We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Osaka
Ranked #40 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Oaxaca
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Value Hotel”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed three nights at Hotel Monterey in Osaka, and the rooms are great, the hotel has an excellent location beside the JR lines. If you are traveling with a JR pass this is a great location. Ask the concierge for information you may need.

Room Tip: You can live your luggage at the hotel for the rest of the check out day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monosa, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Osaka, responded to this review, May 21, 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your staying at HOTEL MONTEREY OSAKA.
We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments.
We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    384
    156
    32
    11
See reviews for
160
169
133
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent two nights in a triple room that was made a triple by introducing a rollaway. It made the room very tight, but manageable. We had a view of the stone chapel built into the center of the complex (apparently it's very popular with Japanese girls who like Christian-style weddings with the white dress and the church setting). We found the hotel quiet and well located for trying to navigate the underground city at Umeda. Heh. Good luck with that, the navigating. Another plus for Westerners -- there's a Starbuck's across a small plaza from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wojo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monosa, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Osaka, responded to this review, May 21, 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your staying at HOTEL MONTEREY OSAKA.
We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments.
We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I like the location of the hotel though some others say it is too quiet, next to the hotel there are hearton, ritz carlton, hilton... Shopping mall hilton plaza, breeze breeze are very closed.
To reach here from airport is convenient as the limousine stop is at Herbis just a block from the hotel or by JR to the Osaka station. Five minutes walk to osaka station sakurabashi exit via ground floor from the hotel or at B1 which is connected to the station, it is great if it is freezing or raining you don’t even need to walk outdoor.
Restaurants and convenient stores are around. Front desk is at 8/F of the building, the reception area is tiny . I got a room at 13/F and facing the tracks, though it was bit noisy but still acceptable and the trains stops at midnight so it is not a problem at all.
Pillows are small and the bed is semi double size at single room, furnitures a bit worn but clean.
Staff are very helpful as I have lost my luggage at my incoming flight, the front desk helped me to communicate with the airport and the luggage finally found and sent to the hotel.

Room Tip: Request room not facing the tracks Price on different online hotel booking site varies 50% to 100%
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monosa, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Osaka, responded to this review, May 21, 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your staying at HOTEL MONTEREY OSAKA.
We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments.
We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is located in nice place because it's close to many train station, especially, JR Osaka station. we decided to choose this hotel because of it. We planned to catch a very early train from JR Osaka station.

Before I went there, I'd searched on google map to see how far from the JR Osaka station and I took a look on 3D map then I thought that it look like an empty street nearing the wall of railways. Of course, I was wrong. It's the peaceful place and safe. we went back to hotel from JR Osaka after shopping in almost midnight and it's very good. Nothing to be worried.

From the outside of this hotel looks similar to other building around Osaka (in my opinion) but inside looks a little bit elegant for me. It's decorated in European style. The facilities in the room is quite good for this price. I think it's very value hotel that I would recommend to everyone who I know.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monosa, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Osaka, responded to this review, May 21, 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your staying at HOTEL MONTEREY OSAKA.
We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments.
We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Was our second time to Osaka & Kyoto- this time was to see maple leaves. This hotel is conveniently located, near the JR station & the subway Umeda station, and traveling to Kyoto, Kobe, Uji takes less than an hour and the subway station is right around the corner.

If you take the subway, you can just walk through the underground and get back to hotel - good for chilly weather. The underground has everything you need, convenience stores, restaurants, department stores. it is like a maze and we did get lost few times.

The hotel itself is a cute little one and nice decor. there is a chapel there and great for wedding. The room was small, but with only US$60 per night during the peak season and a well situated location, what more can i ask for?

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 1DFWU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monosa, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Osaka, responded to this review, May 21, 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your staying at HOTEL MONTEREY OSAKA.
We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments.
We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent if you need to be close to the Osaka JR station and the building itself is very interesting but overall we were left feeling underwhelmed by our stay here. Our room was tiny and very dirty, the walls were covered in black marks, the carpet was heavily soiled and the bathtub wasn't cleaned properly. We had a lot of heavy luggage and no one made any attempt to help us with it. The staff weren't rude but they didn't display the same high level of customer service we had come to expect from Japanese hotels. We wouldn't stay here again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone, there are many hotels in this area so choose one of them instead !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monosa, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Osaka, responded to this review, May 21, 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your staying at HOTEL MONTEREY OSAKA.
We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments.
We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel is located next to the JR Osaka Station, and is incredibly convenient for that reason. It is better than your typical business hotel, and seems to cater to weddings. I have always found deals for 2-night stays by searching for discounts on the various booking websites. Other reviewers have noted it is somewhat difficult to find coming from the station at ground level, but if you go down one more level, there is a weather-protected passageway that connects all the subway and train stations with the major hotels and office buildings. This underground passageway was constructed as part of Osaka Garden City, the name for this area of recently constructed buildings. The Hotel Monterey Osaka is listed on the English/Japanese sign posts as you walk through the nicely adorned underground passageway.

Room Tip: The Single room is pretty small, but a Semi-Double has a good sized bed and relatively roomy, for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiBrown74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monosa, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Osaka, responded to this review, May 21, 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your staying at HOTEL MONTEREY OSAKA.
We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments.
We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#51 of 307 in Osaka
1,403 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Osaka Daiichi Hotel
Osaka Daiichi Hotel
#45 of 307 in Osaka
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel New Hankyu Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Osaka

Property: Hotel Monterey Osaka
Address: 3-3-45 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Osaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel imitates the grandeur of the Schonbrunn Palace in Vienna, and captures the Austrian royal court atmosphere that flourished at its cultural peak. Entering the hotel, guests will feel as if they have entered the graceful world of an Austrian royal palace, where nobles and dignitaries relax in comfort and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Fastbooking, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monterey Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing