We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only Japanese will appreciate the value ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cross Hotel Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cross Hotel Osaka
Ranked #10 of 298 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Yokohama, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only Japanese will appreciate the value ...”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Very good hotel if you are traditional Japanese - maybe British girl love it too, but not for Western business person (esp. male!!!).
Best point is bath room. In the separate bath room you can pour hot water on you like traditional Japanese does, tub has enough size, thus a person with 6 feet tall should fit in there quite nicely.
Next good point is that you do not sit down in front of mirror when you use PC on your desk, so that I do not see my ugly froggy face all the time.
Having said so, the hotel building seems to be quite dated, even renovation has done recently you can see it is quite old fashioned structure. Also the hotel would like itself to be a designer hotel, but I do not see much point on those design.
All in all, although I would not recommend other people, I liked my stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlJones236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    457
    107
    17
    13
See reviews for
304
518
145
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hotel is perfectly located, two minutes walk from the restaurants and shops of Dotonburi and fifteen minutes walk from Shinsaibashi (to the north) and Namba Park (to the south). Rooms are modern and clean and the bathrooms of a very decent size. There is also a good sized fridge (empty) so you can stock up on drinks etc from the Lawson convenience store one minute away. As far as hotels go in Japanese cities, this is one of the best in terms of value for money. There is also a shuttle bus service that takes you to the airport for 1500 yen. It's the second time I have stayed here and would definitely recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RM303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I went to this Hotel last year.
and I found it at the internet. However, it surprised me good ! I like it!
first. the location is good, next to Nanba Station ( the big station )
second, the environment is good, right on the main street, not at the most busy area, so not much noise but easy to walk to main shopping street.
Second, the room size is good enough for 2 suitcases,
THIRD, the main good feature, is the washroom, it's SO BIG, so after a long day walk, I can have a great shower, and have a hot tub, and they are using good quality shampoo and soap.
it was so refreshing after the bath !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennykty75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The hotel is above average- I wish there was something in between average and good.
The hotel location is excellent, right smack in the epicenter of the busy Dotombori & Shinsaibashi area near Namba in the Minami (south) district of Osaka.
The bathroom is one of the largest I have seen anywhere in the world. Probably the second largest I have seen. Bigger than some apartments in Hong Kong.
The service is ok...but below expectations. Once again as I mentioned in one of my other reviews (inflexible check-in time). Also when we asked for transport to the airport.. no mention was made of the Rap:t (fast train) to Kansai airport...instead they tried to flog us a shuttle bus...which would take 1.5 hours (instead of 27 mins).
Anyway there are also other minor service issues, which detracted from an average average stay. Not bad, good value, free wifi, good location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommacau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Be careful ! You will get over sleep. This hotel has a nice bath. It is absolutely Japanese style. The big bath is for 2 persons entered. Here does not have WiFi connection. So, I recommend that you better bring your own laptop. Enjoy...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MakotoYam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed there in July 2012 with a special promo from Agoda (super last minute deal >30%) in a Economy Double.
Really an outstanding hotel... very design, super location, great room and for sure the best hotel we had during our 17 days trip throughout the country.

If you have a chance to go there:
DO IT!!!!!

Room Tip: Look for promotions on Agoda (i had this trip too and it is really something you should do)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Recently stayed for a second time (Jan 2012 and June 2012). Was much more impressed on my first visit!
Decently priced business hotel. Contemporary decor, comfortable rooms. Generally clean. I noticed that the rooms white walls are really beginning to show wear and tear. Black stains (from suitcases etc) around the luggage rack area etc.

Staff friendly, good english ability I believe.

Best sell for this hotel is its location right around the corner from Eibisu-Bashi and Dotonbori. Easy walk to the bridge, great fun getting some Starbucks and people-watching (all the hosts/ hostesses and restaurant staff touting for business etc...). Easy reach to lots of great entertainment and shopping, a wee bit of a walk to the trains, but not so bad with so much of intrest to see on the way!

Room Tip: as always a high floor has better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pineapplesensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#27 of 298 in Osaka
725 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Dotonbori Hotel
Dotonbori Hotel
#16 of 298 in Osaka
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Hotel Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Hotel Osaka

Property: Cross Hotel Osaka
Address: 2-5-15 Shinsaibashisuji, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0085, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#6 Family Hotel in Osaka
#8 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#21 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cross Hotel Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cross Hotel Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osaka Cross Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing