We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fujiwara Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fujiwara Ryokan
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagasaki
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Clean and spacious rooms, good breakfast and fantastic service and friendliness. Very good value for money. After arriving we washed some of our clothes. When we returned home later that evening our clothes was hanged up. The owner and the place makes for en real authentic stay when being in Nagasaki and you get the feeling that these people genuinely care about their guests and their stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
21
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a one night stay at the Fujiwara Ryokan in Nagasaki as our first leg of our honeymoon. We reserved two rooms, one for our friend and one for us two. The owner, Mr. Fujiwara, was kind enough to wait for our friend's suitcase courier service arrival. He also let us keep our suitcases for the following day after checkout. We were pleased by how clean the ryokan was.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MashaOleynikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I had a nice stay at this ryokan. Mr Fujiwara was pleasant as was his wife. They allowed me to stay in a bigger room at single room's price which was very generous of them. The room was clean and had a generous space. The Ryokan is about 9 minutes walk from the JR Nagasaki station and 2 minutes walk to the tram so it was very convenient. All in all, highly recommended for a budget accommodation. And don't forget the breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeatoTaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

It was the best place to stay during my whole trip to various cities around Japan. First of all, although Mr. Fujiwara may not speak english too much, he helped me a lot, gave many advices about where to eat and so on. Every morning when I was off to discover Nagasaki, he greeted me and waited until I left. When I came back, he left his work and came to the desk to greet me again. After I checked out, he accompanied me outside and waved goodbye.

The ryokan is located few hundred metres from Nagasaki JR station. Two streets uphil and then right. Although I've had a big and suitcase, because in staying nearly a month in here, it was no problem to make it. Basically, it's more difficult to go from Narita and transfer at Ueno.

It's very quiet place, ryokan as well. My single room was very spacious and comfortable. Actually, for nearly same price, I've stayed in Kobe. Equipped with TV and air conditioner/heater.
There is also a washing machine, dryer, and shower with big bath.

I've had a breakfast twice and it was delicious! Nothing better than home made food.

I'd definitely stay there again in the future. It felt like staying at friends, not like hotel

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Good location, clean and nice. Food was great and the old couple running the place are one of the kindest people we've ever met. We only stayed one night, but due to the closeness of the trainstation and the easy access to the tram, we were easily making our way around the town.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LasseWatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
249 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Fujiwara-san and his wife are great host.

The Ryokan is nothing much to shout about. Location is convenient and facilities functional.
The meals they cook up though are simply delicious. But best of all, is the simple natured-ness of the host and the warmth they exude.

Throughout our stay, Fujiwara-san was there always to greet us, and lend a helping hand. He made a couple of phone calls on request to make bookings too. During our departure, he stood downstairs to wish us a safe journey as we made our way to the next destination.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a great example of a Japanese bed&breakfast. We stayed one night and were highly satisfied with the cleanliness, space and comfort. It is in a quiet residential street 10 minutes walk to most tourist areas, and further, for the Bomb museum. We had a parking space for 500 yen.

For more walking convenience to the shopping and nightlife streets, one could stay in one of the medium rise hotels to the south, but I chose this for the Japanese house character.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beepbeepcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagasaki hotels
Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
#3 of 74 in Nagasaki
423 reviews
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
#5 of 74 in Nagasaki
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
#1 of 74 in Nagasaki
196 reviews
Nagasaki Station
JR Kyushu Hotel Nagasaki
JR Kyushu Hotel Nagasaki
#4 of 74 in Nagasaki
231 reviews
The Hotel Nagasaki
#7 of 74 in Nagasaki
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fujiwara Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fujiwara Ryokan

Property: Fujiwara Ryokan
Address: 6-12 Uwamachi, Nagasaki 850-0054, Nagasaki Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Nagasaki Prefecture > Nagasaki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagasaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fujiwara Ryokan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fujiwara Ryokan is a Japanese-style inn, located only 8min walk from JR Nagasaki Station and 2 min walk from Sakuramachii Tram Station. You can experience the nostalgic atmosphere of Nagasaki city while your stay in our Ryokan. You can easily reach most of the Nagasaki's tourist attractions by transportation of Tram and JR. We are in a very convinient place to go to sightseeing spot in Nagasaki. 10 Min walk to Megane Bashi bridge, 2 min walk to Shofukuji Temple. You can hear trams come and go, the ringing bells from Naka-machi Church, and the beating sound of drums in Suwa Shrine. Our building is in the middle of a slope of a silent stone-paved road. All guest rooms are traditional Japanese style (en-suite and non en-suite). Free Wifi is now available in each guest room. You can plug in your lap top PC. Breakfast is from 7 to 9 a.M. Advance booking for this is required by the day before. Only Japanese style (860 yen). -Parking:3 cars/ 530yen Check-in: from 16:00 Check-out: till 10:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, Rakuten, Travelocity, HRS, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fujiwara Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing