We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hashima (Gunkanjima), Battleship Island, Nagasaki” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hashima Island

Hashima Island
Ranked #3 of 263 things to do in Nagasaki
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hashima (Gunkanjima), Battleship Island, Nagasaki”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Well worth a half day tour, the trip out of Nagasaki harbor is very scenic and worth the 3,600 Yen. The history of this little island is fascinating starting with the discovery of coal in 1810 and the process to mine the coal in unbelievable conditions. Although I wasn't originally interested in going on this excursion I am really glad that I did. The tour provides a video in Japanese with some English but the guide for the non-Japanese tourists had excellent English and provided a very good tour once we got off the boat and onto the island. Although you can't walk a great deal on the island because of the damage done to the buildings from typhoons since it was closed down in 1976 you can still get a good sense of what it must have been like living there. I would recommend that you bring a snack a long on the tour as they only provide a candy once you get on the boat.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    262
    60
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“eerie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Loved the experience. It is a nice thirty minute boat trip to get there and then the tour lasts about an hour. It is interesting and the English headsets were pretty good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Booky17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We chose a tour that just traveled around the island (we didn't actually set foot on the island). Even from the boat you get a great view (and were able to take many photos) of the island and the deserted buildings. There was very little information in English and as I knew this before we went I was able to take notes with me so that we didn't miss out on the interesting history and could appreciate the experience fully.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KACar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A bit of a letdown”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The island looks amazing from photos you see online, and there is definitely a rich history associated with it. I used Gunkanjima Concierge for the tour and the crew was very nice and certainly spent a lot of time talking about the history of the island, how it worked into Japan's history, and so on. It would have been very interesting, except that it was 100% in Japanese and I don't know enough Japanese for that to be helpful. The staff all have a basic understanding of English and they had little booklets that they gave out to non-Japanese speakers to help out, which were nice but likely not as informative (or entertaining) as the presentation.

But the letdown is when you actually get to the island. It's a big island with a lot of buildings, but the tours are only let along the edge of about 1/4 of the island; you can hardly see anything. You spend a lot more time on the boat than on the island, because there's nowhere to actually go on the island. In retrospect I wish I had just looked at photos on the internet, and spent the day doing something else.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank EEpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Intriguing History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I went on the tour with Black Diamond Cruises, price of the tour was 3900yen in total. The tour was conducted in Japanese only.

The guide was friendly and he led us into the tourist allowed area in Hashima Island while giving historical background and current information on the ruins.

One thing to note, even if you embark on the tour, you might not be able to land on the island for a visit depending on wave conditions. Even though it was a sunny day, fine weather, the waves at Hashima Island were surprisingly rough and we had trouble landing. We had to leave the island early as well, as the ferry was not able to stay anchored as long as usual days due to rough waves. The guide informed us that in July it was a 60% landing rate, so meaning 40% of the tour participants didn't get a chance to enter the island.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank JocelynK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hashima Island also viewed

Nagasaki, Nagasaki Prefecture
Nagasaki, Nagasaki Prefecture
 
Nagasaki, Nagasaki Prefecture
Nagasaki, Nagasaki Prefecture
 

Been to Hashima Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing