We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good - but basic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Business Hotel Nissei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Business Hotel Nissei
Ranked #118 of 296 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
204 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good - but basic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

if you go to this hotel and you expect what we in Europe call a "business hotel", you will be disappointed!

But if you want a very reasonably priced hotel (for Osaka) in this popular area, then the Business Hotel Nissei is right for you.

Rooms are basic, but quite clean. The bathroom is tiny but you are in Japan!!!
You cannot say that rooms have a view (our was facing a wall!) but at least it was very quiet, which is really great considering this is a very busy area.
I had read lots of negative comments about breakfast but if you consider it is free, it is not so bad. We had bread rolls with jam and boiled eggs, washed down by orange juice. Perfectly ok for me.

Staff at reception was very friendly.

I would not stay here if I had to spend one or two weeks in Osaka, I would probably opt for a more "cheerful" room ...
But for a couple of nights, yes, I would go there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Enjoytraveltheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnissei, General Manager at Business Hotel Nissei, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Nissei for your stay in Osaka. We hope you enjoyed your time in our hotel, and thank you for your review of our establishment.

We apologise for the lack of a view from your room. However, our hotel is located in a street with buildings on either side. Being at the end of Dotonbori has its benefits as it means we are located only a stone's throw away from the bustling entertainment district, with little distractions from a good night's sleep for our guests.

We thank you for your kind feedback on our breakfast and staff. We are in the midst of modernizing the hotel, and would love to welcome you back sometime in the near future!

Best Regards,

Raymond Chua
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    65
    46
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
25
40
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
394 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 604 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The area around Namba is busy with plenty of eateries. However the hotel does a simple breakfast which will not be to all tastes but OK.
The room was reasonable size, bed comfortable. No view from window but because of location that could be expected. Staff friendly.
The hotel could be difficult to find in the side streets but we had no problem from underground with a map printed from internet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorcesterMoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnissei, General Manager at Business Hotel Nissei, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Osaka, and appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel.

We thank you for your kind words about our hotel. Our staff are more than happy to see to it that, as far as possible, we make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

We keenly note your comments that it is difficult to find the hotel from Namba Nankai train station, and are looking at putting up more signage to aid our foreign guests locate our hotel.

We hope you found your stay satisfactory and would love to welcome you back to Hotel Nissei sometime soon!

Best Regards,

Raymond Chua
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights from the 8th of August to the 12th of August(check out) over the loooooong weekend in Singapore. Seeing that I already spent a bomb on air fare, I wasn't prepared to pay over the odds for a hotel which I was only going to spend time sleeping in! The hotel might be a little hard to find initially, but having done our research before hand, we found it in no time. The hotel is located 3 min from namba station in minami district of Osaka. Which is a brilliant location for the price we paid. Approx. 6300yen per night for our single room(we had 2 singles and 1 twin) and 11,000yen for the twin.

Namba station connects easily enough to Kansai airport as well as to the main tourist attractions outside Osaka such as Kyoto, Nara and Kobe. Me and my party of 3 friends arrived from Kansai airport at 10.30am, before the check in time hoping to get a room to rest our weary legs and minds(overnight flights are not my thing). The staff were apologetic that they were unable to accede to our request, however they took our luggage in and placed them under a netting in the lobby, allowing us to explore dotonbori which was literally just outside the hotel. The hotel was fully booked as it was the fireworks festival in Osaka, and Tokyo as well, so they didn't have too many vacant rooms.

It was a little early, but already the area was starting to bustle with life. The area is full of eateries, and seeing that the ramen shop "jing long" just round the bend was open, we decided to grab some breakfast. The hotel called us at about 12 and said that 2 rooms were ready and if we would like to check in first. Naturally we gladly took up that option.

From what we saw on tripadvsior, the rooms were small and a little dark/gloomy. But having read prior reviews, we were prepared for it. The free wifi in the rooms and in the hotel more than made up for the gloominess...The room was spotless and clean, as what you'd expect from a hotel in Japan. The toilet itself was small as well. I would imagine for a bigger set person, some problems might present, but one of my friends was 110kg and he fit in just fine.The bed was a little hard, but comfortable. Though there isn't a thermostat to control the temperature, you can control the strength of the air conditioning(low/medium/high). There isn't much room for luggage, but bearing in mind this is a budget hotel in a the centre of a big city in japan, i wouldn't expect any less.

Breakfast was included in the accommodation plan, and although there wasn't much variety, it was sufficient. Eggs, Bread and coffee were good enough for me. In any case, there are plenty of restaurants or convenience stores dotted around the hotel.

The staff were excellent throughout, always helpful and polite. The mandarin speaking lady in particular was extremely helpful as she was able to translate whatever we needed. We had problems booking some day tours to Kyoto and Nara and the manager was able to help sort it out for us. top drawer service.

The only drawback for me was perhaps the size of the room. It was small, but having said that, this is japan and basically I only spent time in the room sleeping. So not much of an issue as well.

All in all, a really great place to stay. SGD$80(USD63) for a room in the centre of Osaka! I for one, will definitely come back to stay when i visit Osaka again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jansen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnissei, General Manager at Business Hotel Nissei, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Nissei, and appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel.

We would like to thank you for your complimentary words about our hotel and hope that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We apologise for the central temperature control and hope that it wasn't too much of an inconvenience for you.

Seeing that you are a regular guest, please show us this review the next time you stay so that we can extend a courtesy discount to you from us. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Raymond Chua
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel is very essential and spartan, the room is dark, with the window looking out on another wall...the bathroom is really small, but practical, so for one night will be good, because is 5 minute walk from the Nanba stop, and is very simple to rich the airport. Probably next time I will spend a little more for having a more pleasant hotel....but anyway for small budget could be ok! The brekafast is essential....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauraska77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnissei, General Manager at Business Hotel Nissei, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Nissei for your stay in Osaka. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel.

We apologise for the spartan and dark rooms, and are in the process of modernizing the hotel. We take your comments seriously and will actively look to improve our facilities.

Thank you for kind comments about the hotel's location. We are very conveniently located for travel within the kansai region, and hope that helped you during your stay in Osaka.

We hope you had a pleasant stay in our Hotel, and my staff and I would love to see you back again some time soon!

Best Regards,

Raymond Chua
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwon, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed for 3nights at Hotel Nissei, It has low price, close to JR Nanba staion 5min away from JR nanba, 10-15min away from Botonbori streat, clean, free wifi, serve breakfast and of course there is air-conditioner. Summer in Japan is tooooooo hot. As many Japanese are kind, Hotel steps are kind as well. Anyway It's the best price to stay at Nanba.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFEDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnissei, General Manager at Business Hotel Nissei, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Nissei for your stay in Osaka. We appreciate your taking time to review our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind comments about our hotel.

Summertime is indeed hot in Japan, especially so this year with the temperature in the high 30s for literally the whole month of August. We hope you enjoyed your stay at our hotel despite the heat, and would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Raymond Chua
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hotel location is superb, very near to Nankai namba station. The quite street and kuromon market are the selling point for me.

Hotel room is small, but adequate for our stay, we stay at triple room, and with the reasonable price, one cannot expect too much. Breakfast is the same, and the Chinese aunty is so friendly and helpful. The counter staff, those who are able to converse in English, the young Mr.Ma and Ms. Soon are very helpful. The local are slightly out of tune, perhaps they don't speak English or Chinese, so they are not able to assist us. However they tried. I will stay again in thishotel .value for money and worth it

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor, but generally a good place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnissei, General Manager at Business Hotel Nissei, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Nissei for your stay in Osaka, and appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel.

We thank you for your kind words about our hotel's location and affordability. Our Chinese speaking breakfast staff, Ms Shimizu finds interacting with customers most fulfilling. Mr Ma and Ms Soon were thrilled to know about your praise of them.

Noting your concern that our staff do not speak english, we are looking into hiring english speaking staff to help our foreign guests settle in.

We would like to welcome you back to Hotel Nissei again sometime in the near future. Please show us this review so that we can extend a courtesy discount to you during your next stay at our establishment.

Best Regards,

Raymond Chua
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
168 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The location of this hotel is near Namba Railway station. Namba area is best entertaining district of South of Osaka, just like Umeda (Kita) in North of Osaka. This hotel is just 5 minutes walk from Namba Railway station. There is direct connectivity between Namba railway station with Kansai International airport through Nankai Namba Railway line. From airport it takes around 45-50 minutes to reach Namba railway station. Namba is also connected with Osaka subway line as well as JR line. Location of this hotel is very good, it is surrounded by lot of eateries, casinos, bars, restaurants, shopping etc. it is very lively area. It is really a good entertaining district. . North South subway connectivity is also there.
I booked single private ensuite bathroom. The room is very small. Practically there is no place at all to keep luggage in the room. Breakfast is included in the price. Very moderate breakfast. Every day it is same. There is no variety. Bread, orange juice, boiled egg, tea, coffee are available. They should improve and provide variety of breakfast items. Communication is a big problem with the reception desk. They should keep at least one English speaking staff at reception desk for better communication with international travelers. Otherwise room is clean, friendly staff. Though bathroom is small, everything is inside. The room is having AC as well as heater, TV, fridge, telephone etc. They accept credit card also.

Room Tip: Top floors are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArghyaKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnissei, General Manager at Business Hotel Nissei, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Nissei for your stay in Osaka. We would also like to extend our appreciation to you for taking time to review our establishment.

We would like to thank you for your kind words about our location and convenience. Being located in a little street off Dotonbori, you will be spoilt for choice when it comes to entertainment and eateries.

We apologise for the small size of the room. Japanese business hotels tend to be small, but we hope that our efficient staff and good location was enough to make your stay enjoyable.

We also note your concern that the staff cannot communicate in english and are in the process of hiring english speaking staff to aid our hotel guests. We take your comments seriously and are in the process of modernizing our hotel for the future benefit of all our customers.

We hope you had a satisfactory stay at Hotel Nissei, and hope to have the pleasure of seeing you back again sometime in the near future!

Best Regards,

Raymond Chua
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Midosuji Hotel
Midosuji Hotel
#86 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Le Botejour Nanba
Hotel Le Botejour Nanba
#134 of 296 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Red Roof Plus Osaka Namba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Business Inn  Sennichimae Hotel
Sarasa Hotel Nipponbashi
#125 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Business Hotel Nissei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Business Hotel Nissei

Property: Business Hotel Nissei
Address: 4-31 Sennichimae Nanba, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0075, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 296 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Business Hotel Nissei 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the bustling district of Namba in the Minami-area of Osaka, Hotel Nissei aims to fufilll all your travel requirements at an affordable and economical price. Easily accessible via Nanba Station and within walkable distance of Nipponbashi station, Hotel Nissei is all about the location. With Kyoto, Nara and Kobe all within an hour of Nanba Station, Hotel Nissei is the perfect place with which to base your Kansai Experience from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Rakuten so you can book your Business Hotel Nissei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Business Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing