We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“advise for international travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
B&S Eco-Cube Shinsaibashi
Ranked #112 of 239 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“advise for international travellers”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

people have to understand that at a "capsule hotel" you have yo keep quiet because others are sleeping less than 30cm from you!
don't pack your backpacks and suitcases right in front of your pod, bring them outside the sleeping area and do your packing. if you find that inconvenient, then capsule hotels are not for you.
avoid using plastic bags to carry your stuff in and out the pod, because they make terrible noise. get one of those FUROSHIKIs at a souvenir shop and use it!
a capsule hotel is not a budget hotel. it was created to cater to the japanese business people, who often needs to find a place to stay for the night and comes unprepared.
so when considering a stay in a capsule in japan, be sure to pack extremely light (leave your suitcase at your previous hotel), and keep quiet in the sleeping area (not just inside your pod) to fully enjoy the experience.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sonorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    61
    57
    12
    18
See reviews for
4
10
78
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

It was a nice experience though as i never sleep in a capsule hotel before.
But
It was really hot in the capsule!! Should have a fan or air conditioner in there or just sleep naked
It was a bit troublesome if you stay for more than one night as u have to check out at around 11am and only can re-check in at 5pm.
Staffs couldnt really speak in english hence it was difficult to ask for something or ask for direction
Otherwise...clean

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nur Zawani Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Try it. Much much better than I have anticipated. Definitely an experience that should not missed. Everything is so clean. Very safe for girls. You can keep your luggages at the lobby for free before check in.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank avelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We had a stopover in Osaka, so checked in straight from the hotel. Since our flight reached quite late, this option really worked out for us - as check in is at 17:00 and check out was early in the morning. The capsule is quite small, so if you are quite tall I think it might be uncomfortable. Overall the place was clean and good to try out for a single night.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rhea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The Chinese speaking staff member here had the worst hospitality I've experienced my entire life. Without even a greeting, she aggressively just said "GIVE ME YOUR PASSPORT!" and then looked annoyed and upset. She then kicked me and everyone else out since the hotel was closed from 10-5 and the staff did not help when I asked for tourist information. I complained the next morning to her of how it smelled like puke outside the bathroom and that another guest kept making noise all night by blasting the TV and coming in and out in 30 minute intervals. Instead she immediately blamed me and said that the other guest was a long time member so that I must have been lying. I wasn't the only one there with a bad experience, I witnessed many other guests spoken to in an extremely rude tone too. The capsules are smaller and shorter than other capsule hotels so I had to sleep a little sideways and I'm only 5'10" / 177cm. Imagine how other people would fare. The angry staff, the rude treatment, and the subpar facilities left me wanting to cancel the remainder of my booking. Staying here ruined my most of my Osaka experience. At another capsule hotel for my final day, staff was friendly and helpful and gave me tips and advice so I was able to have a great time. For the amount of money, you're better off staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Osaka hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were regretted booking this capsule for 4d3n. Its very inconvenience especially you carry huge luggage and do a lot of shopping. There is no space for you to do packing, you have to pack your needed items in a hand carry bag, leave the luggage at the reception. And there's no lift outside eco cube, yes carry your heavy luggage up and down the stairs.

Location, very convenient, walkable distance to subway and shopping areas.

Room, the capsule is extremely humid as in staying in a suana, mini tv above you but limited channels, shower rooms and toilets are very clean. Its kinda noisy especially those we do not sleep early and those woke up extremely early to prepare for next destination.

Staff, attended by a china lady who can speak Japanese. My friend misplaced her luggage key, i checked with her if she happened to see it by chance. She told me, i have to find myself its not her responsibility. I understand its our responsibility. But the way she respond boiled my heart. I asked her again if she sees the key not asking if she can find for us. She replied, no... her colleague or owner of the hostel said she didn't see it too.

after using all sort of method and help from an aussie man to unlocked the luggage, the japanese lady came to us and asked are you ok, that was after 30 mins or so. She went to opened the cubicle and asked if the key was ours. When we unwrapped, I was like what? Why don't u wait till we unlocked our luggage then come and check with us? Seriously, why waited so long then came to us?

Bad impression of their service, nuff say

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charismamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

All the descriptions make it sound like the best capsule hotel ever... "Power outlet and Wifi in each capsule!" "newly renovated" , etc. What they don't tell you is you have to check out every single day at 10am and aren't allowed to check in until 5pm, which is fine if you're doing stuff (like you should be) but pretty annoying if you want to relax for a day. Why would you pay for a hotel for multiple days if you only can use it for 3 hours before and after you wake up? Also the capsule are swelteringly hot. Not warm..humid and hot. Apparently they used the fuse for airflow for the included outlet. It's suffocating if you don't leave the door open (those who have stayed in capsules know how would be). I would have booked a different hotel the second night if I hadn't been kicked out onto the street and had to use pay for coffee shop wifi.

TL;DR Hot, humid capsule hotel that costs average to above-average. You get kicked out of the hotel every day from 10a-5p. Not as nice as they make it sound. Choose a different capsule or seriously, a hostel would be more comfortable and accommodating if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaaloha55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Grand Sauna Shinsaibashi
Grand Sauna Shinsaibashi
#23 of 239 in Osaka
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shell Nell Namba
#18 of 239 in Osaka
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&S Eco-Cube Shinsaibashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&S Eco-Cube Shinsaibashi

Property: B&S Eco-Cube Shinsaibashi
Address: 2-9-4 Nishi-shinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0086, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 239 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — B&S Eco-Cube Shinsaibashi 1.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your B&S Eco-Cube Shinsaibashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing