We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great price!”
Review of Dotonbori Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dotonbori Hotel
Ranked #7 of 321 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and found it to be really good. We booked through Japanican website and paid about 8,000 yen for 2 people per night, which was cheaper than what was on the hotel website. There is free internet in the lobby (2 computers) and free internet in the room if you have your own computer, also free bottled water in the room which is nice. Rooms are small, so don't expect too much, but they are very clean. They are good for sleeping, but you would not want to spend too much time in them. Bathrooms are also small, but very clean.

Staff were helpful, they speak english and can store your luggage. There are vending machines on a few floors. We had breakfast one morning for 900 yen each, but probably not worth it. There is a convenience store (Lawsons) next door which is handy.

Location is good, near the night life and entertainment area. Also close to JR Namba and Namba stations (5-10 minute walk). Look for the big stone heads out the front of the hotel!

Would stay here again for the price!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicken_features
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
There are newer reviews for Dotonbori Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 617 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2009

We will be back again for sure, like the reviews say you have a 24 hours convenient store across the road (Family Mart) has bentos and a variety of food and snacks should you be hungry at very reasonable prices. Subway is only minutes away and when you get there from Kansai airport is only a few minutes walk to the hotel. You are also at the doorstep to many restaurants of Dotonbori. Shinsaibashi is also a short walk away. Now the Staff are helpful and friendly as we were tired and waited in the lobby but they told us our room was ready at around 2:30pm which is half an hour early. We opted for the Japanese style room and the futons were very comfortable. There is a room equiped with ice, vending machine(good for a nice hot drink) and a microwave should you need to heat food(note you have an option to have your food nuked at the convenience stores.) Our rooms had all we needed such as toiletries and slippers, lcd tv, internet lan which is free thank god so we could communicate abroad. Although the rooms are small we managed and advise you not to carry a big suit case or alot of luggage if you do a bit of travelling.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TouristWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

I'm a repeat customer of this hotel. Highly recommend this hotel as it is value for money. The ladies pack is exactly what you get when you stay at Sheraton Grande Disneyland.
This time, I had a bleeding nose. I was scared to be in the room, so I went to the lobby. The staff could see that I was bleeding non-stop. They were very attentive. The male staff brought me a glass of water & a bag of ice. It bleeded more than an hour. There were two female staff, one helped by trying to contact my travel insurance. But no luck.. One number was disconnected, the other was engaged after few attempts.
The female staff suggested to go to the hospital as she explained only doctors in hospitals can speak English (NOT THE CASE). After some convincing by her, I agreed to be taken the hospital. I thought it would cost an arm & a leg (NOT THE CASE), because the staff asked how much would I be prepared to spend.
The female staff had called an ambulance, after some discussion b/w ambulance officer, the ambulance officer recommended the hotel staff to come along to translate due to NO DOCTORS can speak English. Instead the female staff got another younger female staff member to come with me. When we arrived, the young female staff was very attentive and accompanied me all the way & back to the hotel.
I'm very grateful to all the staff at the hotel, especially to all the staff who has helped me through this ordeal being in a foreign place & cannot speak their language. I appreciated what they did for me and cannot thank them enough.
Excellent value, room is small as expected. I even suggested to the young female staff the bathroom needs to be bigger. When compared to the other hotels I had stayed in Japan.
They have free internet access in the lobby...only 1 computer, everyone was very considerate so didnt wait long.
Across the road is a convenient store and chemist. Close to all amenties.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pomoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

Cute room with lots of amenities like slippers, robes, tea, and a little desk with an internet cable (there's, like, no wireless internet in Japan!). Also nice lotions and such in the bathroom. And a fridge. The decor is kind of tropical but clean looking.

The only major drawback was we couldn't get a double bed room - I wanted a window and my beau wanted nonsmoking so we went with the twin beds with a pillar in the middle of the room. (The hotel website is very clear about the rooms.) It was a little tight with our big suitcases, but perfectly roomy for Japan. Oh, also you have to walk by a lounge/restaurant with smoking to get to the front desk, but that might change - Osaka was in the process of changing the smoking rules.

The minor flaws in the room were a small tear in the wallpaper on the pillar, and the floor crackled a bit in one spot when we walked on it - it's a thin false-wood veneer over some other surface.

Location was great too - right in Dotonbori, but on a quieter block. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erink_pgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2009

Small room but very, very clean. Great location, a few minutes walk from the nightlife yet very quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDonster69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2008

We booked 2 rooms - twin and triple, and considered it a value for money stay. Stayed a total of 4 nights.Easy access from JR Namba and the OCAT building too. The hotel staff recommended that we took the airport bus (from OCAT building) for our returned flight from Kansai Airport. Another cost savings if you're travelling on budget. The bus brings you directly to the area for checkin, saving us great amont of energy lugging our luggages. Eatery and shopping areas are nearby. Staff are helpful, providing us with great information, especially for access to places of interest. Overall, we're happy with the services and our stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank honeymeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2008

We stayed here for only 3 nights and I wish it could have been more. The twin room (with pillar) was small but really only a little smaller than the place we stayed at near Sydney airport and it had all the essentials plus a few unexpected extras too. The bathroom was very small but everything you needed was there and the space wasn't an issue.

The location was great. Close to the subway and an easy train ride into the city plus the the area had a great vibe to it. This was my first trip to Japan and my first few nights were spent there. My only regret was that it wasn't for longer.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mellor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 321 in Osaka
1,398 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#23 of 321 in Osaka
792 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#19 of 321 in Osaka
1,933 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Red Roof Plus Osaka Namba
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dotonbori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dotonbori Hotel

Address: 2-3-25 Dotombori, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0071, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Osaka
#13 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#27 Best Value Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $111 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dotonbori Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dotonbori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dotonbori Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing