We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money and accessible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shin-Osaka Youth hostel
Ranked #48 of 303 Specialty lodging in Osaka
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed October 28, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 78 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2009

Shin-Osaka advertises itself as a youth hostel, yet is anything but.

It has a lot of things going for it - it's in an excellent location, just a brief walk from Shin-Osaka train station. It's high up in a tower, commanding a great view and it is IMPECCABLY clean.

None of these benefits compensate for the hostel's huge, appalling flaw, which is its strict curfew. You may not enter or exit between the hours of 11pm and 6 am. Remember, this is purportedly a "youth" hostel and Osaka is famed for its nightlife. But that's not all! Neither are you allowed to be in your rooms between 10 am and 4pm, so even if you go out all night and come back at 6 am, you'll be tossed out into the corridor, hungover and sleep-deprived.

When I pay for a room, I expect to be able to use it at all times, and come and go when I please.

Shin-Osaka would be a good choice for older travellers, or young school groups - in fact, most of the other guests were elderly Japanese. If you are aged 18 to 30, or even if you are outside those ages but dislike being treated like a prisoner, AVOID THIS PLACE LIKE THE PLAGUE.

p.s. it has wifi, but only in the public areas like the lounge and the cafeteria. Presumably the staff, like school teachers, like to keep an eye on what you're doing. Yeesh.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank captainhotstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed April 21, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 13, 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 5, 2008

I'm not a great fan of hostels, but this place stands out from the pack. Located in a new high-rise just a few mins from Shin-Osaka station (NOT Osaka station-- that's a different station, don't make the same mistake I did when I was tired and in a daze!), it's a great option for those on a budget, or big groups, as others have noted.

I speak Japanese but heard staff speaking in English to other guests-- I think their English was fine.

I agree about the big Japanese bath-- a real highlight! Clean and perfect to relax in after a long day wandering busy Osaka. For the more modest, there is a private shower, too.

Room was fine. The communal area is nice, with TV and manga, as well as free coffee/tea. I met some interesting Japanese travellers while there.

I didn't have any late nights while staying here, so didn't have a problem with the 11pm curfew (not uncommon in Japanese youth hostels), but party animals might want to find alternative lodging.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bimdonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2008

We stayed only one night at Shin-Osaka Youth hostel but we were very happy with this choice.
The hostel is conveniently located closed to the station and we found good restaurants just around.
The staff is more than friendly and we even enjoyed a very funny Halloween party.
But what we will remember more is the public bath. It's really huge and the hot bath is wonderful.
We stayed in a 6-people room and it seemed very new. The room was very big and nice with its tatami and futon sleeping (there are actually 2 futons and 4 bunk beds).

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraL21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

I spent one night at this hostel when I missed the last Shinkansen back to Tokyo one evening.

I expected your average hostel — old building, old bedding, in a bad neighbourhood. But the place is nothing like that.

All I can say is: wow! This place is so high quality, it hardly counts as a hostel. Ryokan at 3x the price are poorer quality. The place has plants growing in the bathroom, a large and clean sentõ (public bath), a stack of cell phone chargers (one fitting my Japanese phone) you can borrow, towel rental, a tatami platform with manga to read and brand-new books on samurai culture. Needless to say, everything around was clean and well-maintained. There were people to meet from France, Canada, Korea, and Japan. Internet's 100¥/15min. I happened to have a yukata along, and the staff even tied the obi for me. All this fun for only 3,300¥ for a futon or dorm bed (!!)

Now, there are downsides, as the other reviews cover: we literally couldn't leave the hostel because the elevator was locked. They even have a net to stop you from climbing down the stairs. Perfect for school groups, lousy for young travelers. A quick use of the "emergency" intercom took care of getting out, though.

Overall, this place is a steal. If you want a low-key evening or you have friends coming along, go here for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank designfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
One World Osaka Central
#131 of 303 in Osaka
7 reviews
Osaka Hana Hostel
#7 of 303 in Osaka
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Toyo
Hotel Toyo
#18 of 303 in Osaka
216 reviews
Osaka Guesthouse Nest
#9 of 303 in Osaka
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shin-Osaka Youth hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shin-Osaka Youth hostel

Address: 1-13-13 Higashi Nakajima, Higashi Yodogawa-ku | 10th Floor, Osaka 533-0033, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shin Osaka / North Area
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 303 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Price Range: $29 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shin-Osaka Youth hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The “Youth Hostel” was originally created in Germany, and is now recognized as a global “Journey Inn”. Although originally created to assist young adolescents, it is now used for family vacations and business travelers as well. The Shin-Osaka Youth Hostel is located 5min walk away from the JR Shin-Osaka Station, and is close not only to Osaka, but to Kyoto, Nara and Kobe. It is a very convenient place for fulfilling the desires of exploring the Kansai area. Moreover, the 1st-8th floor offers rental rooms, including an assembly hall, meeting rooms, musical rooms, studios and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Rakuten, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Booking.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shin-Osaka Youth hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shin-Osaka Youth Hostel Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing