We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, with minor issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Osaka Daiichi Hotel
Ranked #38 of 298 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
richmond
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, with minor issues”
Reviewed October 12, 2009

I stayed there for many days. The rate is average but not cheap. I like its location with access to JR and major transit network. I booked a twin room, its size is large enough for us. The front desk is very polite and their manger is greeting guests everyday.

Dislike: The hotel is not an upscaled hotel with limited facilities. Its modest old furniture and decor is not impressive, I think it is different from what we see from its web page. Its bathroom is large but I can smell odor from its shower curtain for some reason. I would rate the hotel with average experience only. In the last two days, the room beside us a few girls were partying till very late and it was absolutely annoying.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andytina-wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    302
    119
    12
    4
See reviews for
84
65
120
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

Hmmm .... this is not a destination hotel but a clean enough place to sleep near the JR Train Station. Not a very Western friendly hotel. We went for a vacation and don't know about business facilities or pool/gym ... I understand there aren't any. The decor is kind of space-trailer ... laminated walls in the hallway, prefab bathrooms.
PROS: People at the desk spoke English well enough. Starbucks in the lobby. Rooms are clean and quiet enough if no loud group is in the hall. Decent group of restaurants on the lowest level if you can find them. Shower head is great ... can choose the pressure and nice hot water in abundance.
CONS: Bed extremely hard, no English TV options, the remote was only in Japanese and the English instructions were cryptic. Breakfast was cafeteria style and the food was really basic ... Starbucks has more options.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed ... concrete slab.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HongKongBabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2008

The hotel is convenient as its only a few miniutes walk to the train station. Near a lot of shops, and only 2 stops on the JR away from the main eating areas. I would rate it as a 2 star hotel with basic facilities. The rooms are small especially the bathroom.

If you are looking for a roof over your head without any frills, this is the place. Not cheap for what you get, but you pay for convenience of location.

I cannot say that I would stay there again, not that I had any really bad experiences, but the decor definately needs renovating. There was also a smell in the room.

Good Teppenyaki restaurant in the hotel, good deals for lunch.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank krust_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2007

My husband and I arrived at 12 noon with luggage in tow and though check in time was 2pm, we decided to try and see if our room was ready only to be told to come back later (in not very friendly terms). Not very friendly staff and they spoke limited English. Room was small. Not very clean, bed was hard, side table was dirty and the bathroom was very small. On the positive side, the location was good, there is a starbucks near the foyer of the hotel and walking distance to many places.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragon_chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2006

The good-
Great location by the Osaka station and shopping, beautiful rooms, clean facility, and friendly staff.
The bad-
Want to relax or stay in shape? No pool, no gym, no access to a gym, and the staff don't know any gyms nearby.
Want to check your email or send a fax? No business center and only dial-up internet access from rooms with hotel phone rates applied, slow speed, and dropped connections. High speed internet is available at a cost of JPY10000 (that was US$91 when I stayed) for a single 10 minute session! The staff does have a list of Internet cafe's in walking distance.
Have a question? Better ask the staff in Japanese.
By the way - skip the breakfast. Fresher food and better values at the eki (station)

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BKR-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 2, 2006

Really enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The hotel is fairly modern and is located close to the main Osaka rail terminal and a very large underground shopping mall with lots of restaurants. Hotel was clean and tidy with small but adequate rooms and a good Starbucks at ground floor level for essential coffee and breakfast (by the time you've had a week in Japan, you will really crave a tuna melt!) The hotel is fairly distinctive in design, being round - all of the rooms at each level are off a single round corridor, so don't forget your number! Ask for a high room for a good view.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#52 of 298 in Osaka
1,337 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel New Hankyu Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Monterey Osaka
Hotel Monterey Osaka
#45 of 298 in Osaka
705 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#17 of 298 in Osaka
1,833 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Umeda OS Hotel
Umeda OS Hotel
#130 of 298 in Osaka
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osaka Daiichi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osaka Daiichi Hotel

Property: Osaka Daiichi Hotel
Address: 1-9-20 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#21 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#26 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Osaka Daiichi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 447
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Hotel.de, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Osaka Daiichi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dai Ichi Osaka Hotel
Dai Ichi Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing