We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eye Opening for the Kids & Parents”

Osaka Aquarium Kaiyukan
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$90.91*
and up
Osaka Aquarium Kaiyukan Admission with Osaka Bay Cruise
Ranked #2 of 930 things to do in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: See the wide range of habitats that make up the Pacific Rim on a tour of this fascinating aquarium, which takes you from one environment to another and lets you feel as though you’re underwater.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eye Opening for the Kids & Parents”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Worth visiting as it's one of the biggest aquarium I've visited with plenty of variety of fishes. The design of the aquarium is one of its kind.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank megetaway_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,244
    1,827
    608
    96
    48
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing aquarium”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Huge tanks which cover several levels. The aquarium includes a whale shark, giant crabs and many jellyfish. Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaye J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

A little pricey but get one of the Kaiyukan combo pass to save some money. This aquarium is wonderful and definitely worth a visit. I visited about 2-3 hours before closing time and there were less people though it was a weekend so no problems with getting a good view of the marine animals. Worth going if you have kids as they will be fascinated and awed by the various animals ranging from the seal to whale shark, giant crabs and jelly fish! I got to see some marine creatures that I have never seen before. At the end just before the exit, there is an open area for a closer look (and feel) of some animals.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lilacsugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome aquarium”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Worth going as its rare to see a whale shark or jelly fish in an aquarium. I really liked the variety of octopuss, jelly fish and massive crabs...like gigantic spiders that look like something out of a horror movie. Kids will love it. There is a small cafe half way through the exhibit selling small things to keep you going. Get off at Osakako station and head towards the GIANT ferris wheel. Aquarium is next to it. 5min walk.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dissin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Not so large as I expected”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

While interesting and worth the visit, I feel this aquarium has managed to build up more hype than it really deserves. I suspect some of the tanks may (still) be not spacious enough for big animals used to having a whole ocean to swim in, if not downright overcrowded. The otters and jellyfish are definitely the star actors and the big Amazonian fish, whose name now escapes me, incredibly striking. I like London's aquarium better. We got a discount on the ticket thanks to a public transport day unlimited day pass, and I think this was a good deal. But I will not be coming back soon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka Aquarium Kaiyukan also viewed

Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 

Been to Osaka Aquarium Kaiyukan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing