We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Friendly Hotel”
Review of Hotel Taiyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Taiyo
Ranked #157 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Utica, New York, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Budget Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 8 nights, it is a 2 star hotel with a very hind and helpful staff, The rooms are not large but enough space you need, TV, free Wi-Fi, A/C and refrigerator available. The showers and toilets are shared, but never you have to wait for service. The location is very very close to metro stations which connect you to every place you want to go.
Considering the fee, hotel Taiyo is one of the best solutions.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shahram_Saeedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    86
    93
    22
    14
See reviews for
15
60
75
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days

(+)
- Good value for money
- Provide simple toiletries in the bathroom
- Nice bathroom on the second floor
- Near subway and railway stations
- Helpful staff
- Serve breakfast with additional cost

(-)
- The room itself is not really clean, the tv table is dusty when we enter the room. I clean it, however it is full of dust again on the second day.
- Can not even ask for a room cleaning although we stayed for 3 nights.
- It has unique tatami smell
- Need to hand in room keys to the staff when you want to go out
- The futon is not very clean as I feel itchy when I am in the room
- The wifi in our room is extremely slow

Room Tip: Tips - First and second floor hallway usually has cigarette smell, better choose higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strawberry2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is a very good hotel if you are looking for a cheap, convenient few nights stay. Extremely friendly staff with great service. The staff speaks very good English and helped us a lot, they help us to find right train line, book a restaurant and so on.The location is good but the area is a little bit rough if you compare to rest of Japan and reminds of a inner city ghetto.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I saw a big, black color spider in my room during my stay there!!! I kept my composure and managed to get the spider out within minutes. Apart from this incident, there was nothin that disturbed my stay here. The location is close to train station and family mart is nearby too. I would recommend this hotel for its value for money and its location. Oh yeah, don't forget to visit Spa World too. It's about 10-15 minutes of walking from this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Luginto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
103 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

You get what you pay for! Cheap but reasonable!

Pros, fridge, easy access to subway, bike rental, staff English o.k.free Japanese bath, 24hr, only 2 stops to Nanba st.

Cons, only 2 shared toilets each floor, mostly squat t. small rooms w thin walls,only 1elevator, shower on the 1st and second floor, the worst kitchen in Japan probably, not much on tour info!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backpackmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We took a wrong turn finding this hotel and ended up in Nishinari, one of Japan's slum districts! I thank god for that - what a place! A Japan hidden from the public eye. So if you stay at Hotel Taiyo, make sure you walk down to Nishinari even if for a few minutes.

The hotel itself is somewhat clean, though there was a lingering smell of some kind in the room. The floor sleeping arrangement is nothing to complain about. The shared toilets were not so clean, but thats a thing about Osaka. Its aging faster than the other cities and it shows.

Shinimamiya JR Station is a short walk (5 mins) and so is the Metro. Plenty of supermarkets all around.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end of the corridors have poor wi-fi. Choose one near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinksaturday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The hotel was nice, the traditional rooms are cool. They give you robes and towels which is pretty good for a cheap hotel. The atmosphere is very nice, and the people working on the desk are kind. The Japanese style rooms are very cool.

The location is awesome! Close to Shinimamiya, Dobutsuenmae and Tennoji stations.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel. We couldn't have asked for anything better, and couldn't believe how cheap it was! The bathrooms were all good and clean and the shower worked better than many expensive hotels in Australia.

I don't normally write reviews, but this hotel emailed me when they found my lost wallet, and then sent it back to Australia for me for free! How amazing is that?! Awesome people and I will definitely stay here again (I have to pay them back somehow because they won't let me pay for shipping)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelmate1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Business Hotel Mikado
Business Hotel Mikado
#84 of 307 in Osaka
196 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Business Hotel Chuo
Business Hotel Chuo
#75 of 307 in Osaka
221 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Business Hotel Shinbashi
Business Hotel Shinbashi
#241 of 307 in Osaka
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel  Sun Plaza Two
Hotel Sun Plaza Two
#252 of 307 in Osaka
85 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Raizan Kitakan
Raizan Kitakan
#141 of 307 in Osaka
66 reviews
For Leaves Inn Nagai
#215 of 307 in Osaka
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taiyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taiyo

Property: Hotel Taiyo
Address: 1-2-23 Taishi, Nishinari-ku, Osaka 557-0002, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Taiyo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Taiyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taiyo Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing