We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Hotel for many reasons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Osaka Tokyu REI Hotel
Ranked #64 of 339 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I have now stayed with Osaka Tokyu Inn on 3 separate occasions over 3 years. The reason I would recommend staying here is because of the following:
- affordable rooms that are clean and comfortable
- only 10 minutes walk to Osaka station via the underground whitey mall. This is handy for rainy weather!
- its far enough from Osaka station so you can't hear the trains night time unlike some of the closer hotels in the same price range.
- 2 levels of this hotel have a coin Laundry including drink vending machines for change if you can't be bothered asking the reception. I would request to stay on the same level as the coin laundry during your stay because it will save you time using lifts and you can leave your washing and go back to your room. Just make sure you buy some washing soap from a nearby convenience store!
- there are staff who can speak a little English, this makes check in and out a lot more easy.
- personally I thought the buffet style breakfast was good and the atmosphere was nice to sit down and eat.
- In the streets behind the Hotel there is markets including a sushi train restaurant that is nice to use if you are travelling alone.
- the rooms don't have WiFi but on that note, I found pre organising to rent a pocket WiFi from Kansai airport much better anyway!
- The rooms (as many hotels in Japan) have body soap, shampoo and conditioner.
- there is a small refrigerator in the room to keep some cold drinks etc.
- the ironing press is only really good for pants but that's another reason i recommend the coin laundry because the dryer will basically give you a better effect than the iron press will.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jasampionic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 565 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

Good: nice big room, in-room amenities, service

Drawback: boil drinking water yourself

======================================
Room stayed: Single room (non-smoking, 12 meter square)

Room rate: 5000-5500 yen (weekdays) without breakfast

Location: About 10 mins walking distance from JR Osaka/Subway Umeda stations. Located aside the main road, it is easier to find than my 1st hotel in Osaka (Hotel Kansai ホテル関西). However, the hotel signboard is not really eye-catching. It is in Doyamacho (堂山町), a very famous “night-life” area. Restaurants and convenience stores are nearby.

Front desk staffs: Well-trained and professional. One leader was standing outside the counter, standby to assist guest. Although English communication is not an issue, their English proficiency is not as what I expected from this hotel.

Room condition: Clean, nice and big (as a single room in Japan). There are 2 single beds in the room arranged for me. Good lightning. Toilet is clean.

Toiletries/amenities: Toothbrush/paste, shaver, comb, shampoos, hair dryer, pant-press, fridge, kettle and air-purifier are provided. Toiletries will be refilled everyday. In-room slippers are recycled (standard at Tokyu Inn, I remember). They are disinfected. Looks clean, but felt sticky when I wore it due to its material. No safe in the room, but you can keep important item at counter for free. No drinking water provided. You have to boil yourself. Ice dispenser is available for free. Vending machines and coin-laundry machine are available as well.

Internet: Wi-Fi and cable available in room for internet connection.

This is my 2nd stay at Tokyu Inn hotel. The standard is there and never disappoint me. I am lucky to get my membership FOC (normally 500yen) as they were having promotion. Hope that I will get better deal for room rate during my next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank etherchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

as expected, japan hotels are small in common.. not very clean but ok.
the curton is so thick which the room is very dark even in the morning, so have very good sleep..

the shower is good and have all the necessarities.

thought the location is closed to the tran station, but since the station is sooo big, it's a bit hard to find at the beginning... but after get used to the route, it is arround 10 min walk from the metro station,,, if walking to the JR station, need 5 mins more about.

a lot of food stores around which is very excited at night...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Hotel room is small but clean and got everything you need.
Around 10 mins walk from Osaka station.
There are some stores open 24 hours at the back street you will never get hungry.
Good for traveller who like shopping and travel around Osaka.
Reasonable price for this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Don't expect anything fancy. It's just a bed + toilet & shower. I would return because the price & quality is fine and as long as you don't have to stay too long on your room (other then sleeping) it's fine. Usually you don't need a lot either.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polleke74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I walked in the door of this nice hotel not expecting English service but there was! This is a thumbs up straight away for those who struggle with Japanese! Also it is very conveniently located a short walk through Whitey mall from Osaka station! Rooms are clean with amenitys that match the price of a stay very well! The ironing presses are not to good but you can borrow a small ironing board with iron at reception. breakfast on my opinion was worth the extra money and taste was good! Overall it's worth looking at this option because it's well balanced and a good place to hang your hat if your on a medium budget! The only thing that would be great is a fitness room but I guess the cost would go up.I will be staying here again this year!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasampionic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

My husband and I spent one night in this hotel and...never again! The location is not bad, it's close to Osaka Station (mind you, if you need to take the Shinkansen you need to go to Shinosaka station) and the room was clean. The decor is a bit tired. This is pretty much all that's good about this hotel.
The room was small, incredibly small even for a business hotel (keep in mind we are both short and tiny and well traveled, so we did not expect the Ritz). We stayed at several business hotels during our trip and this was by far the tiniest, so small that at night I almost felt like the walls were going to close on me. And I'm not claustrophobic, never been before staying at this hotel. Also the bathroom is more like a boat size bathroom. I think this room is too small even for one person so I suggest you look somewhere else.

And finally, we paid $200 for our night in the matchbox, a total rip off, which only makes me more angry...grrrr.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myosotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Hokke Club Osaka
Hotel Hokke Club Osaka
#58 of 339 in Osaka
237 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel New Hankyu Annex
Hotel New Hankyu Annex
#88 of 339 in Osaka
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Umeda OS Hotel
Umeda OS Hotel
#133 of 339 in Osaka
241 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel New Hankyu Osaka
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Monterey Osaka
Hotel Monterey Osaka
#50 of 339 in Osaka
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osaka Tokyu REI Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osaka Tokyu REI Hotel

Address: 2-1 Doyamacho, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0027, Osaka Prefecture (Formerly Osaka Tokyu Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 339 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range: $66 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Osaka Tokyu REI Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Osaka Tokyu REI Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osaka Tokyu Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing