We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place to stay if you're a youngster on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Mystays Otemae
Ranked #155 of 309 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“OK place to stay if you're a youngster on a budget”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Good location, cleanliness OK, very basic. Good if you are young person with not much money to spend. If you'd like to be comfortable, may be best to spend more and go elsewhere. Were given misinformation on front desk staff about events.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wm-otemae, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Mystays Otemae, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thak you very much for your stay at Weekly Mansion Otemae.
We're really glad to hear you.
We're very close to Nanba, Shinsaibashi and Umeda by metro.
It's available to walk to Osaka Castle for 15minutes from here. If you come to Osaka again, please stay with us.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    178
    79
    23
    14
See reviews for
111
84
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Weekly Mansion. Got a good rate for 5 nights for a twin room (no double at that price available). Short walk from station, showed map address at food store just outside station and they pointed us in the right direction. Apartment is in a quiet area, which suited us. 15 minute walk to Osaka Castle, which we enjoyed - particularly the gardens with local youths on a Sunday afternoon playing traditional music with a modern twist.

Staff at Weekly Mansion were helpful (particularly after my husband accidentally set off fire alarm while fiddling with the phone)! One lady at reception spoke very good english, the other staff not so much, but we always managed to make ourselves understood, and they supplied us with some local maps. Staff were horrified when we asked directions to walk to Den Den town. Too far they said, but we like walking and reached our destination in about 30 - 40 minutes. Walked pretty much everywhere and enjoyed it. Subway is also easy to use.

The room was good, a decent size, small cooking area which took a bit of juggling, but we managed fine. Ethernet cable computer access worked ok, a bit slow at times, but adequate. Good to have access to washing machines and dryers and easy to use. Yukata robes supplied, by far the most comfortable we had anywhere, unfortunately the ones for sale weren't these ones, so didn't buy! Toiletries provided, Shisheido shampoo, conditioner and body wash, as well as toothbrushes, toothpaste, mini hairbrushes etc - all you would need.

Room was clean, EXCEPT for the balcony!!! You will really regret going out there in bare feet, seems like it had never been swept ... ever!! That would be our only criticism! Lots of small foodstores nearby. We cooked our own breakfast each day, had lunch out, then went to foodstore to choose a great variety of Japanese food for evening meal which was pre-prepared and easy to reheat. In summary, a very good place to stay for people seeking privacy and value. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorrainePAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wm-otemae, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Mystays Otemae, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your stay ar Weekly Mansion Otemae.
We're glad to hear you.

We're sorry for balcony and we will ask cleaning staff to clean there regularly.
Did you enjoy at Den Den Town? It's called "Akihabara in Osaka". There are many electric shop , Game store and "Meido Cafe". I haven't been there yet but I will go near future.

If you have an apportunity to come to Osaka, please stay with us again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was the second time that I stayed at Weekly Mansion Osaka, the first time was in 2007. Funnily enough we stayed in the exact same room as last time, which sadly was a bit worse for wear. Slap-shod repairs were made to various parts of the room and one can see the hotel could do with some renovation.

Like last time, the general experience was great: very friendly and helpful customer service, beds that are comfortable enough, the apartments are just large enough to accommodate the people in it and the location is not bad either. We'd rented a three room studio for the five of us (two bachelors, a married couple and their kid).

The hotel does NOT have extra beds for small children. Either you let the kid sleep in a bed of his/her own, or you bring along something like the Quechau Junior sleeping bag (which integrates an air mattress).

Also, if you can, try to check pricing through the Japanese language website. We noticed that our studio was cheaper there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wm-otemae, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Mystays Otemae, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your second stay at Weekly Mansion Otemae but we're sorry for room condition.
It's not possible to prepare extra things to extra perosn under our company regulation. Sorry for your inconvenience and thank you very much for your understanding.
We will make more effort to make the guests stay with us be sutisfied.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

It is in a great location. Lovely room. I at first booked a studio room, but they upgraded me free-of-charge to a one-bedroom suite. I was alone, and it was HUGE. Shisedo toiletries provided, towels to be exchanged every day at Front Desk. Free internet (wired) provided. Opposite the hotel entrance is a Tac-q-bin courier service which is convenient if you want to courier your luggage to the next city you are going if it is too troublesome to drag it there yourself. (per suitcase is about 1300yen and delivery is about 1 day, and you can travel in comfort.) Lovely deal!

Room Tip: It is rather near the Police and Fire station, so you have the tendency to hear quite a lot of siren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaynaLee80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wm-otemae, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Mystays Otemae, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you very much for staying us. We are glad to hear that you were happy with your room. It was good luck of you; you got upgraded room for free! We have some good reviews about Shiseidou shampoo or body soap. There is a delivery company "Kuroneko ( black cat )" just across the street, however, we can take delivery service ( Japan Post ) at front desk as well (domestic service ONLY). So if you keep on traveling after Osaka, you can send your luggage to next hotel from here.

Thank you again for your stay.
Wish you have another chance to come to Osaka and see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Like others have said, it's a great location in Osaka close to the subway. Not too far out from the city centre or mainline stations but close enough to have shops in the neighbourhood. The area itself is a mixture of residential, restaurants and offices (up by the subway). There's also two supermarkets close by. One is two minutes walk away and the other is on the next block but is a lot cheaper for Japanese standards.

The staff are very friendly and all speak English, though only one seemed fluent, but it's more than enough to get by. The room is well equipped but there was a strong smell of tobacco in it (hence the 4* rating). As others have said it's not really made for tall people, but that's a problem in Japan overall.

The room was above reception but despite the fire station being nearby only heard noise from it a couple of times at night so could be a problem for light sleepers.

It's a great base to see Osaka, Nara, Koyasan and Koyto. We'd stayed in Koyto for much more and wished we'd stayed here and got the trains back and forth.

Would come back again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gonzague1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wm-otemae, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Mystays Otemae, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are not right in heart of Osaka city, but it can be nice to stay somewhere not always something happening around. It’s fun to shopping around in down town, but It is also good and relaxing to walk up to Osaka castle park which is only 15 mins walk from here! We are so sorry about the smell of tobacco.. All rooms are smoking here, but we could have got rid of the smell as much as we can before you check-in. If you wish to stay in a room which has deodorized please let us know in advance.
We are very looking forward to seeing you again when you come back to Japan.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Excellent location with just 5 mins walk from tanimachi-yung-chome station. It is also within walking distance to Namba station (15mins).

We stayed for an apartment with 4 pax, bathroom & bedroom is cozy and spacey for a Japaneses type of house, but they use the sofa bed for the 4 person in the living room, the sofa bed is too soft and not comfortable to sleep with, my friend is having a backache after few night sleep. Probably they should check and replace a new one if the sofa bed is out of the condition.

However i just love the apartment with full kitchenette facilities, we can buy foods from family mart nearby and re-hit in the apartment for our breakfast & supper, is really save up alot of cost.

The only lacking is there is no wifi, though there is LAN connection in the room, which may not be useful to Ipad or mobile phones.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennytsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wm-otemae, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Mystays Otemae, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us.
I feel sorry for your friend who could not have good sleep on sofa bed.. We do not have such review often, so we appreciate your feedback indeed. We are glad that you enjoyed fixing meals in your room. There are some super markets nearby and also there are some shops you can get imported stuff from overseas in Osaka, so you don’t need to worry about missing food in your country because you can cook here! Also, we are hoping to introduce WIFI to out hotel before long...

Thank you again for your stay.
Hopefully you will have another chance to stay with us.

Best regards,







Excellent location with just 5 mins walk from tanimachi-yung-chome station. It is also within walking distance to Namba station (15mins).

We stayed for an apartment with 4 pax, bathroom & bedroom is cozy and spacey for a Japaneses type of house, but they use the sofa bed for the 4 person in the living room, the sofa bed is too soft and not comfortable to sleep with, my friend is having a backache after few night sleep. Probably they should check and replace a new one if the sofa bed is out of the condition.

However i just love the apartment with full kitchenette facilities, we can buy foods from family mart nearby and re-hit in the apartment for our breakfast & supper, is really save up alot of cost.

The only lacking is there is no wifi, though there is LAN connection in the room, which may not be useful to Ipad or mobile phones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Excellent location with just 5 mins walk from tanimachi-yung-chome station. It is also within walking distance to Namba station (15mins). Could save roughly 230yen from the walk itself. Customer service speaks decent English, which made communication easy.
The only problem I had, was that the bed was too soft for my liking. Had backache towards the end of my stay there. Other than that, everything was good!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryychew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wm-otemae, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Mystays Otemae, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your stay. Yes, we do not provide shampoo, conditioner, and body soap if you stay mare than 7 nights with weekly contract. This is because we give good discount for weekly rate. If you stay with dairy contract, you can get all those things, but the price will be different, so you have choice. We are sorry for the carpet of the elevator. We should have paid much attention for it.

Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate it.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#26 of 309 in Osaka
765 reviews
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
APA Hotel Osaka Higobashi Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mystays Otemae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mystays Otemae

Property: Hotel Mystays Otemae
Address: 1-3-2 Tokuicho, Chuo-ku, Osaka 540-0025, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mystays Otemae 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live in Osaka the way you want, with the castle just around the corner. Families, groups, and single travelers looking for a bit of space are bound to find a guest room they love once they see our wide selection of spaces. Many rooms are even equipped with their own separate kitchen rooms. Choose one of the rooms with a tatami mat area and relax at home, just like the Japanese do! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MYSTAYS HOTEL MANAGEMENT Co., Ltd., Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mystays Otemae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weekly Mansion Osaka At Otemae Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing