We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
eka budi U
Jakarta, Indonesia

It’s okay, It’s cheap

Review of Hotel Taiyo
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 30, 2017via mobile
If you have minimum budget, I recommand this hotel. The room’s quite good, but smells weird. You can choose the type of room. If you choose room with toilet, yep just toilet for poo or pee. The shower room is for sharing outside your room.
You can easyly find this hotel. It is located near Dobutsu mae subway station and JR Shin Imamiya station

P.s the room smells like “Dedek Ayam”
Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$46
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $45
  • Vio.com
    $47
1.4 miles from Hotel Taiyo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
キング
$166
  • Vio.com
    $125
  • Expedia.com
    $135
  • Rakuten Travel
1.4 miles from Hotel Taiyo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
スカイスパ
$126
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $75
  • Vio.com
    $84
1.5 miles from Hotel Taiyo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$114
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $121
  • Skyscanner.com
    $90
  • Vio.com
4.0 miles from Hotel Taiyo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ラグジュアリーツイン/Luxury Twin
$75
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    $72
  • Hotel Website
3.9 miles from Hotel Taiyo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$49
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    $46
  • KLOOK
    $38
  • japanican.com
    $53
2.4 miles from Hotel Taiyo
Free Wifi
Pool
$161
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • KLOOK
    $129
  • Expedia.com
    $146
4.1 miles from Hotel Taiyo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$54
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    $46
  • Expedia.com
    $55
3.6 miles from Hotel Taiyo
View more hotels in Osaka
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveler rating
31
98
104
23
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
31
98
104
23
16
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 272 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2017

very convenient, 1 mins to metro rail. 10 mins walk to big shopping centre.
with convenient store nearby.
Room is reasonable, no private toilet. common bathroom and toilet is average, hygiene is acceptable.
But sound insulation is bad, morning will wake up by other room users and street noise.

Room tip: common bathroom on 1/F to 3/F only
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 18, 2017

Located near Shin Imamiya and Dobutsuen Mae stations. There is a well-equipped shared kitchen facility and can be used by guests. Very helpful especially for travelers who are very consider spending.
Although the rooms are not too spacious but clean enough. There is a fridge, heated air conditioning and television.
The bathrooms are shared on the first and second floors but there are toilets on each floor. On the first floor there is a traditional Japanese bathroom that is used with turns schedules for men in the afternoon and women in the evening.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prastrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 2, 2017

If you are on a budget and is just looking for a cheap place to stay in Osaka while you discover the city; I recommend you consider Business Hotel Taiyo.

Pros:
1. Near cheap, affordable but yummy food; also near wet market and 711, or Family mart
2. Easy to find; one train ride away from Dotonbori
3. Interesting neighborhood - there's a quaint, old coffee shop from around the corner where you can get cheap breakfast. A few reviews indicated that this is not the "safe side" of Osaka hence there are a lot of cheap accommodations here; but honestly; my local neighborhood is more dangerous than Nishinari-Ku. Yes, there's the occasional drunk and vagrant but still safe.
4. Near a very large Donki outlet (just across the street); so if you don't like jostling through the crowds at the Donki in Dotonbori, just shop here
5. There's a nice kitchen/living room/lounging area at the ground floor where Wifi is good
6. Friendly, English speaking staff
7. Coin operated laundry which I tried (very easy to use)
8. You can cook using their kitchen (just clean up after). with free coffee every morning!

Cons:
1. The rooms are passable at best: dust on nooks and crannies, no garbage service, no in-room shower and toilet. There's a toilet per floor but showers are located on the Ground floor up to the third floor. Note, toilets are clean, heated and with bidet. No wait times. I actually loved the toilets because they are clean, even if they are shared. The showers are another story - they are a bit grimmy and there are no shower hooks. But no wait times also. There are sinks where you can brush your teeth but water is cold (especially during winter!)
2. Dusty, lack of upkeep on hallways (in our floor, there's an old couch/day bed just lying there, accumulating dust)
3. Wonky wifi signal in the room; so you have to go downstairs to get good signal

Very interesting hostel; if you're not too picky and you're not too particular about dusts, stay here and use your money to see more of Osaka

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luna_Shin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 4, 2017 via mobile

I visit this hotel for more than 5 times(over 30 nights) during these 4 years.
It was located just next to the subway station. And there are lots of great restaurants around there.
I love the public bath,,after a whole day walking outside,take a hot bath will be the best choice.
And there are refrigerator and air conditioner in the room , for me, it's totally enough.
I'll visit hotel Taiyo next time when I go Osaka again. I love here and already get used to it with these 4 years.
這幾年來,造訪過太洋旅館好多次,以後也會一直選擇這裡
位置在地鐵站出口旁非常方便,又有大澡堂,一天疲勞下來洗個熱水澡真的很棒!
房間內有冰箱和冷氣,已經可以滿足一個背包客的需求,而且價格又非常的便宜,真的是非常推薦!!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank HYiL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 29, 2017 via mobile

I know it's a cheap hotel but still... It was so dirty and gross! Roaches crawling on the walls, dirty floors, filthy bathroom. I was so grossed out that I decided to sleep with my outside clothes on. If you can afford it stay away from this place.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 363mayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews