We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lobby, Rooms Not So Good”
Review of Ibis Styles Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ibis Styles Osaka
Ranked #48 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Lobby, Rooms Not So Good”
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here a few weekends ago. The location of this hotel is great, the lobby was nice and clean but the rooms were not good. All they had were smoking rooms, the comforter on my bed had a cigarette burn in it, one of the pillows had 2 red stains on it visible through the cover that appeared to be blood. The carpet was a disaster and there were patches in the walls. It did have an impressive toilet similar to other Japanese hotels.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Wsopcash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    215
    116
    36
    18
See reviews for
153
123
55
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The location is very good...just about 2-3 blocks from all the nightlife/shopping in the Namba/Nipponbashi area. We decided to take a cab from the JR Shin-Osaka station because of our luggage, 2 kids and a large double-stroller. Thankfully, we had the name of the hotel printed in Japanese and a map with street names in Japanese, otherwise the cab driver would never have found it as he did not speak English. It was fairly expensive (prob close to $30).

Thinking back, we were happy we cabbed it to the hotel (the only time we ever took a cab during our Tokyo/Osaka trip) since the streets of Namba/Nipponbashi can be a little confusing since many are covered and look alike and there is just so much to see! I'm sure we would have gotten lost just wandering and not paying attention to where we were going. But it's pretty easy to get to the subway station since the streets are more grid-like than in Tokyo.

The hotel is on a smaller one-way street, which features a 7 Eleven in the lobby (so nice to have, especially with small kids). It's a small hotel but very convenient. The staff's English was a little lacking but we were able to get directions to the subway without much difficulty. We booked a double room, non-smoking (no smell of smoke).

The rooms are definitely tired and in need of rehab. The carpet was stained but the bathroom clean. The hotel keycard was a paper version of what we get in the US but it also had our room number and check out date printed on it (ugh!) and you have to keep one in slot by the door in order for the power to turn on (energy saving). The room is small but in line with what I would expect in a major Japanese city. The bathroom was even smaller but clean and functional. The room had a mini-fridge and free wired internet access (no wi-fi).

The beds were just as bad as in Tokyo....thin mattresses where you can feel the springs. I bruised my right hip in Tokyo (I'm a side-sleeper), and I bruised my left hip in Osaka. (Side note: I think this must be a Japanese preference since I stayed at the Hilton Tokyo a number of years ago and the beds were wonderful).

There are a few restaurants in the hotel (sushi, yakiniku (like Korean BBQ) and a Chinese place). The TV remote was the most confusing one ever (the power button not at the top right/left as normal but somewhere in the lower middle right side). And I made the mistake of inserting our room key into the slot, but I was able to get it out. It's for videos that you can buy from a vending machine by the elevators.

It's probably a 4-5 min walk to the Nipponbashi subway station but the walk is much nicer to the Namba station, which is probably a good 8-10 min walk, since you get to through the covered streets.

We didn't see any other children in the hotel or in the streets directly around the hotel. Unlike in Tokyo, where we saw families and strollers everywhere, it was a less common in this area of Osaka...maybe because it's known as the night-life area? But at no time did we ever feel unsafe (2 woman, 2 kids ages 3yrs and 1.5yrs). Once school let out, we saw plenty of older school-aged kids in the shopping areas.

We had a much more difficult time trying to find restaurants to eat that would accommodate the kids and stroller but we made do. Keep in mind that the Japanese really don't do "take-out." You have to find restaurants that specifically advertise "to-go" or feature take out boxes. We thought it might be easy to just grab something and bring it back to the hotel...but it wasn't.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel due to its location. However, if you can book the Oriental Namba (in one of the covered, pedestrian only streets), I would prefer to stay there as I think their location is better than this one. If it wasn't for the location, I would not return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieNYer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The location is just perfect - right in the action of everything. It's 2 mins walk to Dontobori, and 10- 15 mins walk to Namba station. I made Namba station as my hub because I can travel to Kobe, Minoh Park and everywhere around Osaka. No complain on the hotel. Just nice.

Room Tip: It was a bit hard to locate the hotel when we first reach Osaka. From Namba station, walk to Exit 16...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel is in the best location one street behind the Dotonbori strip. Rooms are clean with free wifi but are a bit small. Breakfast was good with a view over the strip. There is the convenience of a 7/11 attached to the lobby. Staff are friendly . Recommended for location and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimbaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

A modern hotel located a 5 to 10 minute walk north of the Nipponbashi train station, or south of Nagahoribashi station. Very convenient to maze of streets crowded with pedestrians, closed to cars. Lots to see and sample. We stayed there after a half day at Spa World, which is worth a visit too. Just a few stops by train away from the hotel. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arjaydobleyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

I was here on recommendation from a tour agency and regretted it. There are a lot of superior hotels in the downtown area. This one should be avoided if possible. The room is old and smells some. The bed covers are old and the interior is tiny. The bathroom is especially cramped.
The room is rather dark with an old tv. The manager is quite impolite and unaccommodating. I was rather put-off by his poor manner of service. The staff appears to be very good but they are running scared of this manager guy. Hope you don't have to deal with him. He was as bad as the rooms.
The breakfast was fair and acceptable. I've had better at other hotels at the same ratings.
The best aspect is the hotel's location. It's right in Shinsabashi and near the shopping arcades. It's about 15 minutes walk to the Namba Train terminal and about 5 minutes away from the subway, easy to find. Also, they provide a free lan line for internet if you bring your own computer.
In terms of the traditional Japanese cleaniness you would expect to find in Japan, this hotel is not a representative example I think.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank safeguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Osaka hotels

Helsinki
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

I stayed in Metro The 21 for 2 nights with a friend. We had a double room. The location is amazing for Osaka. Namba is the liveliest place in Osaka with lots of shops, restaurants, bars on so on. Metro The 21 is by the Dotombori river. The hotel and the room was pretty basic budget-hotel type, but if that is what you need (a cheap place close to the action) this is a good choice. A great plus was the breakfast included to the price. There were both Japanese and western choices in the buffet. In our thip this was the only hotel where breakfast included to the price, and it was very convenient indeed to get your day started without hunting for coffee and food. So this hotel was definitely good value and a great choice for a short stay in Osaka.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miyu_princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#26 of 307 in Osaka
765 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Red Roof Plus Osaka Namba
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hearton Hotel Shinsaibashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Best Western Hotel Fino Osaka Shinsaibashi
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 307 in Osaka
1,371 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Comfort Hotel Osaka Shinsaibashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Osaka

Property: Ibis Styles Osaka
Address: 2-13 Souemoncho, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0084, Osaka Prefecture (Formerly Metro The 21)
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Osaka 3*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Dotonbori area, one of the most famous tourist destinations in Osaka, ibis Styles Osaka is a few minutes by foot from the Shinsaibashisuji shopping arcade and Ebisubashi. The hotel offers easy access to all of major tourist attractions including Universal Studio and Osaka Aquarium Kaiyukan. Located in Dotonbori area, one of the famous tourist destinations in Osaka. A few minutes' walk to Shinsaibashisuji shopping arcade and Ebisubashi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Orbitz, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro The 21 Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing