We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Universal Port
Ranked #7 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Great family hotel”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Through so many years of traveling, this is the only hotel that is able to provide four beds for parents and children without charging you legs and arms.

An excellent hotel, especially if you want to explore the Osaka port area (Haiyukan and Universal Studios Japan).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordhamlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    530
    89
    32
    19
See reviews for
945
234
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Spent 3 nights here after Kyoto and while it is a bit off from the main city areas, getting around from here was not difficult. From the Universal City JR, turn right and you will see the signage for Hotel Universal Port, a large yellow coloured building. Turn left and you will be headed towards the shops and restaurants lining the path towards Universal Studios.

We got a Superior Room - 3 single beds for 2 Adults and 2 Kids (10 years old) at around USD140 including breakfast. Mind you though that although we indicated 2 adults and 2 kids, breakfast coupons will only be based on the number of beds in the room. The front desk did explain that the breakfast coupons could also be used for dinner but I'll talk about that later.

The hotel, being an official Universal Hotel, had a theme park vibe from the tanks of fish behind the reception, to the jellyfish in the lift landings and various Jurassic Park dino elements. In fact the only English program on TV was Jaws stuck on replay which the kids watched with morbid fascination!

The room was welcoming with its bright hues, decent size and great compartmentalization of shower, wash basin and toilet. The assortment of amenities were very cute with bubble bath sachets being the kids' favourite. The beds were a bit soft, but otherwise comfy and our view looked out towards the sea. The reception did ask if we wanted to upgrade to bigger room and view of USJ for an extra USD26 but we did not think it was necessary since we would be out most of the time.

The family did not find the spread for the breakfast buffet that appealing so we opted to use the coupons for the dinner buffet instead. Adults needed to pay 1500 Yen more per person and 1 child below 12 got to eat for free. It was one of the BEST buffets that I have had, EVER and I am not exaggerating. Just the beef station itself was worth the price we paid! Bite-sized chunks seared on the outside and tender inside, we went back for more countless times until somebody reminded us that there were custard puffs and the chocolate fountain for dessert! Other stuff that we enjoyed at the buffet were the takoyaki, shabu shabu pork, ramen and torikaraage which the kids wolfed down happily with Japanese rice! For 3,000 Yen for our family, it was one of the best meals we had in Japan on this trip ;)

Aside from the hotel, it is worthwhile to take a look around the shops and restaurants outside. Starbucks, McDonalds, MOS Burger and heaps of Japanese restaurants, were reasonably priced (relative to Singapore prices) and there were 2 Lawsons to get supplies from. For a Moomin fan like me, I was super excited to find a Moomin Stand there selling merchandise, (overpriced) drinks and waffles.

For access to the airport, we were happy to find that we did not need to cart our bags up and down flights of stairs. From our JR Station, we dropped off at Nishikujo and caught the train to Kansai from there. However, we had to stand the whole 1 hour that the journey took and the train stopped at almost every station :( Make sure you ask the officer at the Universal Station to check up the train times for you and to see if there was a rapid train available.

If we came to Osaka again, we would definitely consider staying here again unless we did not bring the kids and wanted to be in the heart of Osaka action downtown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lagoontan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week and loved it. Good location as its right across the road from the JR station. Nice size room with a view of universal theme park. Went to toyko for two nights and came back to a tidy room. If I can find a fault and its more of a recommendation than a fault, but check-in could be earlier as alot of flights from europe get into osaka quite early and when you get to the hotel at 12pm and check-in is at 3pm, it doesn't help when all you want to do is rest for a bit. But I still would stay here agsin for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Booked last min directly using hotel website. Room is very cozy and modern. With customised packaging for their toiletries. Separate toilet and bath area. Close to USJ and some of the shops outside USJ. It's also near the port to take ferry to Kaiyuan Aquarium as well as the ferris wheel. Staff in the front desk was expressionless and doesn't smile. Was charged about half day room rate for checking in early. Ushers and bell captains were smiley and polite. Easy access to attraction tickets just at the lobby. Great for family as well as couple.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryl_Ariella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Perfect location across USJ. Stayed 3 nights. Room was sufficiently spacious and more importantly, clean. Even though it's away from the city centre, it takes slightly less than 15 minutes ride on the JR trains to reach the city centre. Pretty straight forward. For the savings you get versus staying in city centre hotels, it's worth considering.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank j_trio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Booked early through the hotel website and managed to get a standard king room at JPY 7,800.00 nett per night (without breakfast). A very comfortable stay as the room was spacious, clean and modern, had plenty of amenities, free wifi and "compartmented" bathroom (vanity, shower/bath, WC are separated).
There's only 1 English channel, though (Transformers 3 on repeat)
The hotel is just a short walking distance from Universal City JR Station (less than 5 minutes, luggage-friendly; too). There's plenty of restaurants (Hard Rock Cafe, Bubba Gump, etc) and convenience stores (Lawson, etc) outside the station (without needing to enter USJ).
We stayed here for 2 days. The 1st day after checking in, we took the ferry (Captain Line) to the aquarium (Kaiyukan). You can get it from the hotel's ticketing counter; we bought the ferry tickets (return trip) & entrance fee to the aquarium at JPY 3,300.00 per pax.
The 2nd day we headed to USJ. A friend from Japan has already helped us to get the USJ entrance tickets earlier so we did not get it from the hotel's ticketing counter.
Highly recommended if you are heading to USJ.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily-a-passion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel would be perfect, if it were located closer to central Osaka. It is mainly for families and school groups visiting Universal Studios. To get into the city, it's an extra 5-10 minute train ride every time (from the station just in fron tof the hotel). Even though we did not go to Universal Studios, we were happy to have the city walk just outside the hotel (Starbucks, TGI Fridays, McDonalds, Hard Rock). There is also a ferry to the aquarium directly from the hotel.

Our room was very large when compared to similarly-priced hotels in other parts of Japan. It also had a nice view of the park (the other side of the hotel overlooks the bay). This hotel is very international in its approach to services/amenities (re: this is not an authentic Japanese experience, it is more like a 3.5-star hotel in the US).

We also appreciated the roomy and clean bathroom, easy access to attraction tickets from the front desk, and the ample laundry room. We would stay here again, especially if we were planning a trip to USJ.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gburg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Imperial Hotel Osaka
#6 of 307 in Osaka
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universal Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universal Port

Property: Hotel Universal Port
Address: 1-1-111 Sakurajima, Konohana-ku, Osaka 554-0031, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Osaka
#9 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#42 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Universal Port 3.5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Rakuten, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Universal Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Port Hotel
Universal Port Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing