We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but tiny room”
Review of Dotonbori Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dotonbori Hotel
Ranked #7 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The location is really good, few minutes walking distance from the hotel to the shopping center.

However rooms are extremely small, I was a bit shock when entering the room and request if I can pay for an upgrade, but even other rooms are bigger in size, the bathroom is horrible, I can only hardly turn and move inside the bathroom. If you are tall or fat, you will regret for choosing this hotel. Bathroom amenities and hair dryer are avaliable.

Service is excellent! I like their anticipatory service such as coffee & tea refreshment at lobby, charger, adapter is deliver in a timely manner upon request.
A welcome pack is presented upon check in which includes cleaning and skin care item, it's specially good for ladies. Most staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smile C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, FRONT STAFF at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us! Expect A small room, We are very happy to hear your good answer! We do hope you come to stay us again!!

Doutonbori Hotel Staff ishii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 631 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

I traveled to Osaka last November with my husband and another couple. We made this hotel our choice after reading the reviews here. We have no regrets making this hotel our choice.
This hotel is very conveniently located, be it for food or transportation. Shopping area is just 5-10 minutes stroll away.
This hotel also provides lots of freebies : 1) free phone calls back home; 2) free massage chairs available at lobby; 3) free usage of weighing machine at lobby, in case you are afraid of overweight luggage.
Rooms are clean & comfortable, though tiny in size, but this is a standard expectation of hotels in Japan. English speaking staff available. Hotel provides yummy and nutritious breakfast...that made us fully charged before proceeding with our activity of the day....2 thumbs up!!!
I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for convenience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your positive review. It seems that you have liked everything about Dotonbori Hotel. We are glad you have taken advantages of our free services, which are not provided in most hotels. Our breakfast menus change constantly accordingly to our customer's needs. You may see a different menu next time you come. We are expecting to see you again in the future. Thank you again for your time to share your opinion with us.

Sincerely,

Hamada
Dotonbori Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Its all about its location. The room is small, even in osaka standard. The bed's rather uncomfortable. The decor's rather dated. But its rate is quite a bargain n there r loads freebies like wifi, kids toothbrush etc etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maizebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank yuo for your review.
We truly value your comments as we can only grow better with feedback from guests like yourself.
Once again thank you for sharing with us and hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you.

Sincerly,

Reception: Orio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I stayed for two nights in mid April. We stayed on the 8th (top) floor in a semi-double room with ensuite.
The location was great, right in the middle of the entertainment district of Nanba. The only issue we had with the location was that there are no nearby 7/11's so this made it difficult to withdraw money.
The room was small as is typical in Japan, and the only specified luggage space is under the bed. This was an issue for us as we were staying in Japan for 4 weeks and had large luggage that didn't fit. This was very inconvenient. However it would be no problem for people with small to medium luggage.
The staff were pleasant, however it was rather annoying having to return the key every time you leave the hotel.
One of our favourite things was the buffet breakfast for just over 800 yen per person. Absolutely superb. A nice mix of both Japanese and Western breakfast. We tried this on our first morning and HAD to go back for more the next morning.
Overall it was a convenient and pleasant stay, however we wouldn't go out of our way to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahBethany9192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロントデスク at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving your review.
As you wrote,rooms are small size.
Dotonbori hotel is built for 40 years ago as Japanese budget hotel.
Although,Room size can not be expanted,
Our facility has been renovated from a few years ago.
I regret your decision.
If you have chance to visit,you will welcomed by us.

Frontdesk:Sakamoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed for two nights in the beginning of April. Rooms are dmall like the rest of Japan. Great central location. Close to Namba Station and OCAT if you're taking the airport bus. Has a 24 hour mini mart right across the street. Free coffee and tea in the lobby with computers and a really good massage chair. The let you even call home for a couple of minutes for free. Very helpful front desk staff. Will help give you directions to practically anywhere in Osaka. Breakfast isnt free but worth the proce as we didnt find any restaurants close by that opened for breakfast. Good variety and choices for breakfast. Overall enjoyed staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javeed04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review. We appreciate your positive opinion. Our lobby is quite popular since it has many free services. Some people spend the time till very late at night. Traveling in Osaka can be very confusing. That's why our staff are glad to give you the directions. There are actually quite a few restaurants near by for breakfast. However, we recommend our hotel breakfast especially for travellers, since it has both Western and Japanese style food. Thank you again for staying at Dotonbori Hotel. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Hamada
Dotonbori Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel located very convinently at Namba station, which is closed for everything. They offer free gift sets for lady, free drinks (coffee, hot tea, etc) which is important in winter. They also offer free wifi, printer service, free calls to home, wii, movies, etc.

The most drawback is the hotel's hard bed and pillow made me can't sleep, especially during the 1st night. If you are staying one to two day its OK. If stay longer and travel with one-day or 2 day pass, i will suggest to stay with other hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenny649ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Dotonbori Hotel.
Sleeping in a confortable bed and pillow is one of our highest priorities. However, we are very sorry to hear that strictly selected bed and pillow did not meet your expectations.
Thank you again your honest feedback. We always attempt to solve any guest situation to ensure their comfortable and look forward to your return.

Sincerly,

Reception; Orio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights, the hotel location is very good, 5 minutes walk to Osaka Namba station, and perhaps 10 minutes walk to OCAT station and JR. 5 minutes walk from Dotonbori Street where you can get all the signature Osaka cuisine, and about 10 minutes walk to Shinsaibashi as well as Nipponbashi. There is a convenient shop opposite of the hotel, which is a bonus.
Regarding the service, basically they prepared everything you need, hot towel upon arrival, free beverage and massage chair in the lobby, free wifi, you can purchase the Osaka 1 or 2 day pass from the hotel, and they prepare umbrella for you in a rainy day, and for ladies they give skin care packs as well. These services saved a whole lot of hassle of us.
The hotel staffs are incredibly helpful, as we don't know Japanese and we have quite some problem to ask for direction from locals, the easiest way is to consult the hotel staff, their English might not be very good, but for us that's the best we can get in Osaka :)
For the room and toilet, it's really small, anyway for the good service provided, we can live with it. And still looking forward to come back to this hotel in future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eden_lwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロントデスク at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us your comment.
The hotel is built in the middle of the city.
It will be easy if you have plan to visit Kyoto,Nara,Kobe.

We are looking forward to your visit next time.


Receptiondesk:Sakamoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 333 in Osaka
1,413 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#25 of 333 in Osaka
801 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#19 of 333 in Osaka
1,955 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Red Roof Plus Osaka Namba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dotonbori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dotonbori Hotel

Address: 2-3-25 Dotombori, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0071, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Osaka
#13 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#23 Best Value Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $106 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dotonbori Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dotonbori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dotonbori Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing