We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Friendly, Charming, Good for sleeping!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Toyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Toyo
Ranked #10 of 177 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Clean, Friendly, Charming, Good for sleeping!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

This place was friendly, clean, and comfortable! The staff and very nice and warm! The rooms are small, and the beds could be better, however what it lacks it makes up in other places! The location is rather central, Free wi-fi, the showers (only two, but can shower within 20 mins of asking the staff to knock on door when free) have shampoo, towels, soap all for free! Western toilet, with a heated seat! Washing machine, dryer, free hairdryer, free coffee and overall nice staff! I was walking out the door, and the staff member chased after me to give me an umbrella as it was forecasted to rain! This place is perfect for someone low on cash and wanting a place to sleep and shower! :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaidey90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    93
    51
    13
    2
See reviews for
9
24
100
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

I was a traveller on a budget so i chose this because it was so cheap. The staff are very friendly even though they speak little english, there is a little old man there that is really sweet and let me take an umbrella with me because it was raining even though i was heading to tokyo and not coming back.

The bathrooms were pretty gross and smelt pretty bad, the toilets are japanese style which is fine, but need a decent clean. They are communial and there was just an open doorway in the middle of the hall to enter them. There are only two showers which can be a problem when it's busy as this place sleeps a lot of people.

The room was good, small for one person, you have a tv and a window and your little bed. My room had a bit of a funky smell to it that took a while to get used to.

It's close to the JR and subway lines, but not in a great area it's a poorer area and it was the first city in Japan where i'd seen homeless people on the street, i didn't feel very safe out at night.

If you're looking for a good place just to crash overnight that's cheap, then this is a pretty decent bet.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penpen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

a very cheap hotel (11euros/night) single room with tatami and no air condition and a lot of poor local people living there, the rooms are clean, but the bathroom neds renovation. otherwise the place is good, metro and jr station 2 min walk, good for those who are looking just for a place to sleep, but there are much better hotels in the area for 15euros/night, a normal bed and air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonz_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

I started my Japan trip in Osaka and would stay there for two nights. Since I was travelling by the budget, I picked a very cheap one, so I ended up here. What is nice is the fact that you get a private room, no dorms or anything. However, the toilet is only Japanese style and it looks kinda dodgy, same goes for the public shower. No separate showers for men and women, so when women are taking a shower men have to wait (because you can only close the shower with a curtain, nothing else).
The location is convenient though, there is a subway station around the corner (1 minute walk) en Namba is only two stops away. I guess you can walk to Namba as well, it wouldn't take to much time.
Other than that, the staff is friendly (though their English is limited) and there is a lounge with two computers (100 yen per 30 minutes). All in all, if you have to stay in Osaka for a short period of time, this would be okay. If you have to stay in Osaka for longer than 1 or 2 nights, you might want to go with something else. So my recommendation is only for short-term visits.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keldv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

Because of my stinginess when I saw this hotel price and just only 1 night stay so I chose that hotel from website.

I arrived at hotel around 11am,I feel something wrong but still empty-headed and pay hotel cost.

That area has many weird and homeless people.
My room at 1st floor very smell fusty.
In sharebathroom has bicycle in bathtub!!!
No lock in shower room only has plastic curtain and that is public bathroom.

After travelling all day I back around midnight but still can't stand this hotel so I decide to stay hotel next door, sure I leave my money :(

Goodbye Hotel Toyo you need renovation now.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2009

Okay, the price is so cheap. 1500 yen a night. and you get your own room. it's not a dorm. the bathroom is shared, though.

the room was small, just enough for 1 futon. it comes with a tv and a heater or fan. regarding the amenities, there wasn't much. no food in the hotel. just some vending machines, a common microwave too.

the hotel has i think 5 floors or something. each floor has a shared toilet. japanese style toilet. not THAT clean, i might add.

there is only 1 floor for the shower. again, not THAT clean.

the general impression of the hotel is that it's old, but not kept well. i mean, there are old hotels that are really well maintained. i even got the impression that sad people were living in the place (coz it's cheap).

just beside hotel toyo is hotel raizan, taiyo, and other similar places. i think we can even have showers in those places.

again, i have nothing to complain about because this place was so cheap. i basically paid for a place to spend the night, and i got it.

the thing i like the most is that the people are nice, they help you out, give you maps and stuff. no english though.

oh, and there is a small lounge where you can use the computer, 100 yen for 30 minutes. good for browsing.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thejetsettress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

I was really impressed by this place! It's usually so expensive to stay anywhere in Japan, 1500 yen for a single room is cheaper than you'd pay for a dormitory bed in most places. The area is a little run down but the location is fantastic (2 minutes walk from a train station with 4 different train lines, and right next to Tsutenkaku Tower, Spa World, etc.) The staff were lovely and went out of their way to help with even some rather obscure enquiries. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff, value for money
  • Disliked — Cant really complain about anything, was better than what I would have expected for the cost
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittychan1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Business Hotel Chuo
Business Hotel Chuo
#88 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Hotel Taiyo
#164 of 296 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Business Hotel Mikado
Business Hotel Mikado
#85 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fuku Hostel Nagomi
#3 of 177 in Osaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Drop Inn Osaka
#5 of 177 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Fuku Hostel
#1 of 177 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Toyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Toyo

Property: Hotel Toyo
Address: 1-3-5 Taishi, Nishinari-ku, Osaka 557-0002 , Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 177 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Toyo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Toyo offers great value for travelers looking for a warm, friendly, inexpensive hotel in a convenient location for Osaka sightseeing. We're located in the center of the 'Minami' area of Osaka (Minami means south in Japanese). The location is also convenient for all your sightseeing in the Kansai region, including Kyoto, Nara, Kobe and Wakayama, making use of the 4 train lines available in the area. We are only 40min from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Rakuten, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Toyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing