We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school Hotel- a bit far from the hub of Osaka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Osaka Garden Palace
Ranked #83 of 316 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Old school Hotel- a bit far from the hub of Osaka”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a classic old school hotel located right near Osaka train station. The free shuttle from the station to the hotel is very handy, as Osaka station has plenty of food outlets and shopping if that what tickles your fancy. The rooms in this hotel are a good size (for a Japanese standard) although be warned, the beds here are extremley hard!!! The hotel is a fair distance from the heart of Osaka town via the metro, i think next time we will stay a bit closer to the action. The staff were very helpful, although the language barrier was a bit tough when asking for the nearest ATM to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    129
    56
    8
    5
See reviews for
33
51
57
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel is only 3-3.5 stars hotel but I get all things that more than other hotel in the same class. it's very near the Shin Osaka Station. The room is clean (and tiny same like the other hotels of Japan), there is the Yukata and slippers for guests to use. On the ninth floor, there is the microwave. On the twelfth floor, there is the washing machine for service.

The period that I stayed, the hotel serve the free wi-fi in all guests' rooms already.

The breakfast is so good, especially if you like to have Japanese style breakfast.

I like this hotel. And this hotel is valueable for me.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pakwan_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontianak, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stay one night in this hotel on april 2014, but i can recommend this hotel because very clean, staf can speak english n helpfull, price not very expensiven have bus transfer from shin osaka station.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Eni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Clean. Easy check in. Shuttle to Shin Osaka Station takes about 5 minutes. Easy walk if you miss the shuttle. Shin Osaka station has the JR line and Subway. Super convenient to get anywhere in Japan from there. It is about an hour to the airport by JR line. 30-45 minutes to major attractions. About an hour to Kyoto. The breakfast buffet is great and there are not many restaurants near by. If you miss the buffet then the Shin Osaka station has some good restaurants. There is a grocery store and Lawson's close by. Affordable and worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocknryry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Everything was perfect. Nice and clean room. The staff was very helpful and kind. The hotel has a shuttle service to and from shin-osaka station that runs every 15 minutes, very useful. Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ZequiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed here for the night as most of the other hotels near the station were full. The hotel is about 15 mins walk from the Shin-Osaka station. There is a shuttle bus service run by the hotel every 15mins between 0700 and 2300. However, I had checked in after 2300 and had checked out before 0700. Therefore had to walk it. The room was decent and clean, though quite old in comparison to other hotels in the vicinity. The TV did not have much help in English. For the price I paid, it was very good. The staff couldn't speak much english, though that may because of the timing of my arrival and departure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sonyrajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I booked this hotel on the basis that it was very affordable and had a lot of favorable reviews (around $56 USD at the time of booking) with a close vicinity to Shin-Osaka Station. I had to catch a train out of Shin-Osaka the following morning so this fit my criteria nicely.

The staff was very English friendly contrary to other reviews posted on the site. The check in process went through without a hitch and I also had a package delivered to me in advance which they presented upon check in. The room itself was standard Japanese hotel sized so if you're used to American hotels you're in for a shock. The twin deluxe was a tight fit for two people but it managed to get done. Like many other hotels it comes equipped with a TV and mini fridge as well as other travel amenities such as q-tjps and toothbrushes. The floor has an ice machine as well as beverage vending machines. I cant comment on the internet situation as I had my own portable wifi however I did see a ethernet cable available for use in the room.

The hotel itself is located in what appears to be a primarily residential area. That is, it's not near tourist attractions. There's a few 24 hour convenience stores (such as Lawson Station) located in the area. It's about a 10 minute walk from Shin-Osaka Station and a free hotel shuttle is offered during the day (starting at 7am every 15 minutes; takes about 3 minutes by shuttle to the station).

Overall this is a great value for the money, especially for those who are passing through on business and just need a place to stay or need to be in close vicinity to Shin-Osaka Station. If you are looking to be close to tourist attractions, i'd suggest looking at other hotels. I have no complaints and would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madcapsules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shin Osaka / North Area
Hotel Wing International Shin-Osaka
Shin Osaka / North Area
Hotel Claiton Shinosaka
Hotel Claiton Shinosaka
#124 of 316 in Osaka
243 reviews
Hotel Consort
#79 of 316 in Osaka
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Osaka Yodoyabashi
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
RIHGA Nakanoshima Inn
RIHGA Nakanoshima Inn
#59 of 316 in Osaka
446 reviews
Shin Osaka / North Area
Shin-Osaka Sunny Stone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osaka Garden Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osaka Garden Palace

Property: Osaka Garden Palace
Address: 1-3-35 Nishimiyahara, Yodogawa-ku, Osaka 532-0004, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shin Osaka / North Area
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Osaka Garden Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Osaka Garden Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Palace Hotel Osaka
Garden Palace Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing