runs very often.


We loved our stay and we would definitely go back !! :))

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Swissbourlingueurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stayed at Kagamiya Hostel with two friends in February 2014. We could only spend one night there as it was quite popular and there aren't many bedrooms, but we had a very enjoyable stay. The building is very pretty inside and out, with a temple and shrine just outside the garden. The rooms and futon were extremely comfortable, and the whole place was kept immaculately clean. Guests are allowed to drink as much tea and coffee as they like, and a free breakfast of toast and eggs if provided to those who want it. Great value for money.

Also, I accidentally left my iPad charger at the hostel, but they emailed my friend as soon as they found it which I really appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lottie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Nagasaki Kagamiya is overall very good. It is very close to a tram station that has trams going direct to Nagasaki Station and other key attractions. However, it was a little difficult to find at first. However, once I found it, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and also spoke good English. Our private type A room, on the top level (second floor), was very nice and incredibly spacious. The tatami mats, along with the mattresses provided, were very soft and great to sleep on. There were two of us, and we still had more than enough room for bags and laying out clothes and other kit. The room also includes a table, air conditioning and a large a storage shelf. Also, our room was able to connect, with full strength, to the free WiFi. Kagamiya also featured a shared shower (on the first level). I found that the shower was very good, as it was consistent in strength and temperature. There is also a living room with computers and chairs and also a kitchen with fridge. On the top level there are two separate toilets as well as two sinks and two mirrors. Overall our two night stay was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly, and provided with a map and also recommendations and were able to answer questions I had. I fully recommend staying at Nagasaki Kagamiya.

Room Tip: All rooms here a great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamupdate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

It was my first trip to Nagasaki and the Kagamiya was an excellent base to start an exploration. The location is conveniently at the end of an ultra-cheap tram ride (a great way to explore) and is quiet yet easy to arrive at. The room was clean and cool (especially vital in this boiling summer) and there was a warm welcome upon arrival and a hearty farewell upon departure - what else could you ask for?! I was impressed by the collection of sandals at the main door - and the bath room which contained everything to help refresh yourself at the end of a sweaty day.
The Kagamiya gets top marks - for being a wonderfully friendly and comfortable place...and I would have no hesitation about returning!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Kagamiya was my 'home' for 3 weeks and if I could give more then 5 stars, I would. You are very lucky if you can get to know these wonderful people! They will make you smile and let you know all the ins and outs in Nagasaki. From the hostel you can easily take a streetcar (120¥ fixed price) or walk to many of the main sights. In nearby Shindaiku you can find your fruits, coffee and bento, and take your time to talk to all the kind shop owners around this area and just wander around through all the picturesque nearby alleys. If you are looking for the real Nagasaki-experience, stay at Kagamiya. (And make sure you check out the beautiful antique kimono's they rent!)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Four of us stayed in one of the Annex buildings. The rooms were clean and spacious by Japanese standards. (I have stayed in a lot of Japanese accomodation.) The location is easy to access on the tram network and in a pretty, quiet backstreet next to a small shrine. The owners lovely and very helpful. I gave it five stars, not for the facilities which were standard for the price range (albiet lovingly presented), but because the value was exceptional.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderKell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagasaki hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
#3 of 74 in Nagasaki
447 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
#5 of 74 in Nagasaki
623 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
#1 of 74 in Nagasaki
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Nagasaki Washington Hotel
Nagasaki Washington Hotel
#18 of 74 in Nagasaki
241 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill
2.4 mi away
Inasayama Kanko Hotel
Inasayama Kanko Hotel
#27 of 74 in Nagasaki
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nagasaki Kagamiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nagasaki Kagamiya

Address: 1-12-9 Hongouchi, Nagasaki 850-0012, Nagasaki Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Nagasaki Prefecture > Nagasaki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty lodging in Nagasaki
Price Range: $21 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Nagasaki Kagamiya 1.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Rakuten so you can book your Nagasaki Kagamiya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing