We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Universal Port
Ranked #8 of 298 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Location Location”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a quad room had a separate toilet from the bathroom which was great. We booked directly with the hotel and at the time it was the cheapest deal we could get including breakfast. Very convenient as we were going to Universal Studio. Close to station and eateries. Great Hotel if going to USJ.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzy062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    513
    88
    32
    19
See reviews for
890
222
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sassel, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a Deluxe room with harbor view. The Family rooms have Universal Studio views only. The harbor view is a lot more interresting.
From the hotel, there is a ship shuttle going to the Kaiyukan Aquarium. You can buy combined ticket (shuttle+aquarium) directly at the hotel.

Although we did not visited the Universal Studio's, this hotel was great for our 2 kids. The only paint point is reaching the hotel from Shin Osaka with big luggages and kids : Overcrowded JR lines with 2 changes or 4500 Yen taxi.

The hotel is 200 meter far from "Universal City" JR Station (JR passes are valid on this line). You can find also many restaurants around the station.

Breakfast buffet offer a huge Japanese and Western style choice. Dinner buffet has a more limited choice but is a 1/2 price after 21h30 (close at 22h30 or 23h00).

Laundry is available (200 Yen/load + 100 or 150 Yen for drying)

Really good hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hottelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Last year we went to Universal studio japan for the 1st time but the hotel we stayed on was 30mins.away fr.the universal so it was quite disappointed bec.my husband didn't know much of osaka's whereabout.But last aug,2012 we decided to visit again USJ coz my kids love to go there again.We were bookedin Hotel Universal Port under EASYBOOK.COM.To my surprise it was really great.Very convenient esp.when you visit USJ,it takes only 5mins.by walking&it's near in Universal city wherein you can eat diff.kinds of takoyaki.The room we stayed was very clean&they have free ice maker near the elevator.A vendor machine was installed on the 1st flr.w/assorted drinks w/c only cost 150yen.We brought a cooler box w/us & installed it in our room&filled it w/beverages w / ice ,to make it more convenient for us not to buy anymore on the 1st flr.The good thing was,they are not strict .The hotel provides a battery charger in case you want to charge your cellphone,200yen for 30mins.The staff were very hospitable&friendly.The hotel provides a universal pass,booklet 4&7 and if you stayed in their hotel you can avail a 10%discount on restaurant,200yen discount on pictures inside USJ.The parking fee is 2000yen per day.They offer also "KAIYAKU" where you can roam around by riding in a boat going to the Osaka aquarium, souvenir shop.Good hotel to recommend.

Room Tip: I requested the hotel staff to gives us rooms that my kids is near w/me&my husband since we tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arce-143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hotel is very nice and comfortable; it is a great choice if you plan to spend the day at the Universal Studio. The room is spacious, clean and modern. The breakfast buffet is also very nice with lots of choices.

Room Tip: A very nice hotel if you plan to spend the day at the Universal Studio nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Th room themed i got was the Cookie Monster room, it was sooo.. cute. Blue walls, cute tiny little chairs with a huge Cookie Monster push toy as big as my son who is 6 years old.
The room was so big and spacious, we had 4 super single beds, the view was spectacular as we had the entire view of the Universal Studios. The location was superb, just about 7 mins walking distance to the Universal Studios. Breakfast on the 2nd Floor was fantastic, they have a huge selection of western style buffet and another side was Japanese style. My kids and i enjoyed the stay in this hotel very much and its highly reconmended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The Hotel Universal Port is a wonderful facility and it has never disappointed during my frequent travels to Osaka, Japan. It is centrally located outside the main gate of Universal Studios Japan and was built to cater primarily to that attraction. Upon arrival, the location and the atmosphere of the facility reveal a culture mix of "Light Western meets the Eastern Orient in downtown Hollywood" vibe; while maintaining the unmatched level of amazing service and assistance only the Japanese can offer. The hotel is within walking distance to Universal Studios Japan, CityWalk (featuring western food options such as McD, Hard Rock Cafe and STARBUCKS), bus stops, the JR Loop Universal train station and a local ferry stop. The lobby is bright, spacious, making it easy to navigate for check-in and flow. Typical in Japan, the accommodations are available based on centimeters and feature various sizes based on party size and budget. The rooms are very quiet, clean, well lit and well-kept, offering many amenities (fridge, hot water dispenser, in-room safe, tv) to make for an enjoyable stay and a view from every window. The bathrooms are very modern and innovative. The beds are low to the floor with great pillows(!). The hotel offers multiple dining options, laundry facilities, WiFi (wired/wireless), lobby PC station, child play area, shops and much more - perfect for the 1-4 day experience. I HIGHLY recommend the Port for those in the area and/or new to traveling in Japan. It allows a light submersion into Nippon hotels without needing a translator. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Typical in Japan, the accommodations are available based on centimeters and feature various sizes ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClanHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

I definitely recommend this hotel for those who wants to visit Universal Studio Osaka, Japan. Its' right across the Train station. Walking to Universal Studio is very short and easy.

The room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was very nice.
Amenities was excellent for family with kids...

Happy to recommend this hotel...

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 298 in Osaka
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universal Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universal Port

Property: Hotel Universal Port
Address: 1-1-111 Sakurajima, Konohana-ku, Osaka 554-0031, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Osaka
#9 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#42 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Universal Port 3.5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Rakuten, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Universal Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Port Hotel
Universal Port Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing