We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IF your Destination IS Universal Studios Japan the THIS IS THE HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Universal Port
Ranked #8 of 322 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

You need a walking distance to Universal Studios Japan, to Universal City Walk, Hard Rock Cafe, Train Station, Shuttle Boat to Kaiyukan Aquarium then THIS IS THE HOTEL.

Its simple elegant, nice, complete, everything is so so near. Its perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaimShauqy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,508)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Universal Port
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 259 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

This hotel is a official hotel of Universal Studio Japan which located in Universal Port, easy access from KIX airport by JR Express around 45 minute with fee 160 Yen but a bit far from the city and other landmark, you should take JR train from the hotel 2 stop station drop off at Nichikujo Station and change the train every time. However, there is shuttle boat Captain line from the hotel to Tempozan only 5 minute. So I do recommend this hotel for USJ player only. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful, room size are value with room rate, I love toilet and bathroom, bed and towel very comfort, fully room amenities and facilities. There are many F&B outlet but close at 10 PM, there are many vending machine such as locker, soft drink and free ice machine at corridor every floor. A few minute walk to USJ and there is Lawson 24Hrs retail shop at Universal City Walk, there are so many shop & restaurant here.

Room Tip: Stay here only the nigh before USJ day then move to the city better stay here for whole period. The...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanipaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Firstly, I like to thank the Hotel Universal Port staff who made our 6 nights stay an enjoyable and memorable one. They were very helpful, attentive and friendly. Wifi was fast in both hotel lobby and the room. Hotel concierge staff were efficient in helping me to locate some sushi restaurant and provided alternatives when reservation was not possible.

Thank you very much! Will definitely come back again or recommend to any friends who are visiting Osaka!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

2 more days here and we know we will miss the hotel and the place once we leave. Wonderful and helpful hotel staffs. Room are spacious, for a Japanese standard. Close to Universal Studio and Universal City Station. Everything is more than we expected.

Definitely recommend anyone who wish to take their family here to stay at Universal Port Hotel.

Toh

Room Tip: They do have room even for a family of 4, and they provide 4 beds. Do ask for 4 beds. Very rare for...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWKT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Spacious room.idea location.free WiFi.
First time in japan osaka.this total are good for family and it's officials universal studio appointed hotel.easy to access if you are from kansai international air port.take the nankai or JR haruka express train to tennoiji stations and used JR loop to nishinkujio station then transfer to universal-city station just few minutes walk from the station.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank De M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Nice stay! Nice view from the Port Floor! When we stepped in the room, my family members all agreed that the room is the as its room type "deluxe". Its space is not the same as other typical hotels.
Also, the service team is really helpful. As my reserved room type, there is no non-smoking room available, they arranged an "air cleaner" as promised. Definitely appreciated. Next time, when we visit Osaka, will pay our visit to Hotel Universal Port!!!(≧∇≦)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cecilcube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Value for money hotel stay. We stayed for 5 nights during November 2013. When we arrive Kansai in the morning, we bought the Icoca & Haruka deal (4000Yen) took the JR Kansai Airport Rapid Service train to Nishikujo Station to change to Universal Station, get off here and exit the gates towards LEFT (towards UNIVERSAL CITY Shopping) and immediate LEFT again, you will notice a small lane (in between the station and Keihan Hotel) that leads to Universal Port Hotel that do not need you to carry your luggage down the staircase (if you turn right from the exit gates).

I picked up my pocket wifi package (sent in earlier by Global Advanced Communications) from the reception. We managed to leave our luggage with the concierge and did a pre-check in with the friendly hotel reception, cause check-in time is strictly 3PM. We pre-arranged and booked 2 quad rooms connecting to each other with their helpful staff a month ago. Very nice and comfortable rooms with 4 single beds each, high floors and facing Universal Studio. Really like the lift going up to our rooms. I particularly like the WC, kinda miss it when I got back.

Bought our Kaiyukan and Captain line cruise tickets at the ticket counter in the hotel, and had a great time there. The shopping at Tempozan Market place was nice, plenty of souvenirs to buy and food to savour, it’s a pity I didn’t have a chance to return. Also bought the Universal Studio tickets and express pass the next day at the ticket counter too in the morning before we journey over to the theme park. We went on the first day they started the Christmas celebration 2013. It was a wet morning, we have to buy raincoats at the gift shop downstairs for 300YEN each.

Enjoyed every night shopping and eating at the Universal City Walk, particularly like the Ramen shop on the top floor, ate there more than 3 times, and they do not entertain take away. Bought lots of drinks, food stuff and liquor at Lawson there, wines are amazingly cheap. Bought take-away Takoyaki at the museum almost every night, delicious !!! As well as last minute shopping at the Universal gift store, with discounts too.

Special thanks to the man and woman from concierge for providing us with the maps of where to go and trains to take. Didn’t know there were trains going to Osaka Station directly from Universal Station without changing in Nishikujo. Likewise from Osaka Station to Universal Station just have to check the schedule with them. We went to Namba from Nishikujo’s Hanshin Namba Line exchange (a different station next door to it). We also manage to go to Kyoto for a day trip, though it is quite confusing to navigate to a particular platforms in the bigger stations like Osaka or Kyoto Station and which train to take or NOT to take, when to line up along the LOOP “○”or EXPRESS “∆” sign!!??? Thank god I have my pocket wifi with me and the use of Hyperdia apps as well as google maps whenever I go out and venture Osaka.

Every morning we have our breakfast in the REX Café 1st. floor, their set breakfast are quite reasonable for a quick bite before going out to play. The staffs were very friendly and helpful.

We took the train (Kansai Airport Rapid Service) back to the airport when returning, taking the 7.01am train from Nishikujo (platform No. 4) only to find out that the train during that time was PACKED like sardines, we stand all the way to the airport with our luggage, even in the Women only train. CAUTION!! Make sure YOU ARE IN TRAIN number 1 to 4 carriage, these trains carriages will only go to Kansai Airport, trains number 5 till 8 will be uncoupled at Hineno Station and head towards Wakayama, TAKE NOTE and make sure you are in the correct train !!!!

Room Tip: Email to them to book early for choice of rooms facing theme park.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank scubadude9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Hotel Osaka Baytower
Hotel Osaka Baytower
#36 of 322 in Osaka
772 reviews
Kintetsu Universal City
#52 of 322 in Osaka
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universal Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universal Port

Address: 1-1-111 Sakurajima, Konohana-ku, Osaka 554-0031, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Osaka
#9 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#42 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $152 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Universal Port 3.5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL UNIVERSAL PORT is an official hotel of Universal Studios Japan®, located in Osaka ( Osaka Bayside ), close to Universal Studios Japan® and Osaka Aquarium Kaiyukan. Our room space is No.1 in the area and Wi-Fi use is complementary free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Universal Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Port Hotel
Universal Port Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing