We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel near universal studio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Universal Port
Ranked #7 of 312 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Okay hotel near universal studio”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel isn't very close to the station- compared to those three other hotels which are literally attached to the station.
If you consider the price, it's amazing what you get- especially considering the fact that you are in Japan. Amenities meets the 4star hotel standard with very modern technologies in toilet. However it smelled like urine when I tried to use it on arrival. It was disgusting but we checked in around mid night and were scheduled to awake early so expected to be better after next day's house keeping but nothing changed. I think they do not clean it with water since there are so many sensitive machines on the toilet. I don't care about the automatic openings and modern bidet but I do care about the cleanliness. The hotel must do something about the smelly toilet
Breakfast buffet was disappointing. Many dishes but in low quality. Nothing tasted okay- even the morning rolls were awful. But still it's a bargain even they weren't offering free breakfast
Plus they have coin laundry 100yen for 30min dry and 200yen for wash cheap but detergent was too expensive and dryer didn't dried anything after eating my three 100yens

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripmomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    530
    89
    32
    19
See reviews for
949
234
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Spent two nights in Osaka and we got a great deal for universal port. We had difficulty locating the hotel from the train station but apart from that we couldn't complaint about anything regarding this hotel, I mean this hotel is just great! Great location, great entertainment complex, close to train station. The room was clean, spacious, staff members were very helpful ..

I do feel like going to Osaka just to stay at this hotel again ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnielee_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 days, nice hotel near universal studio with reasonable price, 10-15 minutes to Osaka Station by train. Crossing channel by Captain boat bring you to kaiyukan aquarium and tempozan area where you can ride giant ferris. Near that you could visit a maritime museum.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agusman Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. This hotel is highly recommended to tourist that intend to go to USj, can be access by two paths. The hotel is just 2 min walk from JR Universal Studio station. However, going into Osaka city centre especially Namba/ Shinsaibashi and Shin Osaka is time consuming. Going from Shin Osaka usually required two changes of train and waiting time is about 5 to 20 min. However, the room is spacious, modern design. I was fascinated in small tank to blue jellyfish in front of the lift. Theres Universal Walk shopping centre nearby. Other than that there isnt anything to do nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itthinan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed here for a 10 day trip in June 2013. There are far more good points than bad points. The hotel is well organised, clean and modern. The rooms are spacious and we had a great view from the 11th floor into universal and across the city. It's quite a quiet place, in fact in the ten days I stayed there I think I only once shared the elevator with anyone and never met any fellow guests in the corridor. That said, the restaurants were always busy.

There was a train station literally 3 mins from the hotel along with all the offerings of Universal's city walk. (don't go expecting to see a city walk like that in Florida. It's tiny in comparison and sorta feels old). There some good restaurants and a Starbucks etc. The station gets you right into the centre of osaka.

Like most places in Osaka, pretty much nobody speaks English in the hotel. Even the reception staff are limited in their abilities to communicate with non Japanese. Having said that, we didn't find it a problem.

I think ten days is too long to stay in Osaka. Probably 3 or 4 days is enough and I would absolutely recommend the Universal Port hotel.

Oh, it was a bit annoying that there was no gym or pool. It's not a hotel where you can spend a lazy morning.

Room Tip: Stay on a High level ( maybe 9+ )
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleepyrascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Going to Osaka, Japan for the first time in our life would be a bit scary though for a family of five. With my wife and three children going for free n easy tour with basic Japanese crash course through iphone application but we found it very safe after all . We took 30minutes direct local bus ride from the airport to Universal studio-Japan which was 10 min walking distance to the hotel.As we check in to the hotel we were greeted pleasantly by the Receptionist both in Japanese n English,wow that was pleasant really .On the third day,we check out I bought tickets for the Ferry rides to the KAIYUKAN AQUARIUM N GIANT FERRIES WHEEL and the Ferry Terminal was just behind the hotel.Then from KAIYUKAN we took the train to Osaka City.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autosurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Through so many years of traveling, this is the only hotel that is able to provide four beds for parents and children without charging you legs and arms.

An excellent hotel, especially if you want to explore the Osaka port area (Haiyukan and Universal Studios Japan).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordhamlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Imperial Hotel Osaka
#6 of 312 in Osaka
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universal Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universal Port

Property: Hotel Universal Port
Address: 1-1-111 Sakurajima, Konohana-ku, Osaka 554-0031, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Osaka
#9 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#42 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Universal Port 3.5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Universal Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Port Hotel
Universal Port Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing