We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, reasonable price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Namba Oriental Hotel
Ranked #25 of 322 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Located in Namba area, very near to Kintetsu, JR, Metro & Nankai station (5mins walking distance) , restuarant and shops nearby, very convenience! Nice staff. Reasonable price!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sdon29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
There are newer reviews for Namba Oriental Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 654 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2010

I visited Osaka on a mission so the hotel for me was a place to dump my bags and sleep only. For this it was utterly fantastic.
Because it is located in the middle of basicly pedestrian only streets there is no traffic noise. The staff speak good english and are helpful.
VERY important if you are a non smoker is to request a non smoking room.The difference is phenominal and I suspect one floor is non smoking because I diddn't notice a heavy smoke smell most of the time. .
Remember the Japanese are fairly heavy smokers still.
I had a single room which meant double bed a small couch,a table,clothes storage and a reasonable sized bathroom. Everything was immaculately clean.
Now some tips.--Theres a pay phone in the lobby thats heaps cheaper than the phones in your room
Just to the right of the ground floor entrance is a Lawsons which is like a corner shop with emergency supplies open 24 hours.
turn left out the door and on the first corner is a small supermarket that has fresh fruit
Go straight ahead from the reception desk and theres an "english" pub with good beer and they do a sheppards pie worth eating if you just arrived and arent feeling adventurous.
DO take one of their tourist maps if you venture more than a block or two away on foot because its easy to get lost.
Will I stay there again ?? Yes

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

I stayed at the Namba Oriental for 5 nights in September 2010. The accommodation was excellent. Very clean rooms and bathroom, excellent television reception, internet connection for the laptop etc. The elevators were fast and there was never a long wait. The hotel is in excellent condition throughout.
My only gripe was the breakfast. The dining room seemed to be constantly full to overflowing. I tolerated that as I thought the breakfast was part of the room rate. Shock horror....upon departure I was presented with a bill for nearly 1500 Japanese Yen per breakfast consumed. MCDonalds (located next to the hotel) did a comprehensive breakfast combo for around 500 yen and it was a more appealing option. Breakfast aside, this is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MurrayRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

This hotel was decent. It was close to Dotonbori which was great! The room was a little old but nice. My chief complaint is that the whole place smelled like smoke. I wanted to hold my breath in the lobby, elevator, and hallways because the smell was so strong. If this doesn't bother you then the place was nice. Fortunately we were in a nonsmoking room so it didn't smell like the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Decent room, fun location in the middle of all the action and amazing staff who couldn't do more for us. You're right by several subways and 100's of restaurants and bars. Only drawback is we didn't get great restaurant recommendations so prepare before you go.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floridia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

A decent place in every respect, the basic twin room we stayed in was small and not cheap.
I think you are paying for the superb location near to the Nankai Namba station in the atmospheric pedestrianised part of town.
Room although small was well laid out and spotlessly clean.
I cannot but think though that there is something else out there that just does things that bit better for around the same price - thus only an average rating.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Ginch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights recently, we stayed on the 9th floor which is renovated and has some benefits like 2 hours later checkout, free newspapers etc. The room was nicely decorated, and it was large compared to other hotels rooms in Japan. The bed was very large and comfy but the pillows were really hard! The bathroom and toiletries were good. Free internet was useful although it was difficult at first to figure out how to use it. The staff were really helpful. However the hotel has a slight old and run down feel to it and could do with further updating and renovating. Also I found it a bit expensive. Good location though, near to subway. Very quiet considering how noisy it is on the street below. Generally I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julesvicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#23 of 322 in Osaka
793 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Red Roof Plus Osaka Namba
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 322 in Osaka
1,401 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Il Cuore Namba
Hotel Il Cuore Namba
#71 of 322 in Osaka
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namba Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namba Oriental Hotel

Address: 2-8-17 Sennichi-mae, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0074, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Osaka
#24 Business Hotel in Osaka
#29 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $132 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Namba Oriental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well known as an 'oasis of the city', Namba Oriental Hotel offers you a quiet and relaxed time after you step into the building from the exciting city of Namba. Feel the most comfort from our hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Namba Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namba Oriental Osaka
Hotel Namba Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing