We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service from the Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dotonbori Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dotonbori Hotel
Ranked #16 of 298 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Service from the Staff”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Arrived at the hotel @ ~8pm and was greeted promptly by a middle aged gentleman @ the front desk. He was unable to find my reservation even though i had the reservation slip with me. Even though he was sweating a little, he still had a smile on his face as he went about attempting to resolve the problem.
30 mins later he came back and offered me a smoking room with a discount,(booked for a non-smoking room) with the option of moving to a new room the next day. Decided against moving as the smell was not overpowering and the hassle was just not worth it.

I was very satisfied with the efficiency that the staff had shown.
The amenities provided was beyond what normal hotels in osaka would provide.
The staff speaks english well so communication was a breeze.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MingAderf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロントデスク at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in a Dotonbori hotel.
We really must apologize things that could not find a record of your reservation.
Despite there was such a thing,we are pleased that you satisfied with service and staff.
If you can have opportunity to stay in this hotel,I think "That's a welcome news."

Frontdesk:Sakamoto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    232
    56
    4
    1
See reviews for
112
192
54
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay in the Namba/Shinsaibashi area of Osaka. Easily accessed from the Namba station on the Midosuji subway line.
It is in a great location, close to the Shinsaibashi shopping strip and very close to great restaurant and entertainment locations.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are the standard Japanese small bathrooms.
There is wifi access in the rooms as well as in the lobby. There is also an Ethernet cable for internet connection in the room as well as iPhone and USB phone chargers on the desk.
You can make international phone calls free of charge in the lobby which is very convenient.
Vending machines can be found in lobby and on every second floor.
Scales are available in the lobby.
A lawsons station convenience store is located directly across from the hotel.

I found it easiest to get to Kansai airport by taking a bus from the OCAT terminal which is located by the JR Namba station. This will cost around 1100 yen for a one way trip to the airport. The OCAT terminal is approx. 7-10 minutes on foot.

The staff speak excellent English and are very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_S_085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Everything you have said is the reason our hotel is popular among tourists. For example, the location is just right for all the activities in Namba area. Rooms are extra clean because our staffs take extra care of them. The availability of free international calls is part of our services. Our staffs are trained to speak multiple languages because we have many tourists coming from all over the world. We hope you enjoyed your stay and the trip to Japan. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Hamada
Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed in dotonbori hotel with my wife and five year old kid for five days. As a traveller who speaks close to no japanese, Dotombori hotel was a wonderful choice for two reasons: the excellent location, and the very friendly English and Chinese speaking staff.

Location wise, the hotel is only 5 min on foot to Shinsaibashi, one of the most popular shopping spots. It is also 5 min away from the namba station, which makes it exceptionally convenient to travel around Osaka. Meantime, the hotel is literally surrounded by great local restaurants as well as a very handy McDonalds. Food was certainly not a problem during our stay.

Personally, the staff's fluency in English and Chinese made a real difference for us. It certainly took away the "scare factor" of checking into a hotel in a foreign country. Also, it allowed us to ask for directions and make room requests without hesitation... unlike the last time we travelled to Japan and stayed in a hotel with no English speaking staff.

In terms of room, it had everything (except perhaps space, as of all accommodations in japan). The complimentary stuff for the kid was a nice touch. The only complaint we had was that the bathroom had a very persistent odor (to which the hotel provided an odor removal spray, thank you) ... which lowers the ratings by one star. Other than that, we would certainly come back again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoryaplh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review. We are so pleased you thought of us so highly.

We are very sorry to hear that the bath room had a trouble but assure you we all strive to ensure the quolity of the hotel is the best possible.
Thank you for your feedback on that and suggestions are always welcome.

We look forard to your next visit in the near future.

Sincerly,

Reception; Orio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Dotonbori exceeded our expectations. We arrived early in the morning and were surprised we could check in when normal check-in is in the afternoon. Many value-added servies such as computer and printer for use at the lobby for printing locations/sites, wi-fi in rooms with clear instructions, umbrellas for ready use when raining.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロントデスク at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Dotonbori hotel.
We think that almost the traveller is to be tired for long distance flight when they arrived.
Therefore,our rooms will be ready as possible before normal check in time.
We can also hold the luggages at reception desk,if rooms are not available.
As you wrote,many different kind of services can be offered until check out day.
Like this,we respond to offer with comfortable space for guest.
If you have chance to visit someday,we hope you will remember Dotonbori Hotel.

Frontdesk:Sakamoto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang
Level Contributor
146 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel is very strategically situated at the heart of osaka. It is just 2 min walk from Namba subway and similar distance to bus station to Kansai airport and shinsaibashi shopping street. The symbolic hotel front pillars made this hotel a landmark.
The lobby is set up to welcome hotel guest for dining and socializing as it offers online services, free drinks, and travel information. The front desk was attended by extra helpful staffs who among them speaks fluent English and mandarin.
Checking in was brief. Rooms that we had were reasonable in size. Beds are good with choices of pillows. Comforter was a bit small for tall person, and air conditioning was efficient. The toilet is standard size (small for tall guests).
Doing laundry was convenient and detergent was free. There were vending machines as well in that area which are set up in levels 5 and 7.
I would definitely stay there again let it be for work or vacation.

Room Tip: Try to stay at 5 and 7 floor if need to do laundry. There are some rooms which have pillar in the mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kt_malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear customer,

Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review. The four pillars you have mentioned is intended to welcome different races from all over the world. Because we have so many foreign guests, we have staffs that speak different languages. Our lobby is very popular for socializing. We also hold events every week. We hope you have enjoyed all of our services. We will definitely welcome you again for your next visit.

Sincerely,

Hamada
Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had a small room, but space was adequate. All the amenities were provided. Free coffee, tea and water at the lobby. There is free use of massage chairs at the lobby. The best was there is free 5-10 min call to your home country everyday from the lobby. All the good restaurants are just a few minutes walk away. There are also a couple of good restaurants just along the street. The train stations and shopping areas are all accessible and just a few walks away. Check-in and check-out were both very fast and hassle-free. The guide book that they give their guests is very helpful. There is nothing I could complain about.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenabremd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write this review.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Our location has been raved about by many people and we are lucky to be where we are.
Thank you for your feedback on our service and we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another enjoyalbe stay.

Sincerly,

Reception; Orio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
143 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

First, the location of this hotel is GREAT. We come from Kansai Airport by Nankai eletrical train. Following the access map on the hotel's website, we find the hotel without any problem. But I don't find elevator in No. 25 exit and we have to walk several stairs with our luggage. If you're carrying huge luggage, you may have to find another exit with an elevator. The hotel is rather close to the shopping and restaurant area. The subway station is also quite close.

The hotel also offers a lot of free stuffs. Free wifi, free rental bicycle, free rental laptop, free 5 minutes international call, free facial care to female customers and etc. Especially, I love the guide provided by the hotel. It listed the transportation methods to main sights in Osaka as well as ways to major cities (Kyoto, Kobe, Nara...) nearby. This guide is also available in PDF format on the hotel's website which is very useful for planning the trip.

In Japan, normally the hotel room is small. Our semi-double room is 13 square meters and holding a bed of 140cm. We can hardly move in the room when we open our suitcase...But it's OK since most of the time we're outside and enjoy the Osaka city.

To conclude, this hotel is a nice choice for those who want to enjoy the Osaka city and have a nice food and shopping around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca_Luo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロントデスク at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us your comment from China.
We are delighted that you were spending nice time.
This year is getting cold more than last year.
So every Tuesday,we hold the event which can have "ODEN".
ODEN is one of the most famous meal in Japan,especially we have them in Winter.
Like this,we carry out to introduce the famous meal,historical events.
This event also can be experienced by yourself.
If you have opportunity to visit,please join us.
We look forward to your book.

Frontdesk:Sakamoto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 298 in Osaka
1,292 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#27 of 298 in Osaka
725 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Namba Oriental Hotel
#30 of 298 in Osaka
610 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Red Roof Plus Osaka Namba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dotonbori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dotonbori Hotel

Property: Dotonbori Hotel
Address: 2-3-25 Dotombori, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0071, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Osaka
#13 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dotonbori Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dotonbori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dotonbori Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing