We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't miss”
Review of Spa World

Spa World
Ranked #1 of 55 Spas & Wellness in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Drawing on natural spring water, Osaka's Spa World is one of the largest hot spring complexes in the world, featuring themed rooms modeled after spas around the world and a water theme park on the roof.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New york
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Can't miss”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

It was about 15 min from Osaka JR station. It can be reached by subway or train.

I arrived around 10:30 am, I was told I only need to pay 1,000 yen to use the facility for the entire day. i could not believe it. You need 2 100 yen coin for the lockers, one for the shoes and one for your clothing. The locker for your valuable is free.

Women use one level and men the other level. Each level has different theme: Asia vs Europe. Men have the Asian theme for odd month. I really like the Japanese style spa. The water in one of the pool can go up to 42 Celsius; very hot!!. Everybody walk around naked or almost naked because you can have only wash clothes. You get use to it after a while.

I spent more than 3 and half hours there just for the spa and sauna on the men floor.

if you wan to to go to other floor, you can dress in the clothing provided by the facility.

I believe it is worth the money and time!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidNYC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    253
    108
    25
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Basically a spa "mall" with a bunch of vendors”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Don't go:

- If you don't speak Japanese well. I spent a good 20 minutes trying to figure out what services were being offered. In all of Japan, Spa World was where I encountered the least amount of English being spoken. It was really difficult to get around and ask questions. When I finally got my massage, it was impossible to ask for less/more pressure and ended up being in uncomfortable pain most of the time.

- If you come late. They say this place is open 24 hours. TECHNICALLY, yes. But not really. They close the family/all-gender area pretty early which is what I was most looking forward to. This especially becomes a hindrance when you come with friends and you're stuck with just visiting the gender-specific areas and have to be comfortable with being naked next to each other. If you come late, your food options will also be limited. We cam around 9pm on a weekday and it was a GHOST TOWN.

- If you're uncomfortable being naked. The gender-specific areas are pretty awesome looking and they have a lot of interesting areas. But you WILL have to walk around the entire area with just a tiny wash cloth and nothing else.

I had a bad experience because of all three points above, particularly the closing of the waterpark/all-gender area.

Also note, that this is more of a spa "mall". They have different vendors on all the different floors offering different services. On the bright side - the entrance fee is very cheap ($10?) but it will add up if you order services from these vendors.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ellynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Under priced”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Exceeded all expectation, so much to offer so much to do. Very relaxing, time flies by. Definitely worth much more than the 2,700 yen. If you do go make sure to pay the extra 800 yen to experience the bed rock sauna. Don't leave unless you've done it all!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Passporttracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Spa world was a really fun experience, very relaxing and a great way to unwind after walking around the city all day. It was pretty cheap to get in (1000 yen for all day access) and there were tons of different hot and cold pools to choose from in the spa. If you plan to use the gym though bring your own shoes and socks. They have rental ones, but they charge you to use them.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rswanhuyser2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No need to travel far to experience an onsen!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This place was packed of great fun! Definitely a must in summer but also winter.

It was so cheap for 480 YEN we got entry to different onsen themes such as European and Asian onsen. Entry fee also had access to the pool recreational area where kids and adults can swim in the pool, under caves and ride the rides. The rides were actually fun even for adults. For 300 YEN you can go once or 1000 YEN unlimited which I do recommended.

You can spend at least 2-3 hours here. If you aren't comfortable with being naked don't worry they have a family onsen area, which my brother spent there. Heaps of food stores in 2 different levels as well and small arcade games. You see kids running around everywhere enjoying themselves.

Onsens are a must try, don't forget there are different temperatures for the onsens and different styles. They had single bathtubs as well so you could lay in there for hours then enjoy the many saunas they have as well.

Bring small change as well for shoe and lockers!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank frecklesthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spa World also viewed

 
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 

Been to Spa World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing