We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect and convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Osaka
Ranked #38 of 316 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect and convenient location”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed in a triple room for two nights, 12,000 yen per night. The room is spacious enough to fit in three beds, not too crowded as a centrally located hotel in Japan. It's located right above JR namba station, 2 minute walk to the other namba subway stations/ namba underground walking street, 5-10 minute walk to the busiest shopping/ dining area. There's a supermarket right downstairs that opens till midnight, so its very convenient in case you need something/ you miss anything. Everything is quite new and clean. Front desk is at 22/f, downstairs should be offices, hence, most rooms have a good view of the city. Staff is very nice, all of them can speak English.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tung0227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monosa, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Osaka, responded to this review, May 21, 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your staying at HOTEL MONTEREY OSAKA.
We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments.
We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    389
    157
    32
    11
See reviews for
161
171
133
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Agana, Mariana Islands
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

the Faux-European features actually come as welcome relief from the typical sterile, institutional urban Japanese hotel. The location, near Osaka station, is good, but you will get lost finding it the first time. Make a very quick right after exiting the South exit and follow the herd through the above-ground shopping tunnels. You will eventually get there. If your room is too small--and it probably will be--ask for a bigger one and they will likely comply, as they did for me, at no extra charge.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank lat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monosa, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Osaka, responded to this review, May 21, 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your staying at HOTEL MONTEREY OSAKA.
We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments.
We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

It is a surreal experience to find an 18th century Belgian chapel, complete with bell and stained glass windows, on the 8th floor of a downtown Osaka hotel, but the hortel Monterey is very popular with Japanese couples seeking an old fashioned and very Western white wedding. The hotelis above the massive underground malls and walkways under the City Business District, major department stores, and railway station complex linking mant different lines. Breakfast is taken in the function suite, with numerous grand chandeliers. As with almost everyone in Japan, the staff are unfailingly helpful and polite. The rooms are reasonable in size and have more than adequate en suite facilities.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monosa, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Osaka, responded to this review, May 21, 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your staying at HOTEL MONTEREY OSAKA.
We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments.
We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Big hotel near Umeda station. Convenient when you have to take the shuttle to the airport in the morning. The hotel has its own cathedral for weddings. amazing. Old style interior, a little kitsch, but okay.
the rooms are small, no safe, beds are not really good compared to what we had in japan. the hotel was okay, nothing more. staff were okay too, but not so friendly or helpful, just the necessary. i asked for wake up calls, and double checked before going to bed, they hadnt noted it!! Overall okay hotel, but it is okay to choose another one.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecornerhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monosa, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Osaka, responded to this review, May 21, 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your staying at HOTEL MONTEREY OSAKA.
We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments.
We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed at the Monterey for six nights in February. We had a super double room, which was rather small for two people, but all in all for the price we were happy. However, the pillows were like rocks and took some getting used to. The location is excellent. The staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a superior twin to get the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank downunder2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monosa, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Osaka, responded to this review, May 21, 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your staying at HOTEL MONTEREY OSAKA.
We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments.
We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I paid about 80usd for a night, with that in consideration i would say the room was excellent. I have stayed in tiny cramped business hotels in japan for the same price. There was a nice air purifier next to the bed, one of sharps plasma models. No wifi, but ethernet cable provided for internet use.

Bathrooms are ok in terms of size, very clean, ammenities are nice as well. Bed was comfortable, room heaters worked well, not the biggest of rooms but inline with expectations.

First night i took a taxi from the train station, driver said, the hotel is extremely close, are you sure? Took it anyway as i wasn't sure where it was, and it was late. Once you know the underpass system, its really a short walk.

Given its convenient location, and reasonable price, I would not hesitate to stay again when in osaka.

For those interested in the Osaka fish market and sushi restaurants enclosed within, it is a quick 2 stops on the osaka loop :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kettledrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monosa, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Osaka, responded to this review, May 21, 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your staying at HOTEL MONTEREY OSAKA.
We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments.
We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I went to Tokyo for a few days and my previous Osaka hotel was full when I came back. A Japanese friend recommended the Monterey. I don't. It's a very old hotel and too expensive for what you get. Of the three hotels I stayed in, this one is a distant third. I would say that it was convenient to the Osaka train station; maybe a two- to three-block walk, but there are other hotels in the vicinity, including one in the station itself, that are better values.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bugeater64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monosa, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Osaka, responded to this review, May 21, 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your staying at HOTEL MONTEREY OSAKA.
We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments.
We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#51 of 316 in Osaka
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel New Hankyu Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Hotel Elsereine Osaka
#37 of 316 in Osaka
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Osaka

Property: Hotel Monterey Osaka
Address: 3-3-45 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 316 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Osaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel imitates the grandeur of the Schonbrunn Palace in Vienna, and captures the Austrian royal court atmosphere that flourished at its cultural peak. Entering the hotel, guests will feel as if they have entered the graceful world of an Austrian royal palace, where nobles and dignitaries relax in comfort and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Fastbooking, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monterey Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing