We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of the marine world”

Osaka Aquarium Kaiyukan
Book In Advance
More Info
$91.21*
and up
Osaka Aquarium Kaiyukan Admission with Osaka Bay Cruise
More Info
$598.85*
and up
Private Full Day Charter including Osaka, Nara, and Kyoto from Osaka
Ranked #2 of 967 things to do in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: See the wide range of habitats that make up the Pacific Rim on a tour of this fascinating aquarium, which takes you from one environment to another and lets you feel as though you’re underwater.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A taste of the marine world”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My daughter and I were planning to make our last day in Osaka to visit its famed Universal Studios. However, since we wont be enjoying it to the fullest because we should be back to the hotel by 4 pm in time for our 8 pm flight back to Manila, we decided to pass the chance and choose the Osaka Aquarium instead. We really didnt regret it at all.

Known as one of the world's best and largest aquariums, it houses a huge collection of marine and antarctic life. I really enjoyed the cute penguins and dancing dolphins. We already have these enormous whale sharks in Sorsogon but Osaka Aquarium has the "younger" ones so it was a sight to enjoy as well. We rented audio guides (Y500 each) so we will have some background info on the animal displays. We had plenty of videos taken since these sea creatures were more beautiful as they glided in the waters.

Its also beside the famed Tempozan Ferris Wheel, which was once the tallest Ferris Wheel in the world. We ate lunch in the harbor village mall adjacent to it and enjoyed the ramen treats and souvenirs.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BikeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,293
    1,863
    616
    98
    52
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had been to Singapore SEA Aquarium and so when we were planning a trip to Osaka Aquarium, we were afraid it might be a repetitive trip. To my surprise, the trip was so worthwhile and we enjoyed the Osaka Aquarium more than SEA Aquarium of Singapore.

You can get really up-close to mammals like seals and penguins. The main tank were much bigger and impressive than the SEA Aquarium. There are lots of benches around the main tank, so you can marvel at the fantasy of underwater. The route starts off at the top level and spiral the way down.

We absolutely love this place, even as adults!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sharonleesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Aquarium”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is a LARGE facility that has all kinds of animals. The main tank is central to the building and you see it from multiple angles at various depths, which gives a great view of all the large sharks and rays that reside here.
The other tanks are on the outside of the pathway as you make your way through the building and the variety of animals is amazing. There is a pool at the end where you are able to touch some of the rays and sharks which was really good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ash N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

One of the best aquariums I have been to in the world. You definitely need more than two hours to really enjoy the whole thing. A number of discount packages are offered with subway passes and other attractions that you should look into before you go, otherwise it can be pricey (though average for a US aquarium). I would definitely go again!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GPY711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeju Island, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing, just amazing”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We left our visit to the Aquarium for last on our Osaka trip. We are glad we didn't have anywhere else to be. We were there for about 4 hours, we definitely took our time.
The exhibits are set to resemble the animals' original habitats and seemingly they do a pretty good job. When I saw the Great Barrier Reef tank I understood why people scuba dive. So many colors!
I've been to aquariums before but there were a number of species I hadn't seen anywhere else which was great. Given its location it's only natural the aquarium has a Pacific Rim focus and they do a very good job at that.
The highlight of the aquarium is definitely the Pacific Ocean tanks. They have whale sharks, hammerhead sharks, stingrays, manta rays, you name it. Also it's gigantic so you get different views throughout the aquarium (so you can of course continue obsessing over the sharks like we were). Kids will love this place, but adults will too - whether you are an animal lover or not. This is a great showcase of the variety of species and marine habitats on the Pacific Rim. Bonus - on the 4th floor you can touch rays and smaller sharks.
Fantastic. I want to go back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank anniesaturria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka Aquarium Kaiyukan also viewed

Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 

Been to Osaka Aquarium Kaiyukan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing