We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Spot to Recover from Jet Lag”
Review of remm Shin Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
remm Shin Osaka
Ranked #29 of 362 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I flew into Tokyo and hopped straight onto a train to Osaka as I was heading even further south the following day to Nagasaki.

The Remm was a snap to find - just a two minute walk within Shin Osaka from the North Exit of the platforms. You walk through a doorway, past a Regus Office and into a lift (elevator) lobby. The hotel reception in on the 12th floor.

Check in was quick and easy. There were automatic machines but I didn't look to see if they "spoke" English or not. The women on reception did speak English and I was sorted and ready to head to my room in minutes having been given a key, a bottle of water and a choice of tea bags to use with the kettle in my room.

My room was just down the hall. It was compact as I would expect but kitted out with everything that I could have asked for and more.

The bedroom had a flat screen television with movies for 1000 Yen a day (standard in Japanese business hotels), a small fridge for the water and anything else I wanted to put into it, a kettle and cup, a small desk and great lighting. There was also an alarm clock next to the bed and a set of phone adapters that pulled out of the bed side table.

The bed was firm, as most Asian beds are but very comfortable indeed.

The bathroom had a fantastic rain forest shower with a HUGE shower head. Hot water was plentiful. Shampoo, Conditioner and shower gel came in large containers and there was face/hand soap on the sink as well. Additionally there was a hair brush, razor, cotton swabs and toothbrush.

I didn't try their breakfast as there were plenty of places in the station to eat. Dinner was easy to find without going any further than the station either.

I did pop into Osaka proper to buy a camera and there were trains about every 3 minutes and it took about 5 minutes to get to Osaka Station.

Spotlessly clean, well air conditioned and very comfortable - a great way to start a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Rachellejv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 795 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

If you are looking for a hotel near Shin-Osaka Station, this is sure a great choice. Everything is very clean and totally futuristic. You don't miss anything - The supertiny room is fully equipped!

PRO (+)
- Near Shin-Osaka Station
- Superclean
- Friendly Staff
- Modern and futuristic amenities
- Direct Access to Trainstation
- Fast Wifi
- Great location

CON (-)
- Not recommendable for longer stays
- Quite no space for bags

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank where_is_at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Excellent location. You don't even need to get out of the JR Station roof. Great for solo traveler. The room is a bit small, but I'm not complaining. Modern design, new, and very clean. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janegira J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Located in a good location -right above JR Shin Osaka Station- it was really convenient. Remm Shin Osaka is a modern business hotel, with massage chairs in every room. It's bed was also soft too. However, there were two things could be improved.
First, the front desk was a little bit 'scared' about foreigners. I could feel that she was nervous when she found I wasn't a Japanese. She forgot to tell me about details such as free tea bags for guests in front of her. Although it was small, it still made me feel a little upset.
Second was that their breakfast. I tried their 'Western Set' which was a steamed pork steak with tomato sauce. It was tasteless. Others like bread, butter, soup, cereal were all-you-can-eat buffet style, but not many choices.

飯店的位置很好,就在新大阪站的上部樓層,適合趕新幹線、去機場的旅客。單人房間不大但算舒適,每間房都有按摩椅,床的品質也不錯。不過可能是因為地點的關係有點偏貴。讓人有點失望的是櫃台小姐對應外國旅客不太熟練,儘管我會說一點日文也試著用日文check in,但還是可以明顯感到她的緊張,而且她忘記跟我說放在她面前的茶包可以讓旅客取用,雖然是小事但可以感受到日本人因為怕無法溝通就想趕快把你送走那種感覺...

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HsinYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014


Inside of Shin Osaka station = 2-3 mins and you're on the shinkansen
Very Affordable
Generally clean/modern room (rain shower/deep tub)
Free WIFI in-room

Room dusty.

Staff tried to give us a smoking room saying "thats all we have" even tho we requested non-smoking, but found a non-smoking room when we mentioned we were traveling with a 1 year old.

Did not buy the meal package; you don't need it. Multiple eateries located seconds from the lobby. McDonalds 30 paces from the entrance (if you get desperate, u shouldn't be eating here, you're in Japan silly, unless you're there to try the novelty of a 'shrimp burger') Mini market located in station one floor down, also decent ramen and other eateries there.

IMO perfect staging point for hitting Osaka, Kyoto, and the surrounding areas. We came from Shibuya/Tokyo. Easy transition carrying our luggage, shopping merchandise, and what not from train to room.

Room Tip: Mention "NON SMOKING" when making the reservation if you are a non smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

It was my first trip to Japan, and -of course- to Osaka.
Came from Kansai Airport, the best way to reach this hotel, which exactly on the top of shin-osaka station, was by train.
I decided to buy Japan Rail Pass. The best way to reach Shin-Osaka station from Kansai Airport is using Ltd. Express Haruka train. Free if you have the Japan Rail Pass.

Arrived at Shin-Osaka station, we just needed to walk 10 minutes through the Shinkansen Train Station and then turn right, just to find the ultra-modern entrance to the hotel.
For first timers like us, you need to know that train station in Japan are separated to Local Train Station, Shinkansen Train Station and Metro Station.

Now my opinion about this hotel:

EXACTLY above the Shin-Osaka Shinkansen train station. Very2 comfortable if you travel using train (like most of the tourists and locals do). Shin-Osaka station itself is very lively, has lots of stores and restaurants.
A very good location if you also plan to visit Kyoto, Nara and Kobe. It's easy to reach those cities with direct Shinkansen connections.
BUT if you are planning to visit Dotonburi. (sure you do as a tourist!) Your Japan Rail Pass is not very helpful here. In this case, better to use the Metro lines. You can check hyperdia.com for that.
Score: 8.5/10

First impression: Very unique entrance, because nobody there. Came in then turn right for the elevators. Concierge is on the 12th floor. Not very big but has modern design, super clean. Score: 7/10

The younger staffs were friendly and willing to try to speak English, while older staffs spoke only Japanese. Mostly of them were very polite. If you come earlier than their check in time, you can store your luggage first.
Score: 9/10.

I must say: WOW. Ultra modern, and even more ultra modern toilet (just try it yourself).
Great shower. Super Fast Wifi, and free! And a massage chair! --> what a surprise.
A rather small room, but was as an expected size for a room in Japan.
We loved the view from the room. And you can literally use the shower and enjoying the scenery at the same time.
Score: 9/10

very competitive. We spent less than US $100 for each night.
Score: 10/10

One of the best decisions I made for choosing a hotel.
Would recommend this hotel and would stay here again if we visit Osaka!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank OneXaverio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is new and it's located inside Shin Osaka Station. The location is great in term of transportation. Room style is so trendy! I love it! The only thing is the room size. It's very small-maximum for 1 1/2 people:) Breakfast is okay.
Nice amenities! A lot of outlets to charge your devices.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Rika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shin Osaka / North Area
Courtyard by Marriott Shin-Osaka Station
Shin Osaka / North Area
Shin-Osaka Station Hotel
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shin Osaka / North Area
Shin-Osaka Station Hotel Annex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to remm Shin Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about remm Shin Osaka

Address: 1-1-1 Miyahara, Yodogawa-ku, Osaka 532-0003, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 362 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range: $112 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — remm Shin Osaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your remm Shin Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing