We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bar, great atmosphere”

Video Game Bar Space Station
Ranked #3 of 54 Fun & Games in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Space Station is a place where you can enjoy old and new video games while drinking in a bar setting. While the majority of video game bars in Japan have some kind of seating charge, Space Station is very proud to allow free entry. Customers pay only for the drinks. Space Station has the following game machines: Atari 2600, Famicom, N.E.S., Genesis, Super Famicom, Super Nintendo, Dreamcast, Xbox 360, Playstation 3, Playstation 4, Wii, and Wii U. Close to JR Namba station, as well as Namba subway station.* Owner's addendum: As Space Station climbs the TripAdvisor rankings thanks to the kind reviews of customers, new travelers are coming to Space Station with high expectations. I hope and believe that your expectations will be met when you visit but I have noticed that many patrons are surprised by the size of the bar. Keep in mind that Space Station is a small bar space where there are seats for exactly 16 customers and standing room for perhaps an additional 10 to 15 (max). The bar is open every day 7pm-2am.
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great bar, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Space station is a lovely hangout for gamers, or those who just want a different experience to the usual nightspots.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bendaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    35
    9
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osaka, Japan
1 review
“One of Osaka's most unique attractions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I've been going to Space station since it's inception. It has a unique and relaxed atmosphere. They provide a wide range of games from way back to when the technology first started to the most current innovations. there's a game there for everyone. Staff all have their own contibutions with their own friendly and sometimes zany personalities. even if you're not a game enthusiast still worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
203 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Gianna sisters come to life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Need I say more...? ;) Well this place is Nirvana for anyone who was born before 1990 and has had any experience / cherissed golden oldie consoles + there's beer! :)

Helpful?
Thank Gurumir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt_Bloch, Owner at Video Game Bar Space Station, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thanks for the review. I have never even heard of Gianna sisters until you mentioned it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A unique and friendly bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Space Station is an incredibly fun place to go and relax, have some (reasonably priced) drinks, meet friends, and of course play the games of yesteryear.

The decor is video game themed, and I was really impressed with the large range of games and game consoles available, even moreso considering they're free to play.

Also, the staff were very friendly, and made me feel at home there. All in al, highly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RORComedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Went to the Video Game Bar Space Station last night and I have to say it was one of the best nights we've had in Japan. Matt the owner has amassed a huge and impressive collection of video games from years gone by as well as newer games. Matt has some good drinks and draft beer to boot. I don't think everybody gets as drunk as we did however it helped with a bit of competition in the gaming front!
I'm not a gamer but had a brilliant night playing on stuff I haven't seen since I was a kid.
Takes 10 minutes max to walk from Namba JR station and is situatued above the vest burger joint in the history of the planet. Best burgers we've ever had, and Matt doesn't mind you eating them in the bar.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank S10bhan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt_Bloch, Owner at Video Game Bar Space Station, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Good times last night! Thanks very much for the positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Video Game Bar Space Station also viewed

 
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 

Been to Video Game Bar Space Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing