We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could explore deeper inside the lost island, but still a very exciting tour!”
Review of Hashima Island

Hashima Island
Ranked #3 of 278 things to do in Nagasaki
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Osaka, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I wish I could explore deeper inside the lost island, but still a very exciting tour!”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I took a tour from Nagasaki Ferry Terminal. The tour company is called Yamasa Kaiun. Because we may not be able to land on the island if it is bad weather or waves are too high, I booked an afternoon tour after I heard from the tour company that morning tour safely landed on the island on that day.

Well, even though everything is in Japanese except for the small English pamphlet, this tour needs no words to feel the atmosphere of the lost island.

I understand there is a safety issue, but I wish I could explore closer & deeper inside the island, but it was worth visiting it. A must see before all the buildings collapse...

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Lanetower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    287
    72
    13
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Unusual and fascinating”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

From the water it reminded me of Alcatraz prison in San Francisco. Up close the size of the buildings is quite surprising. The tour we did was conducted in Japanese but they also supplied a comprehensive writtten English language folder. The history is very interesting and the guide is usually a previous resident. A must see place.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul4444_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagasaki, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Battleship Island (Gunkanjima) - Little slice of history”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Too much history to explain here, but basically this island has had a long history of undersea coal mining. There were many "firsts", including the first concrete high-rise building in Japan and first undersea mining, but perhaps most interesting is at one point in history this was the most crowded piece of land in the world (ie. densest population).

The tour I did (Takashima Traffic Advisory) first took us to Takashima for some background on the island and a small museum (all in Japanese, FYI). Then we went to Hashima Island and more history was explained while we took in the strangely haunting views from three platforms.

There are several tour operators, but mine was very good (if a little pricey at 4,400 per person). They provided a very interesting booklet in English (other languages available too)

Leaves at 9:30 AM and 2 PM every day (except Tuesday). Takes about 3-3.5 hours for the complete trip.

You are only allowed to see the island from 3 viewing platforms and have to book a trip through a boat tour operator. The trip took 3 hours and was very interesting and well organised but the guides only spoke Japanese and a very few English words. There is however a very informative pamphlet in English. We went with a company called Takashima Traffic Advisory with their boat Black Diamond. Their office is opposite the APA hotel in Nagasaki so the best thing is to go there and try to book a trip a day in advance. They have a trip at 9.45 and around 2 p.m. every day apart from Tuesdays. Hashima is about 19 km from Nagasaki.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank travisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarfalla, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fascinating boat trip to Gunkanjima”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Hashima Island is also known as Gunkanjima - Battleship island because its shape surrounded by a sea wall and its multi-storey concrete blocks of flats makes it look like a battleship. A complete society was built up around a coal mine on a very small island which has been abandoned since 1974 and left to delapidate. You are only allowed to see the island from 3 viewing platforms and have to book a trip through a boat tour operator. The trip took 3 hours and was very interesting and well organised but the guides only spoke Japanese and a very few English words. There is however a very informative pamphlet in English. We went with a company called Takashima Traffic Advisory with their boat Black Diamond. Their office is opposite the APA hotel in Nagasaki so the best thing is to go there and try to book a trip a day in advance. They have a trip at 9.45 and around 2 p.m. every day apart from Tuesdays. Hashima is about 19 km from Nagasaki.

It is well worth it for a unique experience!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank AnneR39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Ghost Battleship Island”
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Gunkanjima used to be a coal mining town owned by MItsubishi. The island with all its buildings looks like a battleship. The island is now a ghost town and has been ravaged by several typhoons, so it really looks older than it is. It has been re-open to the public since 2009 and can only be visited if you book a tour. Better read before as the Japanese crew speak only a few words of English. The ship goes around the island and dock as well. On the island itlself, you can only visit a few secure areas. A must see.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank Ezhaeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hashima Island also viewed

Nagasaki, Nagasaki Prefecture
Nagasaki, Nagasaki Prefecture
 
Nagasaki, Nagasaki Prefecture
Nagasaki, Nagasaki Prefecture
 

Been to Hashima Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing