We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of remm Shin Osaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
remm Shin Osaka
Ranked #20 of 285 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Excellent location. You don't even need to get out of the JR Station roof. Great for solo traveler. The room is a bit small, but I'm not complaining. Modern design, new, and very clean. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janegira J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    311
    79
    8
    4
See reviews for
77
190
119
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Located in a good location -right above JR Shin Osaka Station- it was really convenient. Remm Shin Osaka is a modern business hotel, with massage chairs in every room. It's bed was also soft too. However, there were two things could be improved.
First, the front desk was a little bit 'scared' about foreigners. I could feel that she was nervous when she found I wasn't a Japanese. She forgot to tell me about details such as free tea bags for guests in front of her. Although it was small, it still made me feel a little upset.
Second was that their breakfast. I tried their 'Western Set' which was a steamed pork steak with tomato sauce. It was tasteless. Others like bread, butter, soup, cereal were all-you-can-eat buffet style, but not many choices.

飯店的位置很好,就在新大阪站的上部樓層,適合趕新幹線、去機場的旅客。單人房間不大但算舒適,每間房都有按摩椅,床的品質也不錯。不過可能是因為地點的關係有點偏貴。讓人有點失望的是櫃台小姐對應外國旅客不太熟練,儘管我會說一點日文也試著用日文check in,但還是可以明顯感到她的緊張,而且她忘記跟我說放在她面前的茶包可以讓旅客取用,雖然是小事但可以感受到日本人因為怕無法溝通就想趕快把你送走那種感覺...
早餐我覺得相當普通,是在飯店跟新大阪站直結的轉角處的餐廳,我點的是洋食套餐,結果是一片很薄的水煮豬排加番茄醬,吃起來非常沒味道。其他的東西像麵包、奶油、穀片優格等則是採自助式的吃到飽形式,但種類不多。個人覺得不值1200円左右的價錢。

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HsinYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Pros:

Inside of Shin Osaka station = 2-3 mins and you're on the shinkansen
Very Affordable
Quiet
Generally clean/modern room (rain shower/deep tub)
Free WIFI in-room


Cons:
Room dusty.

Staff tried to give us a smoking room saying "thats all we have" even tho we requested non-smoking, but found a non-smoking room when we mentioned we were traveling with a 1 year old.

Other:
Did not buy the meal package; you don't need it. Multiple eateries located seconds from the lobby. McDonalds 30 paces from the entrance (if you get desperate, u shouldn't be eating here, you're in Japan silly, unless you're there to try the novelty of a 'shrimp burger') Mini market located in station one floor down, also decent ramen and other eateries there.

IMO perfect staging point for hitting Osaka, Kyoto, and the surrounding areas. We came from Shibuya/Tokyo. Easy transition carrying our luggage, shopping merchandise, and what not from train to room.

Room Tip: Mention "NON SMOKING" when making the reservation if you are a non smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solo City
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

It was my first trip to Japan, and -of course- to Osaka.
Came from Kansai Airport, the best way to reach this hotel, which exactly on the top of shin-osaka station, was by train.
I decided to buy Japan Rail Pass. The best way to reach Shin-Osaka station from Kansai Airport is using Ltd. Express Haruka train. Free if you have the Japan Rail Pass.

Arrived at Shin-Osaka station, we just needed to walk 10 minutes through the Shinkansen Train Station and then turn right, just to find the ultra-modern entrance to the hotel.
For first timers like us, you need to know that train station in Japan are separated to Local Train Station, Shinkansen Train Station and Metro Station.

Now my opinion about this hotel:

LOCATION:
EXACTLY above the Shin-Osaka Shinkansen train station. Very2 comfortable if you travel using train (like most of the tourists and locals do). Shin-Osaka station itself is very lively, has lots of stores and restaurants.
A very good location if you also plan to visit Kyoto, Nara and Kobe. It's easy to reach those cities with direct Shinkansen connections.
BUT if you are planning to visit Dotonburi. (sure you do as a tourist!) Your Japan Rail Pass is not very helpful here. In this case, better to use the Metro lines. You can check hyperdia.com for that.
Score: 8.5/10

CONCIERGE
First impression: Very unique entrance, because nobody there. Came in then turn right for the elevators. Concierge is on the 12th floor. Not very big but has modern design, super clean. Score: 7/10

STAFFS
The younger staffs were friendly and willing to try to speak English, while older staffs spoke only Japanese. Mostly of them were very polite. If you come earlier than their check in time, you can store your luggage first.
Score: 9/10.

ROOM
I must say: WOW. Ultra modern, and even more ultra modern toilet (just try it yourself).
Great shower. Super Fast Wifi, and free! And a massage chair! --> what a surprise.
A rather small room, but was as an expected size for a room in Japan.
We loved the view from the room. And you can literally use the shower and enjoying the scenery at the same time.
Score: 9/10

PRICE
very competitive. We spent less than US $100 for each night.
Score: 10/10

Overall,
One of the best decisions I made for choosing a hotel.
Would recommend this hotel and would stay here again if we visit Osaka!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank OneXaverio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is new and it's located inside Shin Osaka Station. The location is great in term of transportation. Room style is so trendy! I love it! The only thing is the room size. It's very small-maximum for 1 1/2 people:) Breakfast is okay.
Nice amenities! A lot of outlets to charge your devices.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

After our first stay early last year (http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g298566-d3179803-r153050903-Remm_Shin_Osaka-Osaka_Osaka_Prefecture_Kinki.html#REVIEWS), it was a no brainer to come back again on a return visit to Japan due to the quality of the facilities and the location - its proximity to the Shinkansen and other train services. Once again, the Corner Twin worked brilliantly for us as did the location. I found myself looking forward to our stay here as we travelled through Japan.

I reiterate my directions from my earlier review since if arriving from the airport, the hotel is difficult to find. From the Shinkansen, it's easy. Just take the Central Gate exit and turn right!

But the Kansai Airport Limited Express Haruka drops you in the main JR station. From here (platform 11), take the "East" exit, turn right and follow the walkway for a hundred metres or so, taking a right into the large plaza just past the calligraphy store. You'll find the Shinkansen "Central" gate on your right and the Remm entry straight ahead of you.

Stopping in as we changed trains at Shin-Osaka a few days before our stay, the Remm staff didn't bat an eyelid at our request to leave a large suitcase with them for a few days rather than drag it out to Nagasaki with us. For the modest charge of JPY100/day, we found ourselves travelling a lot lighter and were very appreciative.

The room was, once again, fantastic! Small, but with comfortable beds and lots of gadgets.

Once again, the overwhelming negatives are the massage chair which just gets in the way in such a small room and the lack of a desk.

Our stay this time was much more economical at just over half what we paid last time. Wasn't quite sure why, but I certainly didn't argue such excellent value!

Final tip, when venturing out in search of a convenience store late the other night after the station was largely in shutdown mode, I discovered that if you take the westernmost of the bank of three elevators (on the left as you're facing them), it'll take you straight down to street level at Level 1 where there's a 24 hour Seven-Eleven just outside. Turn right through the bus station as you exit the lift foyer and follow the walkway, turn right again at the street sidewalk and the Seven-Eleven is right there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ramcub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Stay here for 3 nights during my business trip to Kyoto. Choose this hotel as it's about 25 mins local express train ride to Kyoto. Hotel just beside shin osaka subway station (midosuji line) exit 1 from the train platform. Walk inside the hankyu building and take the escalator up. The hotel entrance is just in front of a cafe. Room is small but nice and clean. Bathroom is amazingly clean. Bed is comfortable. Try to get a non smoking room as there is a slight smell inside the smoking room. The room design is just perfect for business or leisure trip. Great place to stay. Definitely worth come back to stay !

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanchuah2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shin Osaka / North Area
Courtyard Shin-Osaka Station
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#7 of 285 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#28 of 285 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to remm Shin Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about remm Shin Osaka

Property: remm Shin Osaka
Address: 1-1-1 Miyahara, Yodogawa-ku, Osaka 532-0003, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 285 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — remm Shin Osaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your remm Shin Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing