We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (732)
Filter reviews
732 results
Traveler rating
199
401
105
18
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
401
105
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bic camera kansai airport shopping arcade pachinko parlours third floor excellent location kuromon market walking street japanese standards nankai line smoke smell hotel is located floor lobby hotel room den den town complete amenities extra bed
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 732 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This hotel was booked by our travel agent due to price and location and on those fronts it delivered. It is located in the heart of Nanba which is a very exciting, vibrant area of the city at any hour with lots of places to eat, drink and play. The staff at the hotel were very helpful, they made attempts to fix our aircon which was not working, although sadly they did not manage to fix it before we left.
It is a Half hour cab from Shin-Osaka station (3000Yen), if taking a taxi make sure you tell them to drop you off outside the arcade, as there is no way for a Cab to get out the front of the hotel but it doesn't stop them from trying (ending badly). If taking a Cab the best place to get dropped off at is Bic Camera Nanba which is 30metre from the hotel, it also has a cab rank so drivers dont mind getting you close.
The foyer and lifts were very smokey and the smell constantly sent my partner into a coughing fit due to her asthma, however once inside the non-smoking floors it was all fine, no smoke at all.
The rooms hotel and rooms were nice, rather large however the decor was dated throughout the hotel and it really needs a face lift.
Additionally there is no Wi-Fi here, only Ethernet cables which sucks for those traveling with just tablets.
All in all a good hotel, not great, but good for the price range.

Room Tip: Get dropped off at Bic Camera when taking a cab.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickyt182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on our TripAdvisor page.

We are more than grateful to learn that you were able to take advantage of our location and seemed to have a wonderful trip in Osaka. Also we genuinely appreciate your detailed description of the way to arrive here by a cab. It certainly will be very helpful for our future guests.

Regarding to the cigarette smell mentioned on you review, we are currently working on to get rid of the smell out of lifts and lobby. We sincerely hope that we can have another chance to prove the improvement when you visit us next time.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comment and we sincerely hope to welcome you again in near future.

From all the staff,
Namba Oriental Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Very reasonably priced hotel within 5 min. walking distance from Namba Nankai station and Subway. Surrounded with street-style shopping and abundance of food with some operating thru' the night. Check out the Big Camera store nearby!!

The Standard Double room is spacious by Jap standard. Queen sized bed, central airconditioning with local temp control, mini fridge, writing table, 2-seater sofa with coffee table, kettle....complete amenities. Toilet was clean, bath tub, and all bath needs. Our room faced east into the morn sun, but black-out curtain did the works. Despite facing the crowded street, our room on the 5th floor was quite insulated from the noise with the window closed.

The room has wired-internet connection. If you need wifi, you could get a wifi router from the front desk, FOC.

Points to note for non-smokers:
We stayed in a "non-smoking" room. The room was equipped with a portable air-cleaner. Despite these, we could still faintly smell cigarettes in the room throughout our stays.
The two lifts serving the hotel had a permanent strong cigarette smell, perhaps leaking from a public smokers' shed just next to the hotel!!

Directions from Kansai International Airport : Take the Nankai Limited Express, about 40 min journey time ending at Namba station. You could take other sem-express or local trains costing less, but longer journey time due to more stops. Then take the north exit to ground level. On exiting the station, look right for Starbucks across the road. Take the sheltered alley next to it. About 100m down at the cross-junction of Jumbo Pachinko, turn left, should be able to see the Hotel on the right side 50m down.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying and sharing your experience with us on our TripAdvisor page.

We're grateful to learn that our service meet your expectation and more than thankful for that you provided the detailed description about room, amenity and service and the legible direction to our hotel from KIX on your review. It will surely be very helpful for our future guests.

Regarding the smoking smell in the lifts, please allow us to inform that we're currently corresponding to solve the issue.

Thank you very much once again and we sincerely hope you will give us another chance to provide you with further better service.

Sincerely Yours,

From all the staff,
Namba Oriental Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Except for the occasional splurge, I usually choose midrange hotels with convenient location and decent rooms. The reviews and pictures from tripadvisor made me choose to stay at Namba Oriental, and I must say I didn't regret it at all!

Location: Fairly decent as it is very near to the Nankai Namba station, with the nearest exit being opposite Takashimaya mall. The hotel website provides very detailed directions to the hotel so you won't go lost. (Link from hotel website: http://www.nambaorientalhotel.co.jp/access/access_rw06_en01.html). Entrance to the hotel is under a covered walkway with lots of food stores, shops and pachinko parlours. There is also an awesome takoyaki stall (from the hotel, just turn left and then right).

Room: Like all the others commented, rooms are fairly large for Japanese standards. There is an outdoor area with a fountain and cherry trees. We were there in April so the outdoor area was so beautiful as the cherry blossoms were in full bloom!

Just a note, the staff can speak basic English so its not a problem if you're asking for directions.

My only complaint was the lift stank of cigarette smoke, especially the lobby area. If that is fine with you, then you won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tahari8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and the valuable review.

Your detailed review on our location and room is greatly appreciated and we literally can't thank you enough for that you refer the URL for our access information page. It will certainly be very helpful for our future guests.

In regard to smoking odor in the lift and lobby, we are currently working on to solve the problem and hopefully you can see the improvement when you visit us next time.

Thank you once again for your wonderful review and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Sincerely Yours,

From all the staff,
Namba Oriental Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel is reasonably priced and located in arguably the most 'happening' area of Osaka. If you only have a night or two to spend in Osaka then I would highly recommend staying here as you are right in the middle of the dotonbori/shinsaibashi area. The area is a mecca for shopping and eating. Plus the public transport is so efficient that it is easy getting anywhere in osaka from nanba station or the subway stations.
The hotel room was very quiet and comfortable, decent size as well. Will stay here again next time I'm in osaka!

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank jrapha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on our TripAdvisor page.

We're pleased to know that you were able to take advantage of our location as well as our service and had a wonderful trip in Osaka.

Thank you once again for your valuable review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely Yours,

From all the staff,
Namba Oriental Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed here for four nights in March at the end of our ski trip.
I chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor recommendations and location.
Our room was quite large by Japanese standards, and being on the top floor we had no noise either externally or internally.
The location was around a 10 minute walk from the Sumo tournament which was perfect, and located on a crazy noisy street. Every city in Japan has it's own feel and in Osaka it's just a general vibe of hip, cool and crazy, and this hotel is right in the middle of it.
As some other reviewers have pointed out it may be a little confusing to find, the direction I was given were for above street level, but the best way to get here from Jr Namba station is stay below the the street. Take the Namba walk and exit at B21 on the right, when you come up the escalator the hotel is about 50 metres straight ahead.
From JR Namba you can catch a train directly to Nara, and we also headed to Hiroshima one day, we just needed to get back to Shin Osaka Station and catch a train from there, then it's around 90 minutes.
We didn't bother with the breakfast in house as there are an astonishing number of restaurants and shops nearby, even just walking the streets and people watching is an adventure here. If you head out the door of the hotel turn left and then turn left again you'll come across a the best local Okinomiyaki shop.
I will be recommending this hotel to all of my friends and family and will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Osaka

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the top floor if you can
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 703lindam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for staying and sharing your experience with us on our TripAdvisor page.

It is our absolute pleasure to learn that you had a wonderful trip in Osaka and that we became a part of your memory. We are also glad to know that you were able to take advantage of our location. The direction given on your review will definitely be helpful for our future guests and we truly appreciate.

Thank you once again for your laudatory review and we're very looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Manager,
Namba Oriental Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews