We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveler rating
136
302
164
50
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
302
164
50
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast staffdotonbori areaperfect locationfamily roomthe breakfast areawalking distancebottled watersuperior roomrestaurants and shoppingbreakfast was includedair conditioninghotel is locatedtop floorfront officechoose this hotelsubway stationcoin laundry
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 676 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2017 via mobile

This hotel was in a great location for food and shops, night life and transport. maybe a little too close to Dotonbori if you want somewhere quiet, we could hear sirens and a little noise sometimes at night. We stayed here four nights. On two days our room key/card wouldn't work to get back in to our room after being out all day. When we spoke to the concierge about this each time there were other guests complaining about the same thing. The air conditioning did not work at all. It was very hot and stuffy in the room and we had to open the window in the room even though there were warnings on the window saying do not open unless and emergency. The staff were friendly and spoke English. If you are looking for a hotel that is a step up from a backpackers that is close to shops, night life, food and transport then this is the place for you.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KylieC500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, Manager at ibis Styles Osaka Namba, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Dear Kylie C,
Thank you very much for sharing your impressions on Trip Advisor.
I am glad to read that you have enjoyed the convenience of our location.
Please accept my apologies as it seems you have encountered several issues during your stay and notably the air conditioning that I would like to clarify. Our air conditioning system has the particularity, like many hotel buildings in Japan, to be centralized. This system is set on three different modes - sending hot air to all rooms during winter, cool air during summer, and lukewarm air as you mentioned during the period between winter and summer (March and April). Based on our experience of the previous years, it becomes necessary to switch to the summer mode from beginning of May, however we had a sudden raise in outdoor temperature here in Osaka from middle of April that was not expected. Therefore we have immediately requested our building maintenance company to switch the system on summer mode, but unfortunately this operation require several days to complete notably due to the deep clean of the whole system which is a must-do before switching. I am really sorry that the system could not yet be on summer mode during your staying dates and I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused. Please be assured that this issue is a temporary one particular to this period only and that temperatures in room are as per standards once the system is properly switched according to the season, and notably in summer when it is definitely cool air which is sent to all rooms. To ensure that this issue does not incur again, we are now considering to plan a full renovation of the cooling system in order to enable in-room air conditioning control.
Thank you very much for concluding your review on a positive note by mentioning the friendliness of our team members, I will definitely share your nice comment with them.
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again and to offer you a great ibis Styles experience.

Kind regards,
Thomas Vidal
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2017 via mobile

Located within walking distance from namba station the hotel is ideally located. Loads of great food places and bars near by, staff at hotel are very friendly especially the breakfast staff- thanks for great stay! Only down side was room was quite dusty

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank liamkitty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, Manager at ibis Styles Osaka Namba, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Dear liamkitty2,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor!
I am concerned to read that you found dust in your room. Thank you for mentioning about it, I will share this feedback today with our Housekeeping coordinator and his team and this is definitely not the standards that we want for our property.
I am glad to read that except that you have fully enjoyed our location and the friendliness of our staff. I am so glad to read that you were particularly impressed by the service from the breakfast team, as it is a point we have been working on recently!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the heart of Osaka and to show you significant improvement on the only issue that you mentioned.
Thank you and best regards,
Thomas Vidal
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2017

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thomas V, Manager at ibis Styles Osaka Namba, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 23, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for my last night in Osaka. I was looking for an Accor hotel that was reasonably priced and Ibis Styles fit the bill. A double room with breakfast for 1 was just over 10,000 Yen which was OK I guess. Location was great, right in Dontonburi with plenty of restaurants around. The room was about the usual size for Japan - not very big at all. However the major drawbacks for me was the lack of airconditioning - the room has it but even on its coldest setting it blows out lukewarm air. So didn't get a good sleep because the room was so hot! I've read similar things on TripAdvisor so this is a warning. Bathroom was OK but definitely needs a renovation. Breakfast was OK. Some Japanese, Chinese and Western options but the quality wasn't amazing. I just had some congee.

I'd stay again, but only in winter when a cool room isn't required. Summer it would be horrendously hot. Apart from the air conditioning everything else is what you'd expect for an Ibis hotel in terms of quality and price.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank HarryJM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, Manager at ibis Styles Osaka Namba, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Dear HarryJM88,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your impressions on Trip Advisor. Your comments are precious for us to identify our area of improvements.
Please allow to clarify that air conditioning is not lacking in our hotel. We do have an air conditioning system that has the particularity, like many hotel buildings in Japan, to be centralized. This system is set on three different modes - sending hot air to all rooms during winter, cool air during summer, and lukewarm air as you mentioned during the period between winter and summer (March and April). Based on our experience of the previous years, it becomes necessary to switch to the summer mode from beginning of May, however we had a sudden raise in outdoor temperature here in Osaka from middle of April that was not expected. Therefore we have immediately requested our building maintenance company to switch the system on summer mode, but unfortunately this operation require several days to complete notably due to the deep clean of the whole system which is a must-do before switching. I am really sorry that the system could not yet be on summer mode during your staying dates and I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused. Please be assured that this issue is a temporary one particular to this period only and that temperatures in room are as per standards once the system is properly switched according to the season, and notably in summer when it is definitely cool air which is sent to all rooms. To ensure that this issue does not incur again, we are now considering to plan a full renovation of the cooling system in order to enable in-room air conditioning control.
Thank you very much for mentioning that except this aspect, your experience with us has met your expectations, notably in terms of service.
Yours sincerely,
Thomas Vidal
Operations Manager





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017 via mobile

Chosen for its proximity to the glitz of Dontonbori. Its a base, where you go out, hit the glam, and the food, and back to camp to sleep and shower and do it all over again. Shower - excellent
Thomas the manager and his crew - awesome service. Air con needs fixing but fans nailed our comfort.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
3  Thank Meringandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, Manager at ibis Styles Osaka Namba, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Dear Meringandan,
Thank you very much for sharing your impressions on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to see that although you encountered some issue with the air con, we were able to provide a satisfying solution. Thank you very much for mentioning that our service was above your expectations, it will be my pleasure to share this comment with the team!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in the heart of Osaka.
Best regards,
Thomas Vidal
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews