We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kaneyoshi Ryokan
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Osaka(Osaka)
$318
$293
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$248
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$155
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$153
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$217
$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$305
$233
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka(Osaka)
$226
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$253
$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$273
$145
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$527
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
72
61
18
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
61
18
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstatami matstraditional roomwestern bathroomtable and two chairsjapanese homedotonbori canaljapanese breakfastjapanese style hotelexcellent place to staycommunal bathhot showernight lifewithin walking distancebreakfast spreadgreen teaair conditioninglarge room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 158 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed 1 night in this Ryokan after reading the reviews here. I would have to say I disagree with the views expressed here. It's an old, tired Ryokan and I had a most uncomfortable stay. The only good thing I can say is its good location and proximity to Dotombori. The price is very expensive, food is average and the Japanese bath is old and not well maintained. Fortunately we only stayed for 1 night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MagicBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

wish I could have stayed longer. Great location in the heart of Dotombori and 2 mins walk from Nipponbashi Tube station. the rooms were big, traditional and clean. The staff was so helpful, going above and beyond what was expected. The evening guy at the desk helped us plan our journey to the airport the following day and we didn't even ask him. Great value for money, we will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurence_baillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and I chose this ryokan for a few reasons...including ease of access and proximity to Osaka sites. I really wanted a traditional place to stay and he really wanted a Western bathroom attached to the room. This ryokan offered both and we absolutely loved it!

February is pretty chilly in Osaka but much more mild than the New England weather we're used to, and surprisingly it snowed about 3 out of the 6 days we were there (very unusual!). The in-room units may be older, but they work like a charm and our room was toasty and comfortable in a matter of minutes. The staff was wonderful and the front desk clerk gave us cute erasers when we checked out.

This hotel is right in the heart of Osaka and close to a Subway station, and is easily accessible from the airport. We spent 2 nights in Osaka before moving to Kyoto for the next 4 nights, and we knew that after getting off of a plain we would really want some comfort and relaxation. We were so glad we chose this place and were sad to leave, but we'll definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brittany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This is well located in Dotombori. The service was great, the staff were very helpful and friendly. They made a real effort to assist where they could, and also provided umbrellas to us during our stay. Each day they put iced tea or water in your rooms and make the room for you.
The interior of the rooms appears to have remained unchanged since the 70's when they look to have been installed. The place is very tired (ripped wall paper, water marks, the oldest air conditioning unit (built in) I hve ever seen). Everything works well, and is clean and comfortable just old and tired. As my husband said it looks pretty good at night with "mood" lighting when you can't see the reality of the light of day.
A computer is available in the lobby for internet access (no wireless in the rooms).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poppy500NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We chose Kaneyoshi Ryokan based on Trip Advisor reviews and were so glad we did. The room was generously sized for Japan and well presented. When we got there, it was set up with chairs and a table topped with snacks and chilled drinks. In the evening, the staff set up the Japanese style beds. I found the mattress a little thin but there were enough spares in the cupboard to add another. The beds were packed away when breakfast was set up in our room. And the breakfasts! The table was laden with delicious Japanese food. In the 3 nights we stayed there, we didn't come close to finishing it all. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the hotel itself is extremely well located. We will definitely return to Osaka and will stay at Kaneyoshi Ryokan when we do.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katherine89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews