We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Nagasaki (minus the bed)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nagasaki International Hostel Akari
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This is a fantastic budget place in Nagasaki!
The hostel is beautifully located by the river and the old stone bridges, and close to several tram lines that take you to all the interesting sites in the city. Several temples can be found nearby and down town is just 10 min away by foot.

Our room (Double room, ensuite) was small, but had the largest bathtub and shower room in our 47 days trip to Japan (11 hotels/hostels).
There was no fridge in the room, but you could keep your food in the fridge downstairs in the kitchen if you write your name and check out date on it.
With our Vista laptop we had some problems connecting to the Wi-Fi due to heavy encryption, but with a little help from the staff it worked out fine. And when it was up and running, it was one of the best Wi-Fi connections we had on the whole trip.

The best part was the staff. They had so many tips for places to go to and how to get there, and they could help you with anything. We had some problems and they helped us by making several phone calls even after receptions hours!

Downsides:
*Awfully hard bed, like a rock!

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

A good stay overall.
Great value - really cheap!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A-K_Sjoberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 104 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

The hostel is about 15 minutes’ walk from JR Nagasaki station and less than 5 minutes’ walk from the closest tram stop. Located alongside the Nakashima gawa river, within easy walking distance of Nagasaki’s main eating and shopping areas, it was a great place to base ourselves.

The hostel provides an excellent hand drawn map of the area, with lots of recommendations for eating, drinking and shopping. There was also a very useful folder of suggestions in the room, which was greatly appreciated, and we had several excellent (and affordable) meals as a result.

The staff on reception were very helpful, taking our bags up to our room when it was available – as we were on the 3rd floor, this was particularly useful.

The room itself was OK, a little more tired than some we stayed in on this trip. That said, the ensuite shower and bathroom were fine, and the futon bed comfortable. The kitchen was small, but well kitted out, and the lounge area looked like it would have been comfy had we needed it.

We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaleneAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed here 2 nights and wish it was more. It was definately more of a Hotel than a hostel. We had our own double bed and our own bathroom with great views out over the river and bridges. It was painted like a Spanish Villa. the owners are very firendly and helpfull, they give you a map of the area. The kitchen is very good and has everything you could need, it also has a tv lounge area and free internet. The location is excellent, 2 min walk from Spectacles bridge. You can get a tram from the train station then a short walk to the hostel. And the price is excellent for what you get. I love Nagasaki also. Stay Here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigTrip11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

My wife, my small child and me spent 2 nights in this very nice gesthouse in a big japanese room with bathroom.

The familly which owns this gesthouse is very nice and welcoming, and they do not speak too bad english. You can pay with credit card. There are all facilities of a good gesthouse: a shared kitchen with free tea and coffee, free internet, books to exchange, a map of the neighbourhood... It is quite closed to the railroad station, but you have to follow carefully the tramway otherwise you get easely lost.

Our room was the first one upstairs, easely accessible, clean and with a bathtub - good point for famillies. It only cost us 6.100Y per night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nobeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We visited Nagasaki over the weekend with a group of friends, and needed a place to stay for one night. Not wanting to spend too much money, we decided on this hostel.
Using the map on their website, it was easy to find. Upon out arrival, we received maps and information on the surroundings. Nice we didn't do much planning beforehand, this was very useful. The staff is generally helpful and speaks some English.
We staid with 6 people in a 8 person dorm on the top floor. Free lockers are provided on the ground floor to store your belongings while you're away.
There is free WiFi, but reception is spotty on the top floor. There is a communal area on the ground floor where you can sit with your laptop if you want to.
The front door gets locked at night, but you get a key and pin code to open the door if you want to get back later.
There was a shower room (Japanese style) on our floor, which I assume can get busy if the hotel is full. I got up early so that didn't bother me. Cleanliness was alright, since I didn't notice anything wrong. The beds were great, I slept better than the place I was staying at in Fukuoka.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gyrbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Although i understand many japanese guest house like this, they have too tiny room. Wait for shower 20mins if you're lucky.

Many do's and don'ts made me tired.

Staffs are kind.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Springisgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

My friend and I spent two nights at Akari and wished that we could have stayed for longer. This is an absolutely lovely hostel and the staff are wonderul. We had taken an overnight bus from Osaka and so arrived in Nagasaki at some ridiculously early hour - too early to check in, but the staff let us leave our bags at reception whilst we went off and explored. We ended up out sightseeing until gone 10 pm, and suddenly realised that the reception would be closed. Rushing back to the hostel in a panic, we found it was locked ... but there was a handwritten note to us stuck on the door, giving us a phone number to call. We phoned up and were given the code to open the door. Our bags had been carried up to our room for us. This was such a lovely surprise as rather than being annoyed that we were back so late, the staff trusted us enough to let us into the hostel and spend our first night there without having officially checked in or paid anything.

So, the staff were incredibly helpful and really friendly. Every time we passed through reception they would refer to us by our names, and it felt like we were getting a very personal service. There's loads of information available about places to visit in Nagasaki, as well as information on other hostels and sites throughout Japan. We went on one of their free walks, led by Nagasaki locals, which was really interesting and it was nice to spend a couple of hours with people who live in Nagasaki, chatting to them about things to do and see. The common area in the hostel is lovely - very clean and cosy. And the location is great - just a few minutes walk from the famous 'Spectacles Bridge', plus very close to a tram stop, which is the easiest way to get around the city.

Overall we had a really great time here, and only have positive things to say!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderlust0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagasaki hotels
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
#5 of 74 in Nagasaki
617 reviews
Nagasaki Washington Hotel
#18 of 74 in Nagasaki
239 reviews
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
#1 of 74 in Nagasaki
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
#4 of 74 in Nagasaki
443 reviews
Nagasaki Station
S-peria Hotel Nagasaki
S-peria Hotel Nagasaki
#8 of 74 in Nagasaki
321 reviews
Hotel JAL City Nagasaki
#15 of 74 in Nagasaki
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nagasaki International Hostel Akari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nagasaki International Hostel Akari

Address: 2-2 Kojiyamachi, Nagasaki 850-0871, Nagasaki Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Nagasaki Prefecture > Nagasaki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty lodging in Nagasaki
Price Range: $23 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nagasaki International Hostel Akari 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Nagasaki International Hostel Akari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing