We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient location to sightsee Osaka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Tennoji Miyako Hotel
Ranked #37 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

It is located upstairs Tennoji Station where travellers can ride JR and subway to Kansai airport or shopping areas in Osaka. Staff is very helpful and polite. The room clean and toiletries plentiful. Price is reasonable and affordable.

Room Tip: High floors have less noise from road traffics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 392 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

We choose the Tennoji Miyako because it was on a direct train line from Kansai airport. No transfers needed. The express train drops you off right across the hotel. That was the main reason. We were delighted to find that the subway lines were also really close to the hotel and that the room that we chose (they have different sizes of twin rooms) was larger than we thought. We were expecting it to be the size of the last Toyoko Inn (which we love).

I have to say that there was nothing in Tennoji that we wanted to see. Our time was spent in Namba, Shinsaibaishi, Kobe and Umeda. However, we never felt inconvenienced since the rail and subway was so near to us.

The hotel provides shampoo, conditioner, body wash, hair dryer, bath sponges, tiny toothbrushes and toothpaste, plastic hair brush, shower caps, razors, room slippers, robes, two kinds of tea, a wonderful hot pot and a small fridge.

If there is a complaint, it would be the very high and hard pillows that they have. Also, the bed is a little firmer than I am comfortable with.

The price for the room was very reasonable. Breakfast is not included.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bebehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

excellent place to stay if you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of Shinsaibashi, Dotonbori and Namba shopping and entertainment areas. The hotel is easy accessible from airport by JR train line to Tennoji Station. At the train station take exit # 3 and the hotel entrance is around the corner to the left as you exit. Reception staff was very helpful and patience with their explanation on how to naviagate the metro system to the various places of interest in Osaka (recommend to purchase a all day pass). I would not hesitate to stay here again and with excellent underground connections from Tennoji Station as base.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EChun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a great hotel. Very clean and the room was spacious even with a king bed. A lot of space for two people with table, chairs, and desk. Small frig and complimentary bottles of water. Connected underground to Tennoji Station so very convenient if your base is Tennoji. Direct train to the airport. Reception staff were very friendly with some English. I had no problems so didn't need to consult with them often. Restaurants on site, but with Tennoji so close I didn't eat at the hotel so can evaluate them. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it. Cost was under $85/night. Down side was no Wi-Fi on the 8th floor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radmerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

First visit to Japan on business and this hotel is perfectly adequate for this, rooms are clean a little small and basic but OK. If not Japanese the instructions for TV can be a little perplexing and access to European/American channels I have as yet ot found
Staff friendly and their English is reasonable
For business travellers this hotel perfectly adequate

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmR52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Pro's

Great location. You are seconds from Tennoji station so can get around town very easily by underground. Airport is direct and takes around 45 minutes.

Hotel rooms are clean and fairly spacious. You get free internet connection which is good.

Cost. I only paid around US$100 which is pretty good considering.

Gym is huge.

Con's

Breakfast buffet was Yen 2,100 (around $23) and frankly was pretty poor for that amount of money (fair value around $10). I just didn't have time or inclination to search for a better (or healthier) option.

Gym. Is expensive. Yen 2,650 for one visit! This wasn't communicated at the front desk properly - not their fault as my Japanese is nonexistent!

Room Tip: Go for a walk around the local park (3 minutes away) instead of paying US$30 for the gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel has a direct exit to the Tennoji metro station and the underground mall, meaning that even if it rains, you can still travel to many places without umbrellas.

The rooms are really big- very much a luxury in Japan. The view from the top floor is also good.

The only down side is that they do not have in-room wifi. Free wifi is only available in the lobby. If that could be improved, I would not hesitate to give it a 5 star!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guneingdoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
APA Hotel Tennoji Ekimae
APA Hotel Tennoji Ekimae
#152 of 333 in Osaka
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Via Inn Abeno Tennoji
#102 of 333 in Osaka
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tennoji Miyako Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tennoji Miyako Hotel

Address: 1-2-8 Matsuzakicho, Abeno-ku, Osaka 545-0053, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#34 Family Hotel in Osaka
#44 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $98 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tennoji Miyako Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect location as a base for sightseeing and business in Osaka,Kobe,Nara and Wakayama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tennoji Miyako Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tennoji Miyako Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing