We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gabriel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monterey Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Osaka
Ranked #45 of 296 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Gabriel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Basically, almost everythings are good enough. I like the old style outlook.
It seems to be returned to the old London hotel.The outlook of the hotel is
good. and quite silient loaction. The hotel sevice is excellent



  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    369
    151
    32
    11
See reviews for
153
155
133
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is in a good location, close to the JR station, and is an ideal base for sightseeing. The interior is a welcome alternation within the modern architecture of Osaka. The rooms are small but fully equipped. Staff is friendly and did their utmost to meet our requests. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TdwLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Location. Close to the JR station with its many restaurants and cafes. Reception is on the 8th floor. If you look carefully, you can find how to get there underground from where the Airport and other Limousine buses drop you and also from the main JR station. In the station, walk from the Central Gate towards the Sakura Exit and you should find it. Not easy at first.
Staff. Very good and helpful with enough English to assist where needed.
Facilities. Very comfortable and quiet bedroom with wooden shutters that blocked out all the early morning sun. Hooray! But to use the laundry, we had to go to a hotel next door where we had to sit where the smokers sit. Not pleasant.
Environment. If you want to help the environment, you can leave a card saying don't change the sheets or towels today.
Will we stay there again. Yes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is my 2nd time stayed into this hotel. Clean & Good Services. You will not worry about everything because Japan is a safe country unless you complain me about natural disaster like earthquake.... etc. other than that, all perfect.

Monterey Hotel, just beside JR Rail and you now need to worry about transportation. Unless you have purchase the any pass like Kansai Thru Pass which JR Rail is not connected. I do suggest you purchase JR Rail Pass and you can go to any where but some time you need to change to other railway.

Not worry if you want to asking question with their customer services because all of them are know english. However, sometime you need to guess what they are saying because the pronouce maybe not match what your country.

if room, definately small, this is Japan, Osaka, pls dont aspect there is "100000sqf" space for you. I have stay with my wife and daughter who 5 years old into standard room. ok, this is still fit.
However, we just trouble for the "shopping rewards" like handbag, shirt... from my wife... hehe

Ah, dont forget to walk around the Namba Walk, there is a lot of restuarants will meet your aspectation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ivanchan_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yona, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
278 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

It is a great location to the local transit system. It is probably 5 minutes from JR Osaka station and entrance into the subway and 10 minutes from Umeda Station. The room was pretty standard size for Japan. The lobby is not on the 1st floor which I thought was a little odd, but service was quick. It was a pretty good hotel that I would stay at if I was going back to Osaka.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tattskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel is located just a 5 minutes walk from the JR Osaka station and there is an airport bus terminal beside the hotel where you can purchase the tickets to get to Osaka International Airport. It's quite fuss-free but do note that you can't purchase the tickets in advance - only on the day itself.

Like what many others have reviewed, the hotel has a very renaissance-looking architecture with a beautiful chapel inside.

Definitely had a wonderful stay there!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilianRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

I recently stayed at the Hotel Monterey Osaka for 4 nights and did a little video review of the hotel grounds and the inside of a "Vienna Traditional Double" room.

If you'd like to see what the hotel and the Vienna Traditional Double look like, then check out the video here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s_zaiWPIQv8

This hotel is located a 5 minute walk from the Sakura-bashi exit of the JR Osaka Station, directly across the street from the train tracks. The close proximity to the train station is good, and bad. Good because it's very convienent for sightseeing, as you can go anywhere from Osaka station. Bad because the train tracks are very loud, and if you are a light sleeper, beware!

The Hotel Monterey Osaka is a very odd juxtaposition of things. Coming from the USA, it was definitely odd to be staying in a Vienna Palace themed hotel in Japan. Especially since our last vacation trip was to Vienna. That being said, this hotel does a good job of recreating that European feeling... all the way down to the "historic looking" elevators, staircases, revolving doors, and replica 14th century stone chapel. Oh that last bit, yes there is a replica 14th Century Chapel on the 8th floor of the building. And it's a perfect replica, all the way down to the steps and roof. It's the whole chapel building, except it's on the 8th floor of this hotel. Again, weird.

How was the room itself? In a word -- small. I've stayed in quite a few Japanese hotels, so I'm used to small. It wasn't tiny... but it was definitely small. The double room is OK for one person. It's too crammed in for two people though. There's really no place to open a suitcase anywhere in the room except for on top of the bed. On the plus slide, the room was clean, and had "black-out" wooden shades over the windows. So the room could get really dark, but because of the proximity to the train tracks, it could never get that quiet. With the air purifier on high, and air conditioning on high, I could drown out the sound of the trains enough to sleep, but the sound of the train rumbling was always there somewhere in the background.

If you like trains, and aren't bothered by train noise, this could be a good choice. However if you're a light sleeper like me, then pick someplace else a bit further away from the tracks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YellowProductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monterey_Group, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Osaka, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Thnarf,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your comment.
We would like to thank you for your detailed observation and comments, as well as the video you have made. Contents of your comments have been disseminated to our operation team for future service improvement.
Please accept our apologies for the noise of the train. It is voices like yours that help us constantly refine our services and facilities.
We also appreciate your video. It is a highly informative tour of our property. We thank you very much for your video expertise and your patronage.
Best regards,
Management/ Hotel Monterey Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#49 of 296 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel New Hankyu Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Vista Premio Dojima
Hotel Vista Premio Dojima
#122 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#16 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Osaka

Property: Hotel Monterey Osaka
Address: 3-3-45 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 296 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Osaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel imitates the grandeur of the Schonbrunn Palace in Vienna, and captures the Austrian royal court atmosphere that flourished at its cultural peak. Entering the hotel, guests will feel as if they have entered the graceful world of an Austrian royal palace, where nobles and dignitaries relax in comfort and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Monterey Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing