We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osaka Castle

Osaka Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.82*
and up
Osaka Afternoon Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise
Ranked #7 of 856 things to do in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Once the largest castle in Japan when originally built in the 1580s, this castle has an observation platform with city views and a history museum that uses holograms, 3D pictures and other technologies to describe the history of the castle and the period during which it was built.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
193 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The castle and its surrounding is very pleasant indeed. The fort, castle building, and the park is very nice indeed. Recommended for family outing. Climbing up all the way to the top level will pay off. The view of Osaka is great. I went there during the daytime and unsure how it looks like at night (if possible at all). I felt that the castle is over maintained. The castle looks too new to me. Perhaps it is the Japanese way of having tip-top perfection.Besides the castle, one can wander around the compound, enjoy the scenery, and relax in the park. There are some small stores in the park where one can have a bite and buy some handicraft as well. Recommended to go if you have never been to a Japanese castle before.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank eywchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,584
    2,113
    919
    144
    34
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
581 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Closed when I visited - check your dates!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Getting to Osaka Castle on public transport is very easy. Once off the train there are signs in English that help you exit the train station at the right exit. Once you are above ground you can see the castle poking up above the tree line.
You have to walk through a beautiful park (which has public toilets dotted all over) and passed a variety of food vendors. Sadly I can't tell you too much about the interior of the castle itself as it is closed around New Year which is when I went. I hope that people find this helpful though so that they can avoid the disappointment that I suffered!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TartanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
126 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Osaka's Symbol??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Loved the surrounding area but not the Castle. Not worth the visit. But, do like the scenic walk from the station to the castle and back to the other station. Also, loved those eateries and souvenir shops outside the castle. If you are not into the history of the castle, don't bother paying the entrance fee!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BB2015LWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely park, interesting castle, but don't bother going inside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

The park surrounding Osaka Castle is lovely and a great place for a run. You can take a look at the towers, castle walls, and moat, all of which are quite impressive. The castle itself is beautiful with interesting architecture. The area right outside the castle has some tasty food trucks (Takoyaki!) that I'd suggest giving a try.

I deducted one point due to the inside of the castle. It is an (uninteresting) museum inside that has not preserved the original castle's interior. I'd skip the entrance fee and going inside. Just enjoy the walk through the park an architecture of the castle's exterior.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

To get to the castle you walk through a nice park that surrounds it. When we got to the castle it was a great opportunity to take photos and look around. Once inside we asked the information for the English audio guides which were helpful and made the castle interesting as it explained all the artefacts and history. The audio guides were also free to use which was a plus. Osaka castle had a few little street food stalls around it which had delicioys takoyaki. All the staff were lovely. Worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank missmonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka Castle also viewed

Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 

Been to Osaka Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing