We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to sleep, if you're tired and don't care about anything else.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osaka Daiichi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Osaka Daiichi Hotel
Ranked #39 of 295 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place to sleep, if you're tired and don't care about anything else.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2009

Thought we'd give this place a try after learning about its great location - which is great.

The hotel itself is not. Upon checkin we were greeted with staff who knew very little to no English, and provided no assistance with our luggage. The staff were sufficiently polite, but quite distant and not particularly warm or inviting.
The carpet in our room stank, and the room temperature was extremely hot, with no ability to adjust - this is particularly unfortunate for people who stay for multiple nights, as if you can't adjust to sleeping under extremely hot conditions, you won't be able to sleep at all.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    299
    115
    11
    4
See reviews for
81
63
119
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
richmond
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

I stayed there for many days. The rate is average but not cheap. I like its location with access to JR and major transit network. I booked a twin room, its size is large enough for us. The front desk is very polite and their manger is greeting guests everyday.

Dislike: The hotel is not an upscaled hotel with limited facilities. Its modest old furniture and decor is not impressive, I think it is different from what we see from its web page. Its bathroom is large but I can smell odor from its shower curtain for some reason. I would rate the hotel with average experience only. In the last two days, the room beside us a few girls were partying till very late and it was absolutely annoying.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andytina-wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2009

Hmmm .... this is not a destination hotel but a clean enough place to sleep near the JR Train Station. Not a very Western friendly hotel. We went for a vacation and don't know about business facilities or pool/gym ... I understand there aren't any. The decor is kind of space-trailer ... laminated walls in the hallway, prefab bathrooms.
PROS: People at the desk spoke English well enough. Starbucks in the lobby. Rooms are clean and quiet enough if no loud group is in the hall. Decent group of restaurants on the lowest level if you can find them. Shower head is great ... can choose the pressure and nice hot water in abundance.
CONS: Bed extremely hard, no English TV options, the remote was only in Japanese and the English instructions were cryptic. Breakfast was cafeteria style and the food was really basic ... Starbucks has more options.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed ... concrete slab.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HongKongBabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2008

The hotel is convenient as its only a few miniutes walk to the train station. Near a lot of shops, and only 2 stops on the JR away from the main eating areas. I would rate it as a 2 star hotel with basic facilities. The rooms are small especially the bathroom.

If you are looking for a roof over your head without any frills, this is the place. Not cheap for what you get, but you pay for convenience of location.

I cannot say that I would stay there again, not that I had any really bad experiences, but the decor definately needs renovating. There was also a smell in the room.

Good Teppenyaki restaurant in the hotel, good deals for lunch.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank krust_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2007

My husband and I arrived at 12 noon with luggage in tow and though check in time was 2pm, we decided to try and see if our room was ready only to be told to come back later (in not very friendly terms). Not very friendly staff and they spoke limited English. Room was small. Not very clean, bed was hard, side table was dirty and the bathroom was very small. On the positive side, the location was good, there is a starbucks near the foyer of the hotel and walking distance to many places.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragon_chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#49 of 295 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel New Hankyu Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Monterey Osaka
Hotel Monterey Osaka
#45 of 295 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#17 of 295 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Umeda OS Hotel
Umeda OS Hotel
#128 of 295 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osaka Daiichi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osaka Daiichi Hotel

Property: Osaka Daiichi Hotel
Address: 1-9-20 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#21 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#26 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Osaka Daiichi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 447
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotel.de, Rakuten and Ctrip TA so you can book your Osaka Daiichi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dai Ichi Osaka Hotel
Dai Ichi Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing