We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, easy walk from Namba Station.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Namba Oriental Hotel
Ranked #30 of 298 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
265 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, easy walk from Namba Station.”
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We stayed at the Namba Oriental twice. Dates being 19 Nov, and 30 Nov - 02 Dec 2008.
On the 19th we were in a 23 Square metre room on the 9th (top) floor. It was small but very comfortable, clean and nicely furnished. The room had a fridge, dehumidfier, and air conditioner which, much to my delight, can be set to the temperature that the individual desires.
On the 30 Nov - 02 Dec we had a 32 Square metre room, also on the 9th floor. This larger room also had the above amenities. It looked down into the courtyard in the centre of the hotel.
You can open the french doors to the balcony but be aware that if you step on to it, you may trigger an emergency alarm via a sensor aimed along the railings of the balcony.
The hotel has a small but adequate coin Laundry.
We found staff to be polite and helpful. The hotel has good security.
Our rooms didn't really smell of smoke but you will definately notice it in the lift. This is because the basement level houses a pachinko parlor in which smoking is permited. When anyone uses the lift to the basement, clouds of cigarette smoke drift into the lift, hence the smell.
To get to the hote from Namba Station it may be easier to go up to street level by the Takashimaya Deprtment Store. There are two arcades opposite. Take the right hand arcade and walk about 100 metres, the main arcade the swings left and the Oriental is about 25 Metres on the right hand side. See photo.
If you like sushi, can recommend Kaiten Sushi ( the plates go round) close to hotel. Turn left out of the hotel and right into the next arcade. There are two close together, one on the left and the other a little bit further on the right.

  • Liked — Good quality in very convenient location.
  • Disliked — I have nothing to grumble about.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank StanleyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    342
    90
    15
    5
See reviews for
179
185
41
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
fleurr
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2008

Luckily I was only here for one night...It may have a lot to do with the room I was in!it was very dark and claustro.And previous reviewers on here weren't kidding about the smoke smell!
I think I was a bit put off as I had rude staff upon check in...but before that I had called and got a absolutely lovely girl on the phone.The location is everything with this hotel..it really is in the centre of Namba with all the lights,pachinko and food you can handle surrounding you.Arrived late on a saturday night and found plenty of drunk people highly amused by us too!
If you follow the very helpful directions previous reviewers have posted you will find it perfectly..I just have one addition!The namba walk isn't all that straightforward to find!it is a shopping arcade and from where we got off the train from kansai(it may have just been our train that made it hard to find!) you go down escalators and walk for approx 5 mins through the very busy Namba station until you see Namba Walk which will be both on your right and left.You want to walk down the left side and from there look for the water feature(very abstract!) etc...If lost just ask someone for directions to Namba Walk.

Good hotel for it's location and short stays!

  • Liked — location and all the food surrounding it!
  • Disliked — the hard bed,smoke smell and bad service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fleurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2008

Lovely hotel, but as others have said, very difficult to find. We took the (very efficient) airport train into Namba, but then realised we didn’t know which exit we should take (the station is huge). We ended up asking a local to help us. He rang the hotel on his mobile, got directions, helped us with our luggage, took us into the hotel lift and waved us off at the lobby – amazing! I can’t imagine that happening in England.

I requested a room with terrace and we were allocated 417. These are great rooms as they have a lovely outside terrace area looking out onto the central courtyard and were very quiet. Other similar ones would be odd numbers through to 427. Higher floor rooms had a small balcony, but only a walk-out one, not where you could sit. I would imagine that some of the rooms on the mall side could be quite noisy.

Once you have found the hotel, the location is fantastic, in the centre of everything and close to a couple of metro stations, and easy to get back to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ally11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We stayed at this hotel twice during our visit and felt it was really good value for money. We got the room for $115 which included buffet breakfast for 2 (which was also exchangable for lunch vouchers if you missed breakfast - how good!). Our room was a lot bigger than other hotels we stayed at in Japan and had an enormous bathroom with huge tub, as well as a good sized lounge. If you enjoy watching TV, like many Japanese hotels there were mainly only Japanese channels so the only English channel was an MTV like music channel. They did have some English pay-per-view movies and if you bought a $10 card you could access all of them for 24hrs which isn't too bad. Toiletries provided were nice and included a few extras like razor, toothbrush, bath salts etc. PJs were also provided and replaced everyday.

The minibar was extremely cheap with most the items being supermarket prices like 100yen for a beer or nibblies, so we really couldn't complain about that.They also had some great vending machines at this hotel including an icecream one.

Overall it was in a great location and I would definitely visit the hotel again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank misswright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

Good hotel, big bathroom. Brilliant location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — asked for a non smoking room, got smoking
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladymoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2008

The Namba Oriental is a great place... the rooms are meduim size and modern..its a great Hotel to stay at if you arrive at Kansai airport.. a quick 30 minute Rapit train.. and your at Namba... the airport train is down at the end of the shopping arcade you have to walk up the arcade.. and take that 21 exit... remember theres afew levels of this arcade which stuffed us up... just remember to say sumimasen. Namba oriental hotelo wa doko des ka?. and some friendly person will point the way... its a very bloody hard hotel to find... and be sure to ask for a non smoking room, if you dont smoke that is...
Cheers...

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pyro1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sendai, Japan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2008

Just got back from a 2 week trip to Japan. The Oriental was one of the better hotels we stayed in (across 6 cities).
Great location - right in the heart of the Namba area. Beware if you like Japanese kitchen accessories as there is Osaka's big restaurant supply section of the market very close by. Also a great bookstore with English books. And many, many restaurants. Easy walk to hundreds of shops and Shinbashi shopping area.
I had no problem with the security - Japan is not exactly a dangerous place.
The room was average size for a Japanese hotel, the bed was nice and the pillows good (this, I have found, is a real problem in Japan!).

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil_S87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#27 of 298 in Osaka
725 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 298 in Osaka
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Dotonbori Hotel
Dotonbori Hotel
#16 of 298 in Osaka
557 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Il Cuore Namba
Hotel Il Cuore Namba
#50 of 298 in Osaka
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namba Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namba Oriental Hotel

Property: Namba Oriental Hotel
Address: 2-8-17 Sennichi-mae, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0074 , Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Osaka
#24 Business Hotel in Osaka
#29 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Namba Oriental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well known as an 'oasis of the city', Namba Oriental Hotel offers you a quiet and relaxed time after you step into the building from the exciting city of Namba. Feel the most comfort from our hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Orbitz, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Namba Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namba Oriental Osaka
Hotel Namba Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing