We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel and well located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagasaki
Certificate of Excellence
Kaneohe, HI
Level Contributor
174 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

I just finished reading some of the other reviews of this hotel and find them very truthful, so I just have a couple of things to add.

I've stayed at a couple other Dormy Inns and I would probably put this one at the bottom of my list. First, the front desk staff could hardly communicate with me, even though I tried using as much of my Japanese as I could. This after the booking engine showed their language facility as "English." I found the lobby dull and crowded after the nice lobbies in other Dormy Inns, and found the staff less than friendly. After some wait I was put in touch with a gentleman who was able to communicate with me, and he told me about some interesting places to visit in Nagasaki. Another thing that was a minus was the fact that the onsen, although well appointed and clean, was totally inside, whereas all the other ones I've been to were on the top floor and included an outside "rotenburo."

The room was pretty much what I expected, although I paid a little more than usual because of the picture on the Japanicam website which showed a more spacious "corner" room in the category I booked. It was a nice, clean room, appointed pretty much as I expected, and at least it had free internet. The window looked out on a parking lot and several alleys, but also looked up to the lovely hotels on the mountainside, and I found myself wishing I had spent a little more money for more luxury.

I didn't take advantage of the free noodles, and that is perhaps something I should have done, and also didn't head for the breakfast buffet.

All in all, I'd say the value was pretty good for the money and the location was excellent, being right outside the main gate of Chinatown and just a short walk from some interesting night spots. It was always easy to get to and from this place, mainly to the train station. I enjoyed riding the "trams," as I'm a big fan of rail transportation. As to whether I'd stay here again, I don't think I would, although I don't want to discourage bargain hunters from taking advantage of this budget hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whitsiepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    198
    40
    4
    1
See reviews for
114
114
61
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Access to the hotel is a short tram ride from Nagasaki station. Staff are very helpful and efficient. Rooms are small (as are most rooms in Japan) but comfortable and modern with a nice Chinese theme. The hotel is very central to the city and chinatown in particular. We were there for the Chinese New Year and it was fantastic with multi coloured lanterns and displays and lots of street events. Many attractions are nearby within easy walking. Breakfast is inexpensive and good. A nice touch is free snack late at night as well as free internet use. Particularly enjoyable was the communal bath. All in all a very enjoyable place to stay and we would return again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul4444_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagasaki, Japan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

A very good Japanese hotel. As usual the rooms are small, but that has been the same every hotel I have stayed in. The Dormy Inn is right in the heart of Chinatown, and consequently "downtown". Free computers and printer for use (pay for paper), very friendly staff, a nice onsen on the reception floor with three seperate baths, and just a good, clean overall feel. If you need to borrow a iron, just ask the staff.

It isn't the cheapest hotel in Nagasaki, but I think you are getting the most for your money here.

I would say it is very good 4-star hotel. Recommended!

Room Tip: Higher the better for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

This is a great Japanese hotel. We stayed for two nights on our recent trip to Nagasaki. The room was small but, who spends a lot of time in the room anyway. I agree with all of the positive reviews here. There isn't much else that I can say. However, I fear that some may be misled by the review titled "Best hotel in the world by ratio of quality to price, so far." I worry that some may expect more than they actually get. I live in Japan and booked knowing fully what to expect in a Japanese hotel in this price range. This is a clean, modern, well located Japanese hotel with some amenities you don't find elsewhere (nightly noodles, nice breakfast, onsen...) If you book expecting a 5 star experience you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Semsensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

While the hotel rooms are small, the price, location and amenities more than makes up for it.

The hotel looks really new and clean. There are 2 computer terminals for guests to use at the lobby. Hotel reception staff were really helpful when we wanted to find out more about getting to Mount Inasa.

There was nothing to shout about Chinatown, but we loved the fact that the hotel was walking distance from the shopping/eatery stretch where there was Daiso, Daimaru, 100 yen store, Baskin Robbins, a superb 100 yen conveyor-belt sushi place, etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

I made the right decision of staying in Dormy Inn Nagasaki. The hotel room is clean and it is right next to China Town. I love their onsen and the hotel also provide free ramen at night. The buffet breakfast was average but no complaint. It is the typical Japanese buffet and the hotel serve freshly baked bread in the restaurant. A double room cost about 10,000 JPY per night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lian23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

I've traveled a lot, had a chance to stay in awesome 5 star hotels, and I have to say that Dormy Inn Nagasaki is the best hotel I've stayed by ratio of quality to price. The price was around $100 a night. The quality - if I decide to visit Nagasaki again, the chance to stay at this hotel will be one of the reasons. This hotel is all about value, here is what you get for your $100. The room is small but nice, comfortable, quiet and clean, small bathroom typical in Japan, free internet, basic amenities.The breakfast and night time noodles are just perfect. The breakfast seems small at first, three or four tables along the walls and one big table in the middle, but they are artfully packed with so many delicious high quality local foods, it's amazing. I stayed at some awesome onsens in Atami, but this breakfast puts them all to shame. You get variety of meets, fish, noodles, soups, Chinese porridge, all kinds of local side dishes, called shippoku cuisine, homemade-style bread and pastries and coffee, it's all excellent. It look small because many side dishes are all presented in small bowls but they are refilled constantly. At night around 9 p.m. you can go to the same breakfast room to enjoy a delicious bowl of local yonaki soba (home made ramen noodle) which is made fresh for you, you have to wait a few minutes at the table and they will call your number (in Japanese, but you can figure it out). Before or after noodles, you can enjoy their onsite onsen (hot bath, of course, separate rooms for men and women) which is quite excellent, it includes two kinds of hot baths, cold bath and a sauna, enough to spend an enjoyable hour in there for sure. Don't forget to take a shower at the entrance before going into the bathtub! :) The hotel has a nice small grocery store right near the entrance and an excellent local pork bun shop right in front, delicious! The location is excellent too. It only take a few stops by tram to get here from the JR station , but then you are right next to Chinatown, Dejima museum, short walk to Glover Park (must see, go there after 4 or 5 p.m. to enjoy a beautiful sunset), five minutes to the Galleria shopping area one block up north, Meganebashi bridge, and a must see narrow street at the end of the Galleria street with so many shrines and temples. Going to the Peace Park takes just a few more stops on the same tram that takes you to and from the station. I was tempted to stay near the station, but it's not worth it, the area around the station is not nearly as attractive. In conclusion, you get real value for your money at this hotel and it makes your stay in this wonderful city even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fourdollared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagasaki hotels
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
#1 of 74 in Nagasaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
#5 of 74 in Nagasaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagasaki Station
JR Kyushu Hotel Nagasaki
JR Kyushu Hotel Nagasaki
#4 of 74 in Nagasaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
The Hotel Nagasaki
#7 of 74 in Nagasaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Hotel JAL City Nagasaki
#12 of 74 in Nagasaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki

Property: Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
Address: 7-24 Dozamachi, Nagasaki 850-0841, Nagasaki Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Nagasaki Prefecture > Nagasaki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagasaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing