We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your mom and pops shop in Amemura”

Amemura Shainshokudo
Ranked #674 of 38,519 Restaurants in Osaka
Price range: $6 - $23
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 21, 2017

The staff and service are incredible! Mama and Papa (the owners) are perfect examples of Osakan friendliness and generosity.

Food is amazing with reasonable prices. There are classic izakaya dishes like edamame, sashimi platter, and so on. My go-to includes deep fried wings (tebasaki), pork steak (ton-teki), sea grapes (umi-budo), ramen. Can't go wrong with 380JPY a draft beer. For the same price, they also serve their signature drink, Gari-chu (a fizzy cocktail with pickled ginger garnish). The owner's dogs, JJ and PP are always there to chill and hang.

Highly recommended.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 13 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2017 via mobile

It's been my second time here. The last time I came was 5 years ago and they still remembered me from the last time we talked. The food is amazing and the customer service is second to none...not to mention amazingly reasonable prices. I brought my family here from Thailand and they loved it. Definitely a recommended place for anyone looking for a fun friendly atmosphere in shinsaibashi

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank Ike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017

I lived in Osaka in 2014 and there are 3 things I miss nearly every single day, all of which are part of Shai Izakaya: (1) the izakaya dogs JJ and PP, who are basically like furniture because they're always there and always ready to be held and cuddled and cozied up with, (2) their tebasaki, or chicken wings (salty and peppery and delicious), and (3) their special gari-chu cocktail (pickled ginger, shochu and soda), which this place is probably best known for.

The main thing I love about Shai is the atmosphere. It's always been family owned and operated by the Yoshikawas. And Takanobu and Kayo, like their dogs, are always there and always so friendly and fun and generous. I've sung karaoke with Takanobu many times. And I've met all sorts of cool, interesting people there. One time I met this random snake-wrangler dude, who had a ton of reptiles in his bag in the bar with him. Another time I met a Japanese DJ crew, who explained Japanese hip-hop and EDM to me. I've also been exposed to new kinds of Japanese food and drinks.

Their English isn't great, but they always try. And I guarantee you that you won't find a more fun, personable, passionate place anywhere in Osaka. If you want ordering advice, get 1 garichu for everyone in your party, a few orders of the tebasaki and some ume budo (Japanese sea grapes) and see how you feel.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank emleventhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed February 10, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Amemura Shainshokudo also viewed

Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 

Been to Amemura Shainshokudo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing