We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dotonbori Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (686)
Filter reviews
686 results
Traveler rating
353
264
62
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
264
62
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsramenfree phonefree massage chairsinternational callsnamba stationskin careexcellent locationfree coffeerooms are smalllaundry facilitiessemi double roomglico mani highly recommend this hotelair purifieryour luggageenglish speaking staffjapanese hotels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 686 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I spent a few nights at the Dotonbori Hotel, it was exactly what I wanted and expected (from all the tripadvisor reviews). It was in a great and lively location, roughly a 10? minute walk to the closest train station. The room was clean and small but managed to fit all the essentials and the bathroom was decked out in toiletries. The walls are thin, but I happened to stay next to a couple with a baby. The receptionists were lovely and professional. It's really as good as it gets for the price!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chau L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロントデスク at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2012

Thank you very much for your staying.
We are really glad to see your excellent review.
We hope that you got great experience during stay in Japan.

Have you join the our party?
Japanese foods party which is called Sushi was held at the lobby during January and February.Currently, the Japanese girls festival which is called Hina-Maturi is being held.
Purpose of these events is to introduce Japanese culture,food and so on to guest.
If you have chance to next visit,please join us.

We are looking forward to see you then.

Dotonbori Hotel
Front:Sakamoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This was our first hotel on our trip around Japan. We arrived at 11am after a sleepless overnight flight and were expecting to have to leave our luggage and come back later to check in, but we were able to go into our room straight away! This was a welcome surprise as we could have a much needed rest before a bit of sightseeing.

The room was quite small, but we expected this from reading previous reviews, spotless, and at £45 a night (a promotional rate direct from their website) it was a bargain. Suitcases fitted under the bed, so once they were out the way it was fine. The room had a full sized double bed not a semi-double and it was very comfy. It was also nice and quiet, despite being in the middle of a busy area of Osaka.

Lots of toiletries and things were provided, ladies got a bag with face cleansers and lotions etc. Bathroom was like a little pod, but perfectly clean and had all you needed, including a small bath.

It's conveniently located by Namba station which serves as a hub for a number of rail lines. The station is huge mind, and the JR part was the opposite end to the exit closest to the hotel, but it was a nice walk through an underground shopping arcade - great for picking up a Bento on the way back to the hotel. There are frequent maps on the wall and the exits are numbered, so you can find your way if you get a bit disoriented (which we did a couple of times!) You only have to walk a minute down the street from the hotel and your in the really lively Dotonbori street, with loads of restuarants and bright lights - the famous giant crab and puffer fish signs are here. There's also a Lawson's convenience store directly opposite the hotel.

A folder full of useful info about local restaurants and attractions was also provided in the room. It also had details of what special offer tickets you could get from reception. The reception staff were great, they spoke good English - checking in/out was fine, we also bought some tickets for the subway/aquarium and floating garden from them, and when we checked out they sorted out sending our luggage onto our next main hotel we were going to be at in a couple of days time.

Great value for money and helpful staff!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikkiBeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, Front Reception at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for writing a review for our hotel. We're very glad you had a great time with us. Our goal is to not only give you the comfortable place to stay, but to help you have the best trip. We see that you've made a full trip around Osaka and explored the new culture. If you have a chance to come to Japan again, please stay at our hotel. Remember, Dotonbori Hotel is the "Excellent Hotel" you deserve to stay.

Thank you very much
Front desk, Ishii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

It was a superb holiday. Surrounded by many shops & mini restaurant, the entire interior & exterior are dominated with contemporary infusion. Service was quite nice, especially for the bellboys & housekeepers were friendly and helpful. Thank for the bellboys for carried my luggage.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, front desk at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us Dotonbori Hotel and We will appreciate for spending time to write warm comment.
We hope you enjoied travel in Japan.
As you menthioned there are many shops and restaurants near us.
We are so glad to hear that you were satisfied with our service and location! We hope to see you again.

Thank you very much.
Front Horikawa
Dotonbori Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I have been staying at Dotonbori Hotel for close to ten years now and my experience is always positive. I love the new beds and pillows they now have (no idea what they're called but they're soft and contoured and gave me the best nights sleeps ever!), the breakfast was varied with everything from Western continental fare and Japanese treats (such as spaghetti, fried rice and dumplings), there's space under the bed for large suitcases and they've thought of everything in the room from free bottled water to i-phone chargers and free laptop rental. Yes the rooms are a little small but you expect that from Japanese hotels. I did washing and drying in the common room which I was grateful for (all for $4!) and there's free computer internet access in the lobby. Very happy with Dotonbori for value, service, good sleeping and location.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorGSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

Thank you very much always choosing our hotel.
As you know,there are two pillows with each bed in the room.
We think that bedding is one of the top priority when staying at the hotel.
Especially,a piece of pillow is well known to people.
It’s called TEMPUR.

By the way,have you seen the event at the lobby yet?
This event which is held to inform traditional Japaese to guests can be interesting.
For example,Sushi party will be held next month.

We look forward to see you then.

Front desk:Sakamoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Chose this hotel based on the reviews it has been getting and price was reasonable considering its location.

Keep getting warned about room sizes in Japanese hotels and needless to say - thank goodness we prepared ourselves! :)

Here are my list of positives:
- Great location - close to shops, restaurants and train
- Staff were all friendly, polite and helpful and nearly all spoke in English.
- Free wifi in the lobby as well as our room
- Free coffee and tea in lobby
- Free bottles of water everyday in your room
- Computers and printers available to use in lobby for free
- Phone in lobby to use for free (including overseas calls)
- SO many things you can hire/rent for free including laptops, baby accessories, dvds, bikes you name it! Also we woke up one morning and saw that it was raining - thought I'd better run across the road to the convenient star (Lawsons) and see if I could buy an umbrella. Came downstairs and in the lobby was a big basket full of umbrellas for us to take and use!

Once you get your barings, you could easily navigate your way through the city on foot and find your way back to the hotel with ease. You just use the bridge/river and neon running man as your anchor...Cross the road and look up for the bright lights of Dotonbori hanging above the street of your hotel. Then look for the big statues.

It's not the flashiest of hotels but when you're looking in this price range you shouldn't be expecting luxury! We chose to get the economy twin room just so we had a little extra space. The bathroom is so tiny though but still manageable I guess. Just be warned - the beds looked bigger in the photo for the economy twin room. In the images it looked like there was a double bed plus a single on the other side. The beds are actually the same size and are more like in between a king single and a double. Pillows are thin and hard so I was glad I could take more from the other bed!

Buffet is average...JUST. I would recommend you just eat somewhere local. There's even a McDonalds around the corner if you're craving a muffin :)

Overall I would recommend this place. It was great for what we needed - we were pretty much out most of the day and night.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

Thank you very much for inform us about your impressions.
Our hotel is located in the heart of the south area in Osaka.
What did you get in Osaka?
There are various shopping store,restaurants,as well as shopping street near by.
and there is a convenient store just across the street from hotel.
It is convenient,isn't it?
Especially,We recommend that go to Ebisu-Bridge.
As you say,you can see a mysterious running man of big sign board,when you look up on the bridge.
He is well-known by Japanese almost the people.
That is a advertising for confectionery company which is built before 70 years.
If you are looking for interesting things,you can see particular object such as running man and strange crabs and so on.I think it will be good places for take a photo.

If you have chance to coming in Japan,we would like to offer you with more than your expecting.
We look forward to see you then.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews