We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but a little grubby!”
Review of Hotel Toyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Toyo
Ranked #11 of 253 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Cheap but a little grubby!”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights and it was without a doubt the cheapest hostel I stayed in all my time in Japan (17 days), it was however also the dirtiest. You have to share the bathrooms and they smell! The common room is clean enough and the rooms are very basic with old fittings...however it is cheap! You get what you pay for!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    98
    53
    13
    2
See reviews for
10
25
103
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

In Osaka's backpacker's belt, very near both the train station and subway. Rooms are clean but minimal, and the staff speaks English as well. For a backpacker's joint, very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grauhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2010

This place was friendly, clean, and comfortable! The staff and very nice and warm! The rooms are small, and the beds could be better, however what it lacks it makes up in other places! The location is rather central, Free wi-fi, the showers (only two, but can shower within 20 mins of asking the staff to knock on door when free) have shampoo, towels, soap all for free! Western toilet, with a heated seat! Washing machine, dryer, free hairdryer, free coffee and overall nice staff! I was walking out the door, and the staff member chased after me to give me an umbrella as it was forecasted to rain! This place is perfect for someone low on cash and wanting a place to sleep and shower! :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaidey90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

I was a traveller on a budget so i chose this because it was so cheap. The staff are very friendly even though they speak little english, there is a little old man there that is really sweet and let me take an umbrella with me because it was raining even though i was heading to tokyo and not coming back.

The bathrooms were pretty gross and smelt pretty bad, the toilets are japanese style which is fine, but need a decent clean. They are communial and there was just an open doorway in the middle of the hall to enter them. There are only two showers which can be a problem when it's busy as this place sleeps a lot of people.

The room was good, small for one person, you have a tv and a window and your little bed. My room had a bit of a funky smell to it that took a while to get used to.

It's close to the JR and subway lines, but not in a great area it's a poorer area and it was the first city in Japan where i'd seen homeless people on the street, i didn't feel very safe out at night.

If you're looking for a good place just to crash overnight that's cheap, then this is a pretty decent bet.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penpen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2009

a very cheap hotel (11euros/night) single room with tatami and no air condition and a lot of poor local people living there, the rooms are clean, but the bathroom neds renovation. otherwise the place is good, metro and jr station 2 min walk, good for those who are looking just for a place to sleep, but there are much better hotels in the area for 15euros/night, a normal bed and air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonz_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

I started my Japan trip in Osaka and would stay there for two nights. Since I was travelling by the budget, I picked a very cheap one, so I ended up here. What is nice is the fact that you get a private room, no dorms or anything. However, the toilet is only Japanese style and it looks kinda dodgy, same goes for the public shower. No separate showers for men and women, so when women are taking a shower men have to wait (because you can only close the shower with a curtain, nothing else).
The location is convenient though, there is a subway station around the corner (1 minute walk) en Namba is only two stops away. I guess you can walk to Namba as well, it wouldn't take to much time.
Other than that, the staff is friendly (though their English is limited) and there is a lounge with two computers (100 yen per 30 minutes). All in all, if you have to stay in Osaka for a short period of time, this would be okay. If you have to stay in Osaka for longer than 1 or 2 nights, you might want to go with something else. So my recommendation is only for short-term visits.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keldv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Because of my stinginess when I saw this hotel price and just only 1 night stay so I chose that hotel from website.

I arrived at hotel around 11am,I feel something wrong but still empty-headed and pay hotel cost.

That area has many weird and homeless people.
My room at 1st floor very smell fusty.
In sharebathroom has bicycle in bathtub!!!
No lock in shower room only has plastic curtain and that is public bathroom.

After travelling all day I back around midnight but still can't stand this hotel so I decide to stay hotel next door, sure I leave my money :(

Goodbye Hotel Toyo you need renovation now.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Business Hotel Chuo
Business Hotel Chuo
#82 of 315 in Osaka
226 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Business Hotel Mikado
Business Hotel Mikado
#83 of 315 in Osaka
198 reviews
Hotel Taiyo
#152 of 315 in Osaka
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fuku Hostel
#1 of 253 in Osaka
200 reviews
Osaka Guesthouse Nest
#9 of 253 in Osaka
57 reviews
Osaka Hana Hostel
#5 of 253 in Osaka
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Toyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Toyo

Property: Hotel Toyo
Address: 1-3-5 Taishi, Nishinari-ku, Osaka 557-0002, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 253 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Toyo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Toyo offers great value for travelers looking for a warm, friendly, inexpensive hotel in a convenient location for Osaka sightseeing. We're located in the center of the 'Minami' area of Osaka (Minami means south in Japanese). The location is also convenient for all your sightseeing in the Kansai region, including Kyoto, Nara, Kobe and Wakayama, making use of the 4 train lines available in the area. We are only 40min from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Toyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing